We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Experience in Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Grand Experience in Malta”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our recent visit in Malta, we stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. The hotel is located just next to the old city of Valletta and is adjacent to the bay offering a spectacular view of the harbour.

Our room at the top floor (and a small balcony with table and chairs) was really good offered a great view of the bay and Manoel Island. The room was very clean and included water and coffee (in the room) plus breakfast (big buffet with a wide range of options). Also, room service is included. The room service and the reception staff are very friendly and professional and offered us their assistance whenever we needed.

The hotel also has 4 restaurants, one of which is outdoors next to the pool and by the seaside (the Tiki restaurant). It also has a gym, indoor pool and facilities for massage and other relaxing treatments. Finally, it has a really nice outside pool, where you can relax under the sun and with a view. Also, there is a small beach offering you the opportunity to swim in a small part of the bay. (Note: you are entitled to free beach towels that can be provided from the staff at the small reception before you exit towards the outside pool and return them every time you are done.)

Finally, I would definitely recommend to try out the Tiki restaurant by the seaside. We really enjoyed fresh fish which you can choose before being cooked, as they source it from local fishermen. Additionally, the staff fillets and serves the fish in front of you offering a really 5-star experience. I would also recommend trying the calamari with prawns dish, plus the mussels. They were mouthwatering.
The staff of the Tiki restaurant is extremely professional and friendly and we really thank them for making our dinners even more pleasurable.

The price of the room (and included facilities and breakfast) was very reasonable for a 5-star Hotel and the restaurant prices were really good too.

To conclude, the Grand Excelsior Hotel proved to be a great choice and I would definitely recommend it for anyone wishing to visit beautiful Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    1,306
    528
    155
    67
See reviews for
679
1,907
183
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I booked a weekend break at this hotel weeks before our first baby was born. We had hoped it would be a quiet relaxing break before the stress began. Little did we know this would jump start our stress instead.
Hours after arriving a power cut occurred which left our room without air-conditioning. While we understood that the powercut was not the fault of the hotel or its staff, the lack of proper backup power was disappointing in a 5-star hotel. Calls to the reception to ask about the extent of the outage or any solutions resulted in a barely polite dismissive response. After some hours, the supply returned but our AC was not functioning. At 10pm we couldn't sleep due to the hot summer heat and when we called front desk, we had to content with technician literally climbing into the false ceiling of our room to fix the AC manually. The next night, the same problem with the AC occurred but we put up with the heat rather than have our privacy invaded again.
Finally on the last day of our stay, while my 8-month pregnant wife was showering, the water supply was interrupted. When we called front desk we were informed that there was urgent maintenance on our floor and they had to interrupt the water supply. The only solution offered was for them to bring bottled water for my wife to rinse her her out!
When we complained to the administration about our disappointment we were only offered a 10% discount and an offer of a free one-night stay during our next stay. Needless to say we never opted to return after this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Simon P

We are sorry that your stay with us was not entirely up to your expectations. We pride ourselves in being part of the Preferred Hotels Group of hotels and we constantly maintain excellent standards that justify our association with the brand.

We regret that during the period of your stay with us we encountered two technical issues that were beyond the hotel control. On Friday afternoon, the government electrical supply was interrupted for around two hours due to fault in their high tension cable. Thankfully, the hotel is equipped with an alternative source of energy that guarantees electrical power for all services with the exception of air conditioning. On Sunday, the hotel experienced a water leakage that effected a wing of the hotel. Repairs had to be done immediately as the water was flooding one of the hotel floors. The hotel can boast of having an in-house property maintenance team who can quickly deal with such emergencies. The water leakage problem was solved within two hours.

As you are aware, our General Manager communicated with you via email on 13 August and as an apology for the inconvenience you experienced and also as gesture of goodwill, offered you a 15% discount on your total bill together with a complimentary one night for a future stay. Since on the same day you kindly thanked Mr. Grixti for the generous offer, it is quite a surprise to read in your review that you were not satisfied with our compensation offer.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Not only the hotel was excellent, big appartment with terrace with a unique view to the marvelous harbor, 29 C huge swimming pool,"Tiki village" and "Tiki restaurant" a very special service with taxis to excursions every where including the islands, but an extraordinary restaurant in which you can find every meal from the arab, japan, african, indian, chinas, and many other kitchen.Two of the waiters were especially excellent, ambitious,with empathy to the guests Gabor and Kata.

Room Tip: room with harborview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

...with a small beachfront on the Grand Harbor for swimming, not to mention the spacious pool area. Huge breakfast (and other meals ) buffet with stunning views. Buses easily accessible to anywhere on the island -- and colorful! Great base camp for exploring, or to get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakerohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear jakerohn

Many thanks for taking the time share with other Trip Advisor users your stay at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Your short and sweet review sums it all.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. I am sure that there are attractions you still need to visit. Should you make up your mind to visit us again please do not hesitate to email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist you with your arrangements.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We work hard all year and opt to pay a bit more, (in this case, a lot more!) for a real treat of a hotel hoping for a relaxing, well equipped hotel.
We booked with a travel agent for a deluxe seaveiw room, paying a large surcharge for it. When we arrived, yes, our room was large, extremely tired and dated with a filthy carpet, we had to wear our included slippers or would be stuck to it! We took photos of it and friends that we have shown them to just cannot believe that they have been taken in a 5 star hotel. When we opened the curtains, I could have cried, we were facing a bastion wall, Dead level with the wedding venue, which was already in full swing, No privacy at all, and loud music and shouting until 1am. I quickly returned to the desk, only to be told that we had booked a partial view. We know that this was a choice and we opted for seaveiw. It is written on our receipt too.
Although we showed this at reception, we were told that we should have asked for "seafront". They firstly said that there were none available. then said that we could have one if we paid 100 euros each extra, which, considering the extra charge we had already paid, we flatly refused. We had read on previous reviews that the wedding parties caused a lot of disturbance. but were unprepared for having them directly opposite us, food trolleys being wheeled outside peoples balconies at midnight, pool areas being cleared early or off limits completely. There were parties by the pool too, so very few guests could escape them,
On the Friday of our stay, I was standing on the balcony at 12.45 with music blasting out when I realised how many guests were taking videos from theirs. I told a receptionist about this the following day, he was very concerned, telling me that they had had numerous complaints, but nothing changed the following evening.
One of the reasons we chose the Excelsior was the private beach, this was closed when we arrived on the Tuesday until the Saturday as they were redoing the area with sand (yellow grit) which was dumped near the water service tank also our room view, and was being moved by a mini digger starting at 6.30am every day!
The good points!:
The room, excluding the carpet was clean, as were all areas of the hotel.
The breakfast was excellent with good choice to suit everyone.
Most staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Eileen in the restaurant and the young boys and girls around the beach café,pool and beach area.
In summary, the hotel does not match a 5 star rating, the foyer might, but not the rooms. The weddings are more important to management than guests. It's motto was "live the Grand life ". Not in our book.

Room Tip: Avoid sticky carpet in room 511. Higher rooms are better, less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mandy Howells,

Many thanks for your feedback. On behalf of the Excelsior team I apologise for not exceeding your expectations.

Kindly note that our Deluxe Seaview rooms offer a 90 degree view of Marsamxett Harbour whilst the Seafront rooms offer a 180 degree view. We insist with all our trade partners to provide a clear distinction between these two room types.

With regards your comment related to the carpet, may I assure you that the carpet is not filthy. The stains are the result of the carpet underlay. As from last November we have started a refurbishing programme which includes the replacement of room carpeting. This programme will recommence in November so as to ensure that our guests will not experience any inconvenience.

It is important to highlight that all outdoor functions are contracted with strict conditions relating to music levels. In fact music should be lowered at 2330 hours and stopped by midnight.

Whilst I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to the temporary closure of the sandy beach, may I kindly point out that the area was only closed between 0630 am and 1000 am. I have also informed our Projects team with the inconvenience you experienced due to the transportation of the yellow sand and to make sure that another storage area will be designated for any future works.

May I thank you for your positive comments related to our staff team members. Such feedback is very important as it gives them the motivation to always improve further.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and make your second visit a memorable one.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We flew from Leeds bradford airport and enjoyed a smooth outward journey to our super room. Our greeting was first class with a cold drink as we entered the hotel, excellent treatment on the reception, a lovely porter who chatted and made us feel welcome. We fell in love with our room as soon as we entered.Superb air con brilliantly appointed and french doors leading to a balcony view to die for.We opted for half board with breakfast on our floor in comfortable homely large restaurant. The choice was superb, the staff really helpful and the quality of all chioces great. We met our room ladies and had pleasant chats with them. It was obvious that they had high standards. After enjoying a beautiful sunset and fireworks over the harbour we fell fast asleep ready for a wonderful week of exploring the island by local bus routes and by an organised trip to Gozo.This is a very popular hotel and has staff who look after every inch both inside and out.
We chose the buffet dinner as this suited our needs.Presentation was top class and , again, the staff pleasantly chatty but having a priority to see to the needs of the hungry holiday makers..Despite two minor problems (not of the hotel's doing ) a hole in the wall crunched my card on the last day and our transport for our Gozo trip did not arrive. The reception staff sorted problems and the Gozo trip was really good and the card problem became a minor hiccup.Our first Malta trip was transformed in to a spectacular experience by this hotel, all of the staff and its superb rooms and views. We are both well into retirement and suffer from various problems but this was our very best holiday. We'd love to be sitting in the lounge bar overlooking the swimming pools and wedding ceremonies and film making and amazing boats in the harbour right now. I really hope that we are able to travel there in the furure at some time especially as we know know our way around from the comfort of our temporary home from home.

Room Tip: overlook harbour....superb views It is lovely to wake up to the boats and fishing life around the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 7 nights in June at this beautiful, modern, spacious and elegantly decorated hotel. Great location, lovely grounds in nice area just a short walk away from centre. We chose deluxe full sea view room, definitely worth it, the view is gorgeous! (we had 414, very generously proportioned room, directly over private marina, end balcony which during our week enjoyed brilliant sunshine from 4pm right till sunset. Superb!) Hotel facilities are excellent. Staff, in all departments, were most welcoming and friendly whilst still providing an extremely professional service. Great choice at breakfast. Two weddings took place during our stay which were delightful to watch. Really impressed with this very well run and managed hotel. The location, style and in particular the views make this hotel special. The staff and service give it real quality and class. We had a wonderful week.

Room Tip: 414, perfect! corner room, end balcony, full sea view, (being same level as breakfast restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing