We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good but a bit dated”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Got a great bargain with this one
Great value for money
Service excellent
But did everything it says on the tin
Great location hotel only 7 years old but looks 30 ready for a regress but at the price it was very good

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    1,305
    528
    155
    67
See reviews for
679
1,906
183
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is our second stay at the hotel which we enjoyed very much. Some of the staff remembered us and that made the visit very special. Our room was on the 10th floor and was spacious, comfortable and kept very clean by the lady from housekeeping. The staff are helpful and eager to ensure that you enjoy your stay. I am a fussy vegetarian which has to be taken into consideration when I comment on the food. At breakfast there is wide range of foods available which makes variation of diet easy to follow. It is well cooked and presented. In the lobby bar the food was also very with some choice. The staff will do their best to accommodate your needs. We did not eat in the main restaurant as in my view the choice of vegetarian food is limit. My wife however who isn't a veggie may not agree with that. There is a new bar next to the swimming pool which isn't open yet but looks very good. Food from the existing bar was very good and well presented. The hotel is clean and tidy and well looked after. It may need a repaint at the end of the season. transfers to and from the airport is very efficient and value for money. From Valletta you can get to most parts of the island by bus making this hotel an excellent base for your holiday. Will we return, of course we will!!

Room Tip: You can have a harbour view or an outlook of the city. Both are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James46172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear James46172,

Whilst thanking you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users, may I also take the opportunity to show our sincere gratitude for choosing again the Grand Hotel Excelsior as your Maltese "home." Your feedback has been noted and shared with the respective departments. Our a la carte menu has a number of vegetarian dishes but there is always scope to increase the choice.

We do look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. For your next stay do not hesitate to contact me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The first comment on this hotel must be in relation to its splendid location, overlooking Marsamxett Harbour (not the Grand Harbour as its name might suggest at first glance.

Our check-in was efficient and courteous and we were greeted with a welcome cold drink on a hot day – how refreshing! Our room was numbered 614, a deluxe seafront double room with wonderful panoramic views over the harbour, facing Manoel Island. We are so glad we decided on this upgrade. We had plenty of hanging and drawer space in our room and a litre of water was provided gratis each night as the tap water was not particularly pleasant to drink unless you were used to it. We were extremely pleased to note that the bath was fitted with safety ‘grab’ rails which, in our view, should be fitted as standard in more hotels. The walk in shower was a good size too! The electric plugs are ‘English’ so we didn’t need to use a European adapter. There is also a turn down service each evening and, provided a ‘Do Not Disturb’ notice is displayed outside the room, the staff do not bother you if you prefer to rest. We did find the room service to be inconsistent but this could easily be rectified by the use of a checklist by the staff to ensure nothing is missed.

The hotel has inside and exterior swimming pools and a gymnasium, fitness room and sauna. There is an in-house hairdresser but, unfortunately, she was on her holidays during our visit! There is also an efficient room service for laundry.

Each night, there was entertainment in the bar and we found that this struck exactly the right note (no pun intended!)

We were disappointed that there was no computer terminal for use by guests or, if there is, we were unable to find it!

If you have any mobility problems, you should note that there are 88 steps from the hotel lobby to the steep main road and then about 11 metres uphill to walk to the entrance gates of Valletta. There is a fleet of ‘courtesy’ cars but their use has to be booked and paid for. On one day, because my wife found it a little difficult to climb the steps, I enquired about whether one of the chauffeurs might drive us up the city entrance, a round trip of less than 5 minutes, only to be informed that we were too late and should have been at Reception for 10.00 am with a pre-booking. (I feel this should have been explained at check-in). Once at the new City Gate, the centre of historic Valletta is fairly flat and easily walkable. Leaving the central pedestrian area involves steep streets sloping down to the two harbours, though there is now a new lift (elevator) from the Grand Harbour up to the Upper Barrakka Garden where the noonday gun is fired each day.

The Grand Hotel Excelsior serves an excellent hot and cold breakfast with something to cater for all tastes. It’s self-service but guests are escorted personally to their tables, most of which enjoy pleasant views over the harbour. What a wonderful way to begin the day!

The evening meals in the dining room take one of two forms. There is an a la carte menu where dishes are served at your table and, being individually prepared to order, might take a little longer. Then, there is the daily ‘international’ or themed buffets with a really extensive choice of hot and cold foods, including delicious desserts and local cheeses to finish. All of the food is of a high quality and we simply could not fault it. The table service was friendly and attentive too for liquid refreshments. The dining room staff were attentive and helpful throughout our stay, but not in any way officious.

Before leaving for Malta, we had researched this hotel and were more than a little apprehensive about the negative comments from some other Trip Advisor contributors. We need not have been and, having stayed in hotels of various types right across the globe, all I can say is that some people seem to be impossible to please! Yes, in any hotel things can go wrong but the test must always be one of assessing how well any dissatisfaction is dealt with and sorted. After all, we are all human and not infallible!

In summary, our experience was a very good one overall and we would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when next in Valletta.

Room Tip: It is worth requesting a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Again our Son booked this hotel for us as a present. again he hit the nail on the head. hotel fantastic, staff food drinks superb. even bottle of wine in the room, and no our son did not pay for it. from the hotel staff. bed turned down every day, hotel is ideally situated overlooking bay harbour and old city. short walk up the hill to main city, bus terminal. but hats of. THE STAFF very attentive. the rooms clean fresh all with balcony. bathroom clean large. gardens great. pool very relaxing, clean. area washed down every day. pool staff bar areas grand. nothing is to much for this hotel. i think that sums it up and while it is called the GRAND.
so thanking our son again for sending us to a grand hotel and country and to thank the staff of the grand for a great stay

Room Tip: sea view or part sea view its worth spending that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disaronno2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently spent a week at the Grand Excelsior and enjoyed it a lot. I can't comment on many of the hotel facilities as we really used it as a base from which to explore Valletta and futher afield rather than somewhere to spend a lot of time.

We did have breakfast every day and enjoyed it a lot - perhaps not quite as extensive as some similar hotels we have stayed in but still of a very good standard with a wide choice. I developed a taste for freshly baked ricotta Pastizzi with fresh coffee - a Maltese speciality - and Mrs Bungee particularly enjoyed freshly cooked omelettes courtesy of the egg-man/woman.

We found all the staff very polite and helpful which should be taken for granted but sadly can't always be guaranteed. The hotel is excellently situated for Valletta provided you are fit enough to walk up/down a few stairs and slopes. You don't need to be especially fit for this but it could prove a problem for those less mobile. As others have said, the hotel can provide transport into town (or elsewhere) as required. We took advantage of the hotel airport transfer service for E20 each way; this was not much more than a taxi and worked very well. As we were paying for the service we expected it to run smoothly and it did.

I can't think of anything very negative to say. As for some other guests, the restocking of things in the bathroom was sometimes a bit random but this was a minor point. One thing somewhat out of control of the Excelsior was that we could hear far too much from our neighbours. This was probably due to there being an inter-connecting door between the rooms. I don't know how many rooms in the hotel have these doors but I suggest avoiding them if possible, especially if you are sensitive to noise.

Overall, a very positive experience and relaxing stay.

PS the recently installed hotel-wide Wi-Fi is free and the best service I have ever used in a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with inter-connecting doors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BungeeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned from an excellent holiday in Valletta, Malta. I would like to recommend the 5 Star Grand Excelsior Hotel in Valletta, it is excellent. The staff are very attentive and helpful and really make you feel welcome and of value. The hotel is 10 minutes walk away from the "old city" area of Valletta and if you don't want to walk the hotel provides their own cars and drivers to take you either to a restaurant or out for the whole day on a tailor made tour of the island. The room with balcony was well appointed with a very comfortable extra large bed. The range and choice of food for every meal was very very good and of a high quality. The hotel in my opinion is excellent as are all the staff. This is a hotel i will certainly go back to in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room/balcony over looking the bay preferably not overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal , South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful hotel that has alot art, culture and beautiful decor. very neat and ideally situated as Valletta city is a walking distance. Hotel has plenty of space and entertainment.Beautiful gardens and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing