We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Option for Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Option for Malta”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Solid option for anyone wishing to be close to the centre of Valletta. The hotel itself is big but nice, although the 90s decor I found a little in need of updating to more modern minimalist design tastes. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. Food at the hotel (we only had the €12 breakfast buffet) was nice and the staff all friendly. I guess my only complaints would be the patchy Wifi - not enough to stream Netflix or do anything beyond emailing/light social media - which was annoying given the lack of English TV stations for those times you just want to relax in the room after a long day by the pool or out sightseeing in the old town in the Maltese sun. Other than that, our stay at the hotel was without fault, and I'd have no issue with recommending this to others, particularly if you wish to be close to transport links, the old town, and the ferries across the harbour

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenechoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    1,248
    510
    148
    65
See reviews for
655
1,832
180
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved malta and the hotel was perfect. Staff and facilities are excellent. The personal touches make a huge difference, drinks on arrival, bottle of water per person every day, newspaper delivered every day, toiletries to a very high standard. Very Clean rooms, chocolate on pillow every night, complimentary bottle of wine. Leaving goodbye drinks.... We genuinely were very impressed with cleanliness, location, and very helpful friendly staff. Breakfast excellent and valetta and surrounding towns and Gozo are all beautiful. I would do back tomorrow.... Oh and as we had a 13 year old and a16 year old with us...free very fast wifi was the icing on the cake! Happy kids happy parents!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaeveringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a horrible room below street level definetly not a 5 star hotel room, and a very foul smell of humidity was in our corridor room 661. breakfast and pool area were ok though but the room was really not fit.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kirsten C,

Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us we apologise for not exceeding to your expectations.

May I kindly point out that your selected room type was a standard room booked through galahotels.com. Unfortunately this online booking agent only provides to its bookers our basic standard room type and does not offer the other deluxe room types ranging from inland to seafronts. It is unfortunate that due to limited information available by a third party agent you had no choice. The standard room type is ideal for travellers staying overnight and in fact we only have 6 rooms in this category.

The smell of humidity in the corridor was due to a water leak in the corridor. Our maintenance team have now replaced the corridor carpeting after all works had been finalised.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Should you have any dates in mind please email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for over a month on business, the first room I had looked like it had been locked in the 1980's, the carpet was not fixed to the floor and a trip hazard and my shower had no hot water. The hotel took 24 hours to fix the shower by that point I had requested to be moved.

Although my new room had a great sea view the A/C in the room did not work and after 6 attempts for the hotel to fix it still no joy, they did not offer me another room because they explained the hotel was too busy. The lock on my door did not respond to any key card for 1 min before opening.

Some nights the food was amazing but then you would go 2-3 nights of below average food for €34. The buffet opened at 18:30 and you were allowed to sit and eat but no hot meat/fish was even ready before 19:00, defeats the point in opening at 18:30 really. The plates were too hot to handle and on many occasions children were dropping them from burring their hands. (Turn down the plate heater!!!).

The final nail in the coffin was the hair cut I received!!! It was about time for a haircut so I went to the beauty spar where I was sat down and explained what I wanted. The girl had no experience and it wasn't until the following day I saw her handing out towels and cleaning up trash around the pool. She decided to start a new trend and shave the back of my head with a #2 not even the sides. The manager did accept it was disastrous and called someone in to fix it right away.

Room Tip: Go for something else, its really not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom19852011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had paid in advance for 7 nights and breakfasts and was asked to block 50 € a day on my credit card for the possible extra costs : this is their welcome word, you feel like a suspect,not like a guest. No welcome word(or drink)then you wait for hours in a lobby with others bored/tired guests with luggage (youth hostel ambiance). When you finally get a room you have to carry your luggage by yourself and find your way in the hotel, nobody accompanies you. Which room you find worn out : stained carpet, scratched cupboard,etc.. The coffee by breakfast is undrinkable, if you want something correct you have to pay extra. The food in the dining buffet is abundant but not refined. Once asked for jasmin tea, they don t have it. I can go on and on... It is a 3 star tourist hotel processing a great number of guests with stress, not a smoothly running organisation. Somebody of the middle management reprimanded a staff member in the presence of guests : unprofessional and not relaxing !

Room Tip: Ask for seafront and a clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleutheria29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Eleutheria 29,

Whilst thanking you for the feedback, we are very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay and sincerely apologise for this circumstance. May I assure you that all points mentioned in your review will be discussed with the respective departments so that corrective action will be taken.

With regards the pre-authorisation of EUR50 per day, kindly note that through the pre-authorisation you do not need to carry any cash within the hotel as all expenses will be charged to your room. At the end of the stay the blocked amount will be used to settle the bills any unused amount will be released by the bank.

We do appreciate that after a long trip to Malta one would like to settle down in the room. Our housekeeping team do their very best to have all arrivals ready as early as possible. The mission will be difficult when the hotel is at almost full occupancy. All early arrivals are offered the opportunity to store their luggage in the secure luggage room and use all the in-house facilities. From your review it transpires that you were not offered this opportunity. I appreciate if you could email me your details on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt so that I can investigate further. If you have any information you would like to share with me please do so.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior and will make sure that it will be a memorable one.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This place has improved in a year. Nothing is too much trouble and during a whole island power cut the hotels generators kept the place going even in the bedrooms A/C kept going.

Brilliant stay, will return.

Room Tip: Go for full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from Grand Excelsior!!it was one of the best hotels i ever visited!!friendly staff, always willing to help u!!in every position!!i give one star for the staff at tiki restaurant!!very good and friendly!!!clean pool,great breakfast and dinner buffet!looking forward to visit it again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fartravellersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Preferred Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing