We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one word...Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from Grand Excelsior!!it was one of the best hotels i ever visited!!friendly staff, always willing to help u!!in every position!!i give one star for the staff at tiki restaurant!!very good and friendly!!!clean pool,great breakfast and dinner buffet!looking forward to visit it again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fartravellersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,046)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,711 - 1,717 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and my Girlfriend stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior for night last July. It was so easy for us to get to the Hotel as they have their own private taxi service. As soon as we arrived the Girl at the reception ( Monica) welcomed us and prepared the check in, it took her no time to do that and I am so glad because i was amazingly tired and wanted to rest. We had a lovely room with a breath taking view of the Msida marina. As soon as we settled in the room we head to the pool, what a lovely place. Finally I could see the sun after a horrible summer in the north of Europe. The food from the room service was really good, I do recommend the Angus burger. The best was not over yet. We were invited at the Grand for a wedding. What an amazing atmosphere. These guys really know what they are doing when it comes to weddings. I don´t mind if that was my wedding because it was perfect. With a huge variety of cheese, wines and also a Mojito bar, and how about the great after hours at the Tiki Bar.
I really do recommend this Hotel for a very comfortable stay in a very welcoming and warm hotel. One last thing... the prices of the rooms and also the food and beverage are not that expensive considering that it is a 5 star Hotel.

Room Tip: the reception is on level 6, so anything above level 6 has a very good view and easily to excess the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for our recent family holiday. Facilities are excellent, as you'd expect. But what makes the place special is the staff who are not only extremely well trained and obliging but also, without exception, delightful, friendly and very welcoming. Food is very good, especially the breakfast buffet which is possibly the best I've ever come across, although it would add considerably to the expense to eat in the hotel all the time during your stay. (Fortunately it's a short walk into Valletta where we found a number of good and reasonably priced places to eat in the evenings...the town is a good bit livelier than it used to be, but without losing it's charm). The only thing I could find to criticise in the entire week is the coffee at breakfast which is, frankly, pretty nasty. But everything...absolutely everything...else was brilliant! Thank you Excelsior!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are definitely worth paying supplement for
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jamie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

So I'm currently very unwell and I've been lying in bed for all of the day sleeping. As I wake up, I turn on the TV to watch something and there are hardly any English speaking channels, the ones that are English speaking have subtitles. Anyway roughly 5 minutes ago the whole room went pitch black and obviously there had been a power cut. Fortunately there must be a backup system as only the lights have come back on. The issue I have is that we get "Fox Movies" as a channel and I luckily caught "The Kings Speach" right from the start. I haven't seen this film before and I really wanted to watch it... So yeah, I'm staring at a black screen, missing the rest of the film as the room slowly gets warmer as the air conditioning has gone off too. Not at all pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relicsuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Relicsuite

Whilst thanking you for your feedback we do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to the nationwide blackout that happened last Tuesday 12 August. The property is fully equipped with a generator which supplies power immediately to all essential services in the rooms, public areas and restaurants. After 30 mins even non-essential services such as room TV sets will be fully powered

The hotel provides the following English speaking channels - CNN, Sky News, Sky Sports, Euronews, BBC World News, CNBC, MBC2, Fox Movies, MBC Action, Discovery Channel, Dubai 1 and Disney Channel. In addition the Excelsior is one of the few properties in Malta that offers free Wi-Fi not only in the public areas but also in the guest rooms.

We do look forward to welcome you again in the very near future without experiencing a nationwide power cut.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Could not speak highly enough of this hotel. The staff are amazing and willing to go to every length to make our stay and wedding event, something we will cherish and never forgot, for all the best reasons. The wedding planners got the wedding exactly right, even when our own musicians pulled out, they stepped in at last minute to provide a good replacement. Food was superb, especially the Indian vegetarian canapes which arrived in a myriad of different formats and types and utterly delicious.
I could go on and on but in a nutshell - Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Satnam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Satnam S,

Many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior for such a special event and we are very happy that your Daughter's wedding was a success.

The Grand Hotel Excelsior is proud to have team members from over 30 different countries, representing diverse cultures, religions and traditions. This enables us to be truly global and appreciative of our cultural diversity. I am sure that our resident Indian chefs played a big role in preparing superb Indian dishes.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family in the near future. Should you have any dates in mind just email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Even before we arrived the customer service was good, I emailed the hotel with some concerns I had read on TripAdvisor, they phoned me at home and reassured me- thank you Alexandra. We arrived, checked in very quickly, went to our room and were delighted to see a lovely romantic bed !! Pink petals, towels like swans, fresh flowers, beautiful, then we were given, brought to our room sparkling rose wine on ice, a lovely start to our holiday to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

Our room was fantastic, lovely view of harbour. We were very lucky to have fireworks every night except one, across the harbour. Air-conditioning worked well, bathroom spacious and great shower and toiletries, bed huge and comfortable. Good to have fridge in room as well. The hotel facilities were fantastic, pool never busy, always sunbeds available, nice beach area with access to sea. A MUST is the Tiki village experience we went for three evenings and tried the sharing platters - cheese, chacuterrrie and Asian really recommend!!! With a pitcher of cocktail, it was so relaxing as sitting watching the boats go by and the fireworks. Towels available for the pool area with a deposit. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and there is a turn down service which we didn't use as it was a bit early for us. The hotel is within easy walk of the city, up some steps and hill but no one seemed to struggle we didnt. The steps were a bit slippy if you didn't have a grip on your footwear but that really was pavement all over Malta/gozo.

Where do I start with Malta!! I lived there with my family in the 70s and it was lovely to revisit. The heart of Malta was still there with lots of additions. Valletta was stunning, a fascinating city with so much history. We did a harbour cruise from silema, using the ferry from Valletta to silema to get there both were great. We used the public transport 1 euro 50 cents for all day, to visit Marsascala were I used to live and Mdina, one sad thing, Tqali was a thriving craft village which is now sadly quite deserted with only a few remaining artisans. Mr Attard who make silver filigree showed us his craft and we were able to buy genuine hand made in Malta filigree, not the imported from China stuff that shops sell and pass off as hand made. We did two trips with Malta excursions, which we booked before we left, very good communications and excellently organised, gozo day trip and Fernando's cruise.

Some constructive criticism for hotel - not complaints would be - please could we have some privacy on the balconies? The wrought iron divide is not enough, you can see people comming out onto the balcony see that their neighbours are out and go back inside also if you don't smoke it means you have to suffer the smoke as well. Please put note on balcony doors warning not to shut, we didnt but we did have to allow a neighbour through our room when he locked himself out!! Our room overlooked the bastion walk way, when there were functions on the metal trolley's that staff push over the tile walkway actually would wake the dead the noise they make - the silence/ambience is well and truly shattered, the staff also look very uncomfortable, a simple solution would be to put a carpet or rubber mat down at these times.

All in all amazing holiday, loved the hotel and Malta and will certainly return.

Room Tip: We had room 670, perfect! Would request this room again. There are some rooms I would not want, like...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank naianiretak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Nainiretak,

Many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior for your recent trip and for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users. Your constructive feedback is not only inspiring to all of our team members but also provides us with suggestions that can be implemented in the near future and enhance the guest experience.

With regards the privacy on the balconies, may I point out that recently we did test the idea of introducing planters between the dividing balcony wall. The feedback that we received showed that guests prefer to have a 180 degree view from the room. Notwithstanding we do offer a number of rooms with secluded balconies and recommend that at booking stage you request to be allocated this particular room type.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Should you have any dates in mind please do not hesitate to email directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt as it will be a great pleasure to assist you with your requirements.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The start of our holiday wasn't great. We arrived about 9pm at the hotel and were quickly checked in and shown to our room which we saw immediately wasn't suitable.
We had booked a twin room suitable for 3 people so were expecting a double and a single bed in a room large enough for to accomodate this.
We were given a double room with no extra bed and would have struggled to fit an extra bed in. It also smelled of smoke so we complained immediately.
The staff were very courteous, professional but it took a while, over an hour while they found something more suitable. Not a great start. After that things did pick up. The beds were comfortable even the extra bed which is a proper bed not a fold down type. Still the room is not huge when the extra bed is added but would be more than adequate for just 2 people.
The decor is tired and could do with an update, the air conditioning in our bedroom struggled to cope during the day and was too noisy to leave on at night.
The room was very well equipped which you expect from a 5* Hotel and anything that wasn't there like an ironing board you can get very quickly by phoning reception.
Water is supplied for your room daily but as you are advised not to drink from the taps this again is what you would expect.
Breakfast was included in our package and it was well worthwhile with a great choice and a lovely view of the harbour. My advice here is to go early, before 8.30am as it tends toget quite busy about 9ish. If you do this you get to sit by the window everyday and there is no queue for the chef making the omlettes, pancakes and waffles. There is everything you would expect at breakfast and more although the coffee left something to be desired, it was far too strong for me and I couldn't drink the tea at all (that's standard in most places outside the UK for me though)
As the holiday progressed I found myself enjoying the Excelsior more and more, the indoor pool is great, the Tiki village lovely for a lunch or evening meal. The prices in the hotel for meals and drink are quite expensive, again it's the sort of thing you would expect from a 5* hotel.
Overall the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us even manging to find our daughters teddy bear which went missing from the room, probably in the linen exchange. Daughter was very pleased.
The concierge arranged car hire for us at a very reasonable rate and managed an upgrade of the car and the hotel has an underground car park so the car doesn't get hot in the sun
The location of the hotel is very central for Valletta which is a beautiful city and we will definitely be back, probably in 2018 when Valletta becomes the European capital of culture. Lots of work going on currently and money being spent to make it even better.
Well done Grand Hotel Excelsior but needs to improve in one or 2 areas to get the full 5/5

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank d-atkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear d-atkin,

Many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior for your recent trip and for taking the time to share such constructive feedback with other Trip Advisor users.

It is very disappointing to note that your stay started on a negative note but on the other hand it is great to know that our team members rose to the occasion and ensured that the matter is settled to your satisfaction in the least possible time. Kindly note that we have a very strict non-smoking inhouse policy and smoking is only permitted outdoors.

With regards your comment related to the room decor please note that rooms are being currently refurbished. The programme commenced in November 2013 and will recommence in later October.so as to minimise inconveniences to our guests.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the very near future. Should you have any dates in hand, just email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing