We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Bulacan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It could have been better!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location was fantastic. It has a great swimming pool and the man made beach is definitely an added attraction. The downside is the customer service of the staffs. Alright, Monica from the reception and a lady that serve us once in the breakfast had the right attitude of working in a five star hotel, but the majority of the staffs definitely need to undergo an intensive training on good customer service. We could have extended our stay a few more nights but after just being ignored we decided to transfer in another 5 star rated hotel and it seems that we did the right decision.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Bulacan


Many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior for your recent stay in Malta and also for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor users.

We are pleased to inform you that thanks to your mention in the review, Monica will be nominated for our staff IXL quarterly awards. IXL recognises all those staff members who have excelled in customer service and enhanced the guest experience.

On the other hand it is worrying to note that other staff members did not excel in good customer service. In order to assist us further appreciate if you could email me on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt with your stay dates and any further details you might share with us. I can assure you that customer service training is delivered on a regular basis and we are in fact planning an extensive winter training programme.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future and will make you second visit more memorable than the first.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    1,283
    519
    150
    66
See reviews for
670
1,875
182
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here for my fathers 80th birthday. Just fantastic. Very luxurious and nothing was ever too much trouble for any staff member. Very clean and fantastic facilities. Lots of staff all hard working! Lovely restaurants too. Will be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dkoplewsky

Many thanks for sharing your fantastic experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Such a review is a great motivator to all team members especially at this time of the year when everyone is geared up for the busy summer season.

We are honoured that you chose the Excelsior for such a memorable event and hope that we will welcome you again in the very near future. Should you make any plans to visit it us again, please email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be great pleasure to assist.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our amazing room and balcony (719) was ready on arrival ( we arrived early) very friendly staff, our car was parked for us and our luggage taken to our room. The views from our balcony are probably the best this hotel has to offer. We ate both nights on the terrace by the harbour the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Lunch in the Tiki Village huts was lovely sadly this area was closed on our 2nd night for a private function. Buffet breakfast large and varied. Very close to the old town - wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: 719 large balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJQ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear JJQ1965

It was a great pleasure hosting you at the Grand Hotel Excelsior and may we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay.

The views from our Deluxe Seafront rooms are certainly spectacular especially at sunset and we do hope that we will welcome you again in the not distant future. Should you make any plans please do not hesitate to email me on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt as it will be a great pleasure to assist. And why not perhaps we can book for you the same Seafront Room 719.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel. From the moment I walked in and was greeted by name (and a drink) I felt I was the guest in a five star hotel. Staff couldn't do enough to cater for my every need and I am truly grateful to them all for making my stay so memorable. Although all were marvellous special thanks must go to staff on reception, concierge, room service and the pool bar. Absolutely delightful people and a pleasure to meet them.
I got the executive room I booked and paid for in advance with a terrace overlooking sleima. Very very comfortable, spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Good mini bar with free supplies of water.
I can't remember when I've eaten so well both morning and evening. I never bothered to look for anywhere else after experiencing the evening buffet.
I must admit I was concerned when I read earlier reviews about this hotel but my experience was five star everything. And would I go back? Yes most definitely. I'd never stay anywhere else in malta.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twestw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We flew from Gatwick for a 3 night city break in a good quality hotel in a nice part of the world; somewhere warm. Reading the reviews prior to going, we thought we may have made a mistake, as there was plenty of criticism. Not a bit of it! We booked a deluxe room and were given a cracking room with a lovely sea view. The room was clean and tidy, and we had no complaints at all. We were even given a free bottle of wine with the compliments of the hotel to celebrate my wife's 50th. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, not overly, just right. They made our stay a pleasure and we would definitely return. Some facts; internet connection was excellent on our floor and the poolside; Valletta is a fortress built on a hill, there are a lot of steps to negotiate; some areas could do with a deep clean, the entrance carpet; check in is at 3 pm, we left our bags and went exploring; check out is at 12, we spent the afternoon by the pool and were given a courtesy room to shower and change; there are frequent weddings and they can go on late into the night. We would return, if only for the excellent breakfast ..... Perhaps we are just easily pleased!

Room Tip: Go for the lobby level floor (6th) and above with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our third visit to Malta in four years and probably the best of the three 5 stars that we have stayed in. Location for Valletta is great, a lot of steps to get to Valletta from the Hotel but nothing too difficult. The Marina and pool area is excellent and not too busy with drinks and food available to order. Be ready for the price of some items as very expensive, two Cornettos at the pool were 11 euros. A lick of paint in some areas would be needed pretty soon, but these are not going to stop us from staying again. Breakfast was very good and all staff are helpful and pleasant. There was a lot of activity as some pop stars were staying there and again it was handled well and not a problem for any of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our recent visit in Malta, we stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. The hotel is located just next to the old city of Valletta and is adjacent to the bay offering a spectacular view of the harbour.

Our room at the top floor (and a small balcony with table and chairs) was really good offered a great view of the bay and Manoel Island. The room was very clean and included water and coffee (in the room) plus breakfast (big buffet with a wide range of options). Also, room service is included. The room service and the reception staff are very friendly and professional and offered us their assistance whenever we needed.

The hotel also has 4 restaurants, one of which is outdoors next to the pool and by the seaside (the Tiki restaurant). It also has a gym, indoor pool and facilities for massage and other relaxing treatments. Finally, it has a really nice outside pool, where you can relax under the sun and with a view. Also, there is a small beach offering you the opportunity to swim in a small part of the bay. (Note: you are entitled to free beach towels that can be provided from the staff at the small reception before you exit towards the outside pool and return them every time you are done.)

Finally, I would definitely recommend to try out the Tiki restaurant by the seaside. We really enjoyed fresh fish which you can choose before being cooked, as they source it from local fishermen. Additionally, the staff fillets and serves the fish in front of you offering a really 5-star experience. I would also recommend trying the calamari with prawns dish, plus the mussels. They were mouthwatering.
The staff of the Tiki restaurant is extremely professional and friendly and we really thank them for making our dinners even more pleasurable.

The price of the room (and included facilities and breakfast) was very reasonable for a 5-star Hotel and the restaurant prices were really good too.

To conclude, the Grand Excelsior Hotel proved to be a great choice and I would definitely recommend it for anyone wishing to visit beautiful Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing