We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Consiglia(Valletta)
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,424)
Filter reviews
4,424 results
Traveller rating
2,062
1,485
623
170
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,062
1,485
623
170
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
Filter
Updating list...
2,041 - 2,046 of 4,424 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our third visit to Malta in four years and probably the best of the three 5 stars that we have stayed in. Location for Valletta is great, a lot of steps to get to Valletta from the Hotel but nothing too difficult. The Marina and pool area is excellent and not too busy with drinks and food available to order. Be ready for the price of some items as very expensive, two Cornettos at the pool were 11 euros. A lick of paint in some areas would be needed pretty soon, but these are not going to stop us from staying again. Breakfast was very good and all staff are helpful and pleasant. There was a lot of activity as some pop stars were staying there and again it was handled well and not a problem for any of the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our recent visit in Malta, we stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. The hotel is located just next to the old city of Valletta and is adjacent to the bay offering a spectacular view of the harbour.

Our room at the top floor (and a small balcony with table and chairs) was really good offered a great view of the bay and Manoel Island. The room was very clean and included water and coffee (in the room) plus breakfast (big buffet with a wide range of options). Also, room service is included. The room service and the reception staff are very friendly and professional and offered us their assistance whenever we needed.

The hotel also has 4 restaurants, one of which is outdoors next to the pool and by the seaside (the Tiki restaurant). It also has a gym, indoor pool and facilities for massage and other relaxing treatments. Finally, it has a really nice outside pool, where you can relax under the sun and with a view. Also, there is a small beach offering you the opportunity to swim in a small part of the bay. (Note: you are entitled to free beach towels that can be provided from the staff at the small reception before you exit towards the outside pool and return them every time you are done.)

Finally, I would definitely recommend to try out the Tiki restaurant by the seaside. We really enjoyed fresh fish which you can choose before being cooked, as they source it from local fishermen. Additionally, the staff fillets and serves the fish in front of you offering a really 5-star experience. I would also recommend trying the calamari with prawns dish, plus the mussels. They were mouthwatering.
The staff of the Tiki restaurant is extremely professional and friendly and we really thank them for making our dinners even more pleasurable.

The price of the room (and included facilities and breakfast) was very reasonable for a 5-star Hotel and the restaurant prices were really good too.

To conclude, the Grand Excelsior Hotel proved to be a great choice and I would definitely recommend it for anyone wishing to visit beautiful Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I booked a weekend break at this hotel weeks before our first baby was born. We had hoped it would be a quiet relaxing break before the stress began. Little did we know this would jump start our stress instead.
Hours after arriving a power cut occurred which left our room without air-conditioning. While we understood that the powercut was not the fault of the hotel or its staff, the lack of proper backup power was disappointing in a 5-star hotel. Calls to the reception to ask about the extent of the outage or any solutions resulted in a barely polite dismissive response. After some hours, the supply returned but our AC was not functioning. At 10pm we couldn't sleep due to the hot summer heat and when we called front desk, we had to content with technician literally climbing into the false ceiling of our room to fix the AC manually. The next night, the same problem with the AC occurred but we put up with the heat rather than have our privacy invaded again.
Finally on the last day of our stay, while my 8-month pregnant wife was showering, the water supply was interrupted. When we called front desk we were informed that there was urgent maintenance on our floor and they had to interrupt the water supply. The only solution offered was for them to bring bottled water for my wife to rinse her her out!
When we complained to the administration about our disappointment we were only offered a 10% discount and an offer of a free one-night stay during our next stay. Needless to say we never opted to return after this experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Simon P

We are sorry that your stay with us was not entirely up to your expectations. We pride ourselves in being part of the Preferred Hotels Group of hotels and we constantly maintain excellent standards that justify our association with the brand.

We regret that during the period of your stay with us we encountered two technical issues that were beyond the hotel control. On Friday afternoon, the government electrical supply was interrupted for around two hours due to fault in their high tension cable. Thankfully, the hotel is equipped with an alternative source of energy that guarantees electrical power for all services with the exception of air conditioning. On Sunday, the hotel experienced a water leakage that effected a wing of the hotel. Repairs had to be done immediately as the water was flooding one of the hotel floors. The hotel can boast of having an in-house property maintenance team who can quickly deal with such emergencies. The water leakage problem was solved within two hours.

As you are aware, our General Manager communicated with you via email on 13 August and as an apology for the inconvenience you experienced and also as gesture of goodwill, offered you a 15% discount on your total bill together with a complimentary one night for a future stay. Since on the same day you kindly thanked Mr. Grixti for the generous offer, it is quite a surprise to read in your review that you were not satisfied with our compensation offer.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Not only the hotel was excellent, big appartment with terrace with a unique view to the marvelous harbor, 29 C huge swimming pool,"Tiki village" and "Tiki restaurant" a very special service with taxis to excursions every where including the islands, but an extraordinary restaurant in which you can find every meal from the arab, japan, african, indian, chinas, and many other kitchen.Two of the waiters were especially excellent, ambitious,with empathy to the guests Gabor and Kata.

Room Tip: room with harborview
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

...with a small beachfront on the Grand Harbor for swimming, not to mention the spacious pool area. Huge breakfast (and other meals ) buffet with stunning views. Buses easily accessible to anywhere on the island -- and colorful! Great base camp for exploring, or to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakerohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear jakerohn

Many thanks for taking the time share with other Trip Advisor users your stay at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Your short and sweet review sums it all.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. I am sure that there are attractions you still need to visit. Should you make up your mind to visit us again please do not hesitate to email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist you with your arrangements.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews