We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Wonderful Staff, Beautiful Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I was lucky enough to celebrate my 50th birthday with a week long stay at the excelsior grand hotel. Location is great approx. 10 min walk from the old city gate 5 mins to central bus station where buses will take you all over the island for €1.50 per day . Also close to ferry for Sliema,
There are some steps to be negotiated but its not mount Everest and hotel does run a free shuttle service at certain times of the day and electric taxis are also available at €5 into the centre.

The hotel is modern in style but not in a cold way , reception and public areas are opulent and
beautifully kept . Breakfast room is large with wonderful views out across the harbour. Great selection of everything on buffet , omelettes , eggs, waffles, pancakes etc cooked to order.
Staff in breakfast room very attentive and pleasant especially Eileen who looked after us very well.

We stayed in a terrace room on the 7th floor which was amazing . Fabulous views across
the harbour which kept us enthralled day and night. The views of the harbour are stunning from
these rooms. Our room was large and well maintained with lovely comfortable king size bed.
Bathroom lovely with large shower cubicle and separate bath . Plenty of toiletries which were
replenished frequently. Housekeeping service was excellent nice touch was bottles of water delivered to room each evening and turn down service at night.

pool area was really well kept very clean and plenty of sunbeds available even in busy august.
Pool boys very helpful with umbrellas , tables, etc . Very nice beach area as well with swimming
area in harbour. No loud music nice peaceful stress free environment.

The best thing about this hotel is its staff they were so pleasant , helpful and friendly and this
is what really made our stay so wonderful we were welcomed by duty manager Lavinia on our arrival and her wonderful welcome set the tone for our entire stay. Treat yourself to a stay here you wont regret it.

Room Tip: choose a sea front or terrace rooms for the best views of beautiful harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here as a couple for a week bed and breakfast. Overall the hotel is impressive with large clean well appointed rooms, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, and a small beach area with steps into the sea. Sun beds are always available and only on the weekend did the hotel seem full with a wedding taking place. The servicing of the room is excellent and carried out every day. Prices for drinks, the hotels taxi service and food are expensive so fill up at breakfast and use one of the city's electric cabs if want to save money. From the hotel it's a ten minute walk to the centre of Valletta but be aware this is via steep steps from the hotel. The bar/reception staff were excellent and attentive as expected from a five star hotel.

The suggestions we would make for improvements would be a more varied after hours restaurant/ room service for food, a cheese platter just sometimes isn't enough. The beach area needs cleaning more, not so much the staffs fault more rude lazy guests throwing rubbish and cigarette butts on the floor rather than using the bins. Be aware most people do seem to smoke and this goes on throughout all the outdoor areas. The bar areas are very quiet on a night despite excellent entertainment this could be down to prices as stated before drinks are very expensive.

Overall though a nice experience and a hotel we would use again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Duffs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

What can we say about the Excelsior, apart from we loved it. The staff were amazingly friendly, co-operative and willing to assist at all times.
The hotel certainly made every effort to make you feel unique. We had a room on level 9, looking over the harbour. It cost a little more, but we were treating ourselves whilst we had our short stay. The views were fantastic, and it was a nice terrace to relax with a glass of wine on.
The room was large, well furnished and had everything you'd need. They can customise the mini bar off a long list of items, so it only has things you'd use, and the cost wasn't stupidly expensive. The bathroom looked a little old, but was clean and large.
The pool/beach area could have more chairs, as these seem to be rare commodities and some guest behaviour becomes a little primitive when a chair is free or not.
I'd say the only experience we had which wasn't up to the same standards was the restaurants. The buffets (not usually a favourite of mine) were lacking in quality food, in particular the meats were tired and dry - I tried chicken, beef, duck and pork whilst here.
The salads were fine, but the desserts were unimaginative.
All in all, we'd come back again and stay. It's a short walk to Valletta, which is being restored extensively right now, and the traders are being encouraged to stay open later to bring people in. It's also very close to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time and continue to be very impressed. The location is great. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. We were in room 429 which has a view over the pools to the sea/harbour. There is plenty of space in the room and it was spotlessly clean. There are lots of drawers and wardrobe space was ample. The balcony didn't get sun which helped to keep the room comfortably cool. The air conditioning also worked well. Rooms further along the corridor did get some sun on the balcony. Breakfast was ample with a huge choice. The dining room has a fantastic view through vast windows.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NewburyTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Newbury Travelfan

Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with other Trip Advisor users. It is always a great pleasure to welcome again our distinguished guests.

As you rightly pointed out the Spice Island restaurant has a fantastic view of the pool area, Marsamxett Harbour, and the historical fortifications of Fort Manoel. Like Spice Island all public areas offer spectacular views.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Should you have any dates in hand please do not hesitate to email me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a fantastic week in this lovely hotel, where staff were friendly, polite and attentive at all times. Our room was large, with wonderful views overlooking the harbour, and the gym and pool area were also well-sized and well-equipped; an added bonus was the private beach attached to the hotel, which allowed you to cool off and swim in the clear blue sea, watching the yachts sail by. We ate in the hotel on two evenings, once in the Tiki Restaurant and once in the Admiral's Landing international buffet; both were sensational, and whilst more expensive than eating out generally in Malta, very much worth it. The selection of food at breakfast was similarly sensational, with a vast variety of choice; we would certainly advise anyone going to stay at the hotel to include breakfast in their package. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Valletta's main gate, and to the bus station immediately beside the gate. To sum our stay up, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Q23B13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband , daughter and myself spent 2 weeks at The Excelsior Grand . This was our second trip to Malta but first at the Excelsior. First impressions where very good , polite staff drinks on arrival and very spacious accommodation . The pool area was very good as where the indoor pool and gym facilities.
However the attention to detail was what made this hotel not the five star experience we expected.
The servicing of the room was the main area of disappointment. Despite being there for 2 weeks I could count very few occasions when we received the correct number of cups, glasses , bottles of water etc in our room.

I had to go to reception to complain when the room was not vacuumed for 3 days. On another occasion I had to go after the room service staff to ask for toilet paper, cups etc despite the room having been "serviced "

The quality of the complimentary car service depended on who was on the transport desk. On one occasion we had to be in town for a certain time and we ended up walking due to the chaos
Surrounding the transport with no queuing system.

One piece of advice for anyone travelling with a young family would be don't purchase lollies at the pool we paid €9.50 for 2 ice lollies which where about € 5 up in the town.

For anyone elderly or with any walking difficulties this is not the hotel to be staying in as their are 88 steps from the hotel to reach the hill . Then a further walk up the hill.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

So we managed to book the hotel, literally last minute, for 2 nights last week. We thought we had booked a superior deluxe room of some sort, and the hotel were aware that we were staying as a family of 5, with 3 little ones (aged 6,3 and 3). When we arrived to check in they had upgraded us to an executive suite and the room was amazing. The suite had 2 rooms, the first a large living room with additional bathroom and 3 single beds (good quality) set up for the children, with complimentary wine and chocolates. The second room with king bed, dressing room and another large bathroom with bath and shower. The balcony was good but overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was grand like the hotel states it is. The breakfast was super, as expected from these class of hotels, fresh waffles, crepes, omelettes and eggs made to order. The dinner in the Admirals restaurant was Arabian buffet, adults approx 30 Euro's and children under 12 free I think, and the food on offer was immense, although the puddings were a slight let down for the children - nothing remotely simple and chocolatey for them, but I was happy! The pools are lush, the indoor pool is also beautiful and relaxing. You do have to pay a deposit for towels, which I thought odd for a 5* hotel, but fine anyway. The hotel is a bit of a hike from the heart of Valletta, and is fine if you're young and able, but with 3 small children it was much easier to take the quick, nippy electric cabs (read golf carts :) ) into the centre from the hotel at only 6 Euro's each way. All in all, a great hotel, situated well for exploring Valletta, and peaceful enough to enjoy even with 3 small children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suheni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,821 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing