We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 Star ?”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a great hotel but flawed too many times to meet normal 5 star classification.

Lets start with with what's good and there are many things:

Staff are very helpful, though issues are not always addressed. Breakfast is extensive and good quality, though sometimes a little lukewarm for a 5 star hotel. We had a seaview which was fantastic but you pay for it. The swimming pool and surrounding area was very good, when not being interrupted by wedding party preparations.

The not so good
Over weekends there are wedding parties, a number on both Saturday and Sunday. This means the pool area and shaded areas are continually interrupted by team of staff setting up areas, dropping drawing pins! and clearing beds toward 6.00pm to 'get ready' for the evening events. The room cleaning was very delayed over this period, I don't expect to wait until 5.00pm to have my room cleaned, when I'm paying more than Euro 200 for b/b. Not that I wanted it but turn down service didn't happen either. I booked a car to meet us from the airport, it didn't arrive so I had to arrange via hotel to share with another couple, we were only charged Euro 10 for this trip though

so in conclusion - this is a good hotel, with great views, not cheap and appears to lose sight of its other customers during periods when weddings are on. I suggest you check on wedding parties prior to booking and avoid these periods. Its a very good 4 star, though not a 5 star

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best but you pay a significant premium for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Biker88,

On behalf of the Excelsior team I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users. It is a great satisfaction to note that our team members were helpful and hospitable. Your comments related to the breakfast has been shared with our Food & Beverage department so that corrective action is taken.

We do apologise for the fact that your our private chauffeur did not make it on time to the airport.

May I also assure you that all necessary measures are taken when preparing for outdoor events so as to minimise any inconvenience to our inhouse guests. But will still take up the matter with Operations so as to look into the ways how to minimise further any inconvenience.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. I invite you to contact me directly via email on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be great pleasure to assist you with your travel requirements.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,876
    1,324
    539
    156
    68
See reviews for
696
1,926
185
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arrived and greeted with slow check in. I was given a room in a loud area of the hotel near maintenance facilities with a ground level location directly beside the public footpath. I advised reception location of the room was unacceptable for noise and safety reasons and that I has requested a quiet room. I was required to pay an upgrade fee of about 50 Euros to get a room with a better location. After moving my possessions to my new room I was able to relax for the rest of the evening.

The next morning when I woke up the water ran dark brown and stopped with absolutely no water pressure. Front desk advised me plumbing repairs were being made in the hotel and the entire facility was with no water! I asked how long this would be going on and was told they had no idea. I went down and had breakfast. While the selection was ok the quality was lacking. The yogurt had an odd taste and texture and the egg yolks were a cloudy whitish yellow that I had never seen before and tasted strange so I didn't eat either the egg or the yogurt. When I returned to my room I had low water pressure but the water was very muddy. When I called the front desk advising what I was suppose to do for my shower before I left the stated the water was safe for bathing! I wasn't going to take a muddy shower!

Upon check out I demanded the upgrade fee be waived for the lack of running water in the morning and was told that was not an option. I was astounded as I honestly felt it was a fair request. I asked what the staff was willing to do for the failure of the water system and was told nothing would be credited back to me as I stayed in the room and could have showered in the muddy water. I demanded to speak to a manager and after waiting 10 minutes I was told the manager offered me a half price transport to the airport. After informing reception staff this was unacceptable and demanding again to speak with the manager I was told the best that could be done is to provide me free airport transport (which I didn't request) and staff still refused to provide me with the managers name or contact details.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear cxbonne,

Whilst thanking you for the feedback, may I ask you to email me directly your personal details and stay dates via email so that I can investigate further. On behalf of the team I do apologise for the inconvenience and it is a concern that we did not meet your expectations. I look forward to receive your email on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a large 60/70s style concrete 9 storey hotel that enjoys a truly superb location and features wide, spacious public areas, corridors and bedrooms. The Executive rooms with large terraces are large, and well furnished. Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel and it's outdoor areas is as good as we have experienced anywhere.

The Chauffeured transport and tours are a definite plus, if a tad expensive. The Pool and Spa areas are very large, well equipped, clean and there is also the novelty of a small man made beach on the harbourside with its own boundaried swimming area - but beware Malta has currently a plague of jellyfish and great care should be taken with regard to sea-swimming.

The breakfast room/service seriously let this hotel down, it's chaotic!, but the food and variety of it are generally very good.

Also Housekeeping, they didn't get very much right at all!

But overall with the location the terraces, the aquatic facilities we rate this a 4*, but it could with attention to some of its weaknesses soon work itself back to the 5* with which it promotes itself

Room Tip: The 9th and 10th floor Deluxe rooms with harbour facing terraces are spacious, well equipped and fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having read all of the previous reviews both good and bad prior to booking this hotel we decided to give it a go and book a weeks holiday for our wedding anniversary celebration.

Our deluxe room was exactly as I had wished for and all of the restaurants and facilities as you would expect for a 4/5 star hotel. All staff in the public areas and room cleaners etc could not have been more friendly.

Where the hotel does let itself down very slightly is the external appearance on the harbour side where the walls are in some places very water stained and could do with a make over or blast clean.

Leaving the best to last the location of the hotel is stunning overlooking the harbour, marina area and Silema beyond.

We will definitely be returning to the Grand Excelsior.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I come to Malta every month; and now and ten stay at the Excelsior. I never had time to draft a review, but here it is:

The hotel claims to be a five star. Well, what can you expect from a five star when you only pay EUR 140 per night. It is only a five star on the main door. As soon as you enter, you will notice a really outdated and tired indoor. The rooms are old english style, and also look totally outdated. A number of things in the room do not work properly. We ordered an additional bed ofr our child. the mattress must have been already used during the second world war. Funny enough, this hotel is not that old. Well as I said, when you pay EUR 140, you cannot expect much, and this is a choice you must make: when you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

However what is really annoying, is that the hotel privatizes the outside/swimming pool areas for parties. Thus, you have a real night club in your own room for free until midnight on most of the week-end's nights. So don't go there is you are sensitive. The gym is more of less ok, but the carpet is really sticky, so if you happen you do exercise on the floor, you better put one or two towels.

The location is fine, near Valletta main gates, but make sure not to be in a wheelchair. There are a good 50 stairs to go to the road, and then the road is climbing. It is good for exercise.

The door man Edon, a former football player, who came from Nigeria to Malta decades ago, is really friendly and helpful. He is always smiling and super friendly.

The outside swimming pool is the best you can get if you want to stay near Valletta, otherwise you need to chose a hotel in Saint-Julians.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms with a view on the Swimming Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaltaTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silute, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you want to have a party not leaving your room that's the place to be! Summer season opens the wedding season and therefore loud parties and sometimes fireworks. If you are young and will be out enjoying yourself somewhere its ok, but if you are travelling with kids or enjoy quite and nice evenings than do yourself a favour and stay away from it.
Even though hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel I would definitely ascribe it to a good 3 star hotel. No offence. Again you do find better 3 star hotels where you don't need half an hour to figure out how to call the reception or room service or where the toilet flushing is not as complicated as here (no chance of flushing it 2 times in a row or need to continuosly push the button for like 10 seconds until it finally flushes.
I thought we were in 21st century, but looking arround at some of the equipment I get the feeling that time has stopped here 20 years ago.
Friendly staff yet the service is far from what the majority of 5 star hotels normally offer. Even the mini bar is empty which they present as an advantage claiming that you can preorder it. No seriously who has time for that? And who would even think it exists.
We didn't try the restaurant food (who knows maybe we did ourselves a favour and saved ourselves from yet another disaster) but the breakfast was rather poor quality despite quite a big choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgneLeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear AgneLeq

Whilst thanking you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to a wedding function. May I assure you that we have the strictest policies vis-a-vis music. All party organisers are contractually bound to reduce the level of music by 1130pm and all music must stop by midnight. These policies have been implemented in order to reduce any inconvenience to our guests.

With regards the issues related to room maintenance we are referring the matter to Maintenance so that the necessary action is taken. May I also point out that the mini-bar policy has been in place for these last 3 years and the majority of guests do appreciate the opportunity of choosing their own mini-bar rather than finding the standard mini-bar items.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Excelsior's position overlooking the harbour and next door to the old town of Valletta, make it ideally placed for all that Malta has to offer. We had a wonderful midweek break there. The room was a lovely size, immaculately clean, and we had a fantiastic view. The pool, spa and dining facilities were excellent and the breakfasts second to none I've experienced. It is a hotel that also caters for large parties. On one evening, the pool area was very busy with ....um.. how to put it... loud, tiddly conference people... but the service was still pretty good, and we didn't have to wait for our meal. That being said, we could hear nothing from our room so it was no great inconvenience
The staff were very polite and helpful, spoke excellent English and were quick to sort out any niggles, and therein lies the niggle! I didn't expect quite so many niggles in a 5* Hotel. Our room was not ready on time, only late by 15 minutes, but ..hurrumph... the hotel provided dressing gowns, but the one my husband wore had a huge rip under the arm, the shelves in the shower was set at a slope... both of them, so everything fell off and landed on the floor, and there they remained; when we mentioned this, the hotel staff said they were aware of it, well why not mend it then....hmmm.....? The shower door was too close to the sink so you had to shimmy your way into it. if you're of a larger side...er.. good luck! The air conditioning didn't work on the first night. But they did mend this as soon as we mentioned it.
All in all though, we would happily stay here again, hopefully the niggles will have be taken care of. This is a lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a southern room with a sea view, you'll get the sun, and a stunning view. The other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieDipplejerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,214 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,958 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing