We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Stayed in this hotel for a week in July 08 whilst at a wedding.
The hotel was still in its soft opening phase with work ongoing, but this did not pose a problem at all. Room was very well appointed and the service levels excellent. Breakfast is not one of my normal strong points but I Definatly ate here every morning, there was so much to choose from.

The concierge desk was excellent and the guy there really came up trumps in getting us back from Sliema when there was an all out transport strike. Which is more than can be said for Captain Morgan cruises who stranded us there in the first place.

If i ever visit malta again I would definately stay here.
Well worth paying the extra for a sea front room too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank breezer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,055)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,874 - 2,880 of 4,055 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel on the outskirts of Valletta for five days jsut after Christmas 2008 and into January 2009 and there is nothing I can fault the hotel for.

Our room was spacious, very clean, quiet, well equipped and pleasant enough - there was even a balcony overlooking parts of the marina and the harbour. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was tastefully furnished and the bathroom left little to be desired. Granted, the shower took a while to warm up, but that is the only small criticism I can find.

As for the service, I really cannot confirm any of the previous comments about the alleged sulkiness of the staff. When we arrived at about midnight for a very late check-in, we were greeted by two receptionists with a very friendly smile and a welcome drink on the house, followed by an efficient check-in procedure. One porter then took care of parking our car in the hotel garage (which is available to hotel guests for free!), whole another one moved our luggage into the room.

Checkout five days later was equally uncomplicated.

Every time we requested something or asked for some information, we were helped in a friendly and efficient way and staff in the bar/lobby have always been very nice, too.

The same goes for the spa, which had fine facilities and lovely staff. Even on New Year's Day, when you might expect people to be a little tired, the service was impeccable.

We also used the (indoor) pool and jaccuzi several times and found them heated, cleaned and well attended every time.

We did not eat in the hotel but our impression was that the restaurants had good locations in the hotel and were well visited - it may be advisable to check whether advance booking is required. However, Valletta certainly has more authentic restaurants to offer than the hotel's restaurants. We decided to make use of these and were not disappointed.

One word on the location: situated right at the waterfront, the hotel occupies a magnificent spot and is within walking distance of the interesting, historic and vibrant (although small) city of Valletta. You can walk up a small hill and turn into the (open air) bus station (well worth a visit anyway!) at the entrance of the city in about five minutes, or take the shortcut via a long flight of stairs past the back yard of another hotel - but I do agree with other reviewers that lighting, smell and the quality of the path are not particularly impressive. However, we took the shortcut for convenience several times and it was never a real problem.

In either case, Valletta is only a few minutes away. For those who really don't want to do the walk, the hotel offers a courtesy car to the bus station - but we always felt that it would take longer to wait for the car to arrive and get across the traffic lights than to walk up to the bus station. But maybe if one has luggage this may be convenient.

All in all, I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and I cannot confirm any of the negative points raised by a few other reviewers with regard to the attitude of the staff or the quality of the facilities.

PS: I won;t upload any more photos of the hotel, for the simple reason that the many photos taken by fellow reviewers are perfectly accurate and show the hotel as it is.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eurofrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

i had huge expectecions aboat this hotel, but i end up dissaponted i have a few points:

4 hours waiting for the check-in
whole weekend eating dinner in the lobby cause the restaurant were fullybooked by locals so i end up eating a sandwhich for dinner.
managment argue with the staff infront of everyone in breakfast the waittress end up serving me crying
and the etaff looks realy sad ,very rare you see them smiling

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We recently returned from a very enjoyable week in the Grand Hotel Excelsior, Floriana, Malta. From the moment you enter the hotel you are greeted by a warm & friendly staff, only too eager to assist in whatever way they can.

Our suite was fabulous. Both the lounge and the bedroom had balconies with fantastic views of the harbour. The rooms were very well furnished and the bed was the best we have slept in for a long time. The bathroom was equally luxurious with walk in shower and a separate bath - none of this "over the bath " showers.

The first evening we were in the hotel, guests were invited to the General Manager's Pre-Dinner Drinks Event. The wine served was really good, maltese wines have definitely
improved in the last eight years. The staff were friendly and very proud of their hotel. The views from the bar are stunning and not just from the windows. We were looking down at the buffet set out for dinner, so that is where we ate. The buffets are themed, so each night the taste sensations are different. We actually ate there all the time. We recommend you book at the weekends as Friday evening is extremely popular.

The hotel is very well positioned for the city of Valletta, the Waterfront and has easy access to the water-taxis. In fact the car stayed in the garage of the hotel for the week we were in the hotel. Everywhere is so easily accessible that a car is not needed.

Would we / will we return? Without doubt YES.

Is there anything else I would want? Well I would like a reading light in the room. At my age, I need good lighting to read at night. As I coudl not read I turned on the TV sets. An entertainment channel in English would be nice, there is only so much BBC World news one can take. Seriously we had an amazing week and will be returning. The Excelsior Grand comes highly recommended.

Allan & Cathy Ford
Plymouth - Nov 2008

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FordyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

whatever people are writing, this is THE WORST HOTEL i have ever stayed in (after 25 years of world travel). the food in the evenings was worse than hospital food, breakfast was so bad, i almost was sick afterwards, the staff could not care less and were just [-] rude, the tv was partly working, movies did not work at all, the room was filthy, the Maid almost shouted at me for leaving my laundry outside the door (after waiting for 45 mintues), the fat Maltese taxi drivers over-charge you all the time and expect a tip, facilities are crap, if you want to end it once and for all, this is the place to go for. a five star hotel !?? 3 at best and that is complimentary.

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank Beduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Excelsior for 3 nights in December. We were looking forward to a long weekend of relaxation, spending some time in the pool, sauna and jacuzzi in between long lunches and dinners in Valletta.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room, no breakfast, on the 10th floor. Lovely room, balcony partially overlooking the marina. The bathroom was a bit tired and the shower took quite a while to warm up - not bad, but not a 5 star bathroom. We were also clearly underneath the kitchen vents as we regularly had the smell of food in our room.

When we arrived we immediately headed for the heated swimming pool on the 1st floor. Heated it was not. Freezing and completely unoccupied. The jacuzzi was the same - cold. We pointed this out to the girl on the Spa Desk, but she didn't really seem interested. When we asked about the Sauna and Steam Room she directed us to the back of the changing rooms. The Sauna was out of action, and the Steam Room, after she had switched on the very bright (not very relaxing) lights was not steamy at all. It also had a nasty smell of something not very savoury. Not a 5 star experience.

So, we were a bit disappointed with the hotel. Having read all the glowing reports we wondered if we were in the right hotel. It's fairly central (about a 5 minute walk through the 'colourful' bus station) and you need to be prepared to walk up a lot of steps!

All in all, a good hotel but certainly not a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveller2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We stayed here for one week on our honeymoon in July 2008. The welcome at reception was wonderful (towels and juice). The excellent hospitality continued all week with flowers in our room, sparkling rose wine and fruit and invitations to cocktail parties). The hotel was not quite finished but this did not take anything away from our stay.
The location is great. It's right on the water and down the hill from Valletta and the bus station. There are some great restaurants and bars in the hotel and in Valetta. Keep your eyes peeled in Valetta as the best places are not always easy to spot (down small alleyways) - Fusion Four has a great courtyard at the back and Trabuxu is a great place for wine and homemade food.
We had a great stay and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,243 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,760 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £75 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing