We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel.Second visit was even better than first.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just returned from our second visit here. Really enjoyed it. Lovely immaculate hotel and great staff. We were on the ninth floor and the view is just gorgeous.Try to get a sea-view if you can.
Lovely food in the evening and a fabulous buffet breakfast with something for everyone.
Special thanks for lovely care from Norbert Grixti (manager) and his trusty assistant Gwendoline.
I must also mention terrific entertainment in the evenings particularly Desi Campbell fabulous voice.Another lovely holiday, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 4,161 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with 4 other couples, the initial rooms allocated on floor 9 rooms 933 onwards overlooked an expanse of green roof and extractor fans, 3 couples changed rooms to look out over entrance area. Our room had a sea view, just, but the balcony was depressing and got no sun at all.
The first evening we ate in the restaurant and chose a la carte, a mistake! the food took ages to arrive and when it did it was on cold plates and was just about acceptable.
Breakfast, if you like warm food have the freshly prepared eggs and take your plate from the bottom of the pile, all other aspects of breakfast was Ok and staff were very friendly.
The position of hotel is excellent and the outside areas and pool were very good. However the walk into town starts with 86 steps taking you to the road and then about 200 metres further up hill to the gates of Valletta

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on wing starting 933 harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokiesOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent a week in this hotel. I was pleased by the customer service . The rooms are big and spacious. Staff members are very helpful. Breakfast is very good.

You have to pay extra to use the Spa, Balcony is not very private and some renovation is required it to class it as 5* . Overall I was happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripii2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent a week in this very comfortable hotel. Rooms very spacious and clean and the outside pool and patio area were excellent. The staff were very friendly but there was confusion between Reception, Room service and the Restaurant as to how one should order breakfast to be delivered to your room the next morning. I don't think this ever got resolved but breakfast did arrive each morning on time but never exactly as I had ordered it which was annoying. On one day when I left some of the bakery items and the cheese and ham that I had not asked for, I returned to the room later in the day to find it had been left on the desk top wrapped in cling film and a few flies hovering over it. Also the room fridge leaked one night soaking the carpet. I reported it, the leak was stopped but the carpet remained damp all week. I would stay there again though. I just think the staff need to try a little harder.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the top two floors as the lower levels can be in the shade particularly if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here on business on my own for a week in February. The hotel is lovely and in a great location but could do with a refurb as it is a bit outdated. My room was massive and had a nice balcony and a really comfy ultra king sized bed.
I had ants in my bathroom on the first day and expected to be moved to a different room considering it was not peak season. Instead a cleaner came and sprayed a whole can of ant repellent, killed the ants and feebly attempted to wipe some (but not all) of their corpses away. She then left, leaving me to nearly choke to death on the fumes.
The dining room had excellent views of the harbour and the breakfast buffet had an amazing selection of hot and cold foods, covering every taste imaginable.
I ordered room service twice as I was not comfortable eating out on my own at night (being female and quite young). Room service food was very lack-lustre: pizza and salad - in no way 5* apart from the price. I ended up eating out during the day and bringing a take away sandwich back to eat at night to avoid further disappointment and starvation.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour or pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We haven' t been mistaken to come here the second time. Last year we spent our holidays in this hotel. We liked everything! The service was excellent, the staff was attentive, the atmosphere was comfortable and pleasant. This year we have ordered the hotel in advance and asked, if possible, to give us the same room. It was a surprise! Our request was fulfilled! I would like to tell a lot of kind words to the address of the hotel's staff and wish them to be the best in their business.

And thanks for a complement bottle of vine and chocolates! It was a surprise too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We wanted to combine diving with staying at this hotel, as the hotel website advertised that the diving centre was located at this place. Alas, when we arrived the diving centre was apparantly relocated at the other end of Valletta.
This, however was not the end of our ordeal. Substandard food, mediocre cocktails, a hotel in desperate need of redecoration, empty mini-bars, not enough soap in the bathroom. This should be a 3 star hotel, at best.

The highpoints- the beds and breakfast buffet are OK, and service is friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lehuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Lehuster

Whilst thanking you for your feedback, appreciate if you could provide me with your booking details via email on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt. Such feedback will help me to investigate the matter and take corrective action where necessary.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations especially in relation to matters which the hotel excels in such as its in house dining. With regards your comments on redecoration kindly note that the property has just finalised the first phase of its refurbishing programme. It will recommence with this programme in the winter months.

I look forward for your comments.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £77 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing