We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
66 Saint Paul's(Valletta)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,420)
Filter reviews
4,420 results
Traveller rating
2,058
1,486
621
171
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,058
1,486
621
171
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
Filter
Updating list...
2,118 - 2,123 of 4,420 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is an elegant, extremely chic pharaonic building. Even if my room was not one of the expensive suites, the view was amazing, two big beds, full furnished. Lots of halls for breakfast (rich of every kind of food), leisure and a relaxing beautiful spa. Located in a hill of La Valletta, near to the center.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedeD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent a few days in this hotel and everything was perfect, the hotel is in a wonderful position, near Valletta overviewing the bay. Clean, very good size rooms.. We had a triple one and the additional bed was a real comfortable one, the other two were French size beds... Staff very nice and professional, breakfast superb. It isn't a modern hotel but it has all the atmosphere of the 5 star hotel of the past. Check- in and check-out very quick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italian_traveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided to stay in valletta after having visited the city once before, so chose the excelsior as a good hotel.....we had booked a deluxe double with inland view and were upgraded on arrival, free of charge to a deluxe sea/harbour view......lovely clean, spacious room, got iron and board promptly on request. There was a bit of work going on outside at the refurbishment of the tiki bar pool area, and the workmen like to start early at around 7.30am......noticed this when went outside for coffee on the balcony....the room is very quiet when patio windows are closed, nice. There seems to be nightly entertainment in the harbour view bar, some very good, some a little tedious, but we didn't do much of that as we preferred to go into the town for meals and drinks and take in the atmosphere of the area. There are 84 steps from the base of the hotel up to the road up to the town, then a short walk into the main valletta area.....actually enjoyed it after couple of days.....keeps the pounds off lol. Maybe a little bit of a problem for disabled persons as not immediately accessible, but there are provisions for that if needed. The breakfast buffet is wide and varied.....my only gripe with it from a personal point of view was that they didn't serve smoked salmon....and cream cheese and a bagel would have been great! Overall, we would definately recommend, and stay at this hotel again........just love valletta:)

Room Tip: Try to book deluxe bouble if you are a couple, and if the rate suits you, go for the sea/harbour view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very nice hotel, location spectacular, great food, but service left much to be desired. Staff was not smiling, and not very willing to go out of their way to help. For example, we had to catch a but to airport but we waited 20 minutes to check-out without staff showing empathy or desire to help. Check-in was also very slow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldrich_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Excelsior for 5 nights over the Easter weekend, and we had a great time. The Hotel was very welcoming on arrival, and remained so throughout our stay. It was our first time visiting Malta, and overall we couldn't fault it. We were upgraded to a sea-view room, which was large and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was a joy, with plenty of choice. We also ate in the hotel restaurant on two evenings, and on both occasions we enjoyed the food and the service. The hotel also has evening entertainment (singers, pianists, or classical guitarists etc.) on in the bar area adjacent to the restaurant, and there are lots of comfy sofas and armchairs in which to sink into after dinner and enjoy the music.

Our room was always well serviced and spotlessly clean. Each day/evening they do a 'turn-down' service so you always get a little chocolate to come back to after a day sight-seeing, and a complimentary bottle of water of course.

We felt that the hotel provided excellent value for money, and would not hesitate to return. Whilst it is certainly not a modern hotel, it is a hotel with a certain old-world grandeur about it, and the service of the staff and the overall atmosphere definitely feels '5-star' without you having to incur extravagant 5-star prices.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms from floors 6 and up are the nicest.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFlannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews