We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed four nights and couldn't fault the hotel. We ate in the first night as had had a dawn flight. Thoroughly enjoyed the Asian buffet. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the bus station where you can get buses all round the island for €1.50 the hotel are very keen for you to use their taxi service but there really is no need. Also very easy to walk into the city ( really good restaurants in old bakery street). From the outside it could do with sprucing up but the gardens and grounds are well maintained. It was too cold and windy to use the outdoor pool and sun areas but they did look inviting and were one of the reasons we chose the hotel. All staff were friendly and polite and we had no complaints bout any of the service. Would go again if ever in valetta

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    1,282
    519
    149
    66
See reviews for
669
1,874
182
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A 5* hotel worthy of its class. Room (a superior with balcony patio) was spacious and well-equipped, bed comfortable and view from (sunny) balcony over Marsamxett Harbour was fantastic. Breakfast buffet was excellent (egg chef if you need) and inside bar spacious and comfortable with friendly service and (for a hotel of this class) not particularly expensive - local beer 3 euros.
Outside pool looked inviting (with its own bar) but we visited in April, when temperature didn't merit an outside swim or use of loungers - though some hardy souls did try - but inside pool perfectly adequate.
This hotel is just outside the old Valletta walls and a hilly walk into the centre of the city takes about 15 mins. But its's practically impossible to walk about Valletta without going up or down hills, so the hotel's impressive entrance flights of steps prepares you well (there are, of course, plenty of elevators in the hotel itself!).
You could treat this place as a resort in itself, but one of its great advantages is in the quick access it gives to Valletta - a charming city you shouldn't miss!

Room Tip: You really do get what you pay for as far as views are concerned - if you can, go for a superior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. The grounds are beautiful and our partial sea view was gorgeous from the balcony (but not from the room). People could smoke on the balcony so it was not possible to be confident about fresh air with the door open. The room decor was a little run down. Our carpet had a huge ugly stain that gave a bad feeling. The breakfast was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is a good location for walking to the sights of Valletta (a little uphill and a busy street to cross) but the hotel could have provided a map that includes their property, for ease of navigation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just returned from our second visit here. Really enjoyed it. Lovely immaculate hotel and great staff. We were on the ninth floor and the view is just gorgeous.Try to get a sea-view if you can.
Lovely food in the evening and a fabulous buffet breakfast with something for everyone.
Special thanks for lovely care from Norbert Grixti (manager) and his trusty assistant Gwendoline.
I must also mention terrific entertainment in the evenings particularly Desi Campbell fabulous voice.Another lovely holiday, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with 4 other couples, the initial rooms allocated on floor 9 rooms 933 onwards overlooked an expanse of green roof and extractor fans, 3 couples changed rooms to look out over entrance area. Our room had a sea view, just, but the balcony was depressing and got no sun at all.
The first evening we ate in the restaurant and chose a la carte, a mistake! the food took ages to arrive and when it did it was on cold plates and was just about acceptable.
Breakfast, if you like warm food have the freshly prepared eggs and take your plate from the bottom of the pile, all other aspects of breakfast was Ok and staff were very friendly.
The position of hotel is excellent and the outside areas and pool were very good. However the walk into town starts with 86 steps taking you to the road and then about 200 metres further up hill to the gates of Valletta

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on wing starting 933 harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokiesOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent a week in this hotel. I was pleased by the customer service . The rooms are big and spacious. Staff members are very helpful. Breakfast is very good.

You have to pay extra to use the Spa, Balcony is not very private and some renovation is required it to class it as 5* . Overall I was happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripii2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent a week in this very comfortable hotel. Rooms very spacious and clean and the outside pool and patio area were excellent. The staff were very friendly but there was confusion between Reception, Room service and the Restaurant as to how one should order breakfast to be delivered to your room the next morning. I don't think this ever got resolved but breakfast did arrive each morning on time but never exactly as I had ordered it which was annoying. On one day when I left some of the bakery items and the cheese and ham that I had not asked for, I returned to the room later in the day to find it had been left on the desk top wrapped in cling film and a few flies hovering over it. Also the room fridge leaked one night soaking the carpet. I reported it, the leak was stopped but the carpet remained damp all week. I would stay there again though. I just think the staff need to try a little harder.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the top two floors as the lower levels can be in the shade particularly if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,179 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing