We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star wannabee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 star wannabee”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Good location close to Valetta center but for a 2 year old hotel it is shocking! Paint has come off, broken furniture, bizarre decorating etc. Our original room was very close to the parking and we upgraded to a suite which was great but once again not very well kept. Overall a good hotel but not 5 star and not good value for money.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paparisvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    1,301
    528
    155
    67
See reviews for
679
1,902
183
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay here in April was an excellent experience; the Hotel has very high standards of cleanliness, is set in an outstanding location, and has excellent staff, facilities and food. The themed food nights in the restaurant make a welcome change, and the standard of the food in both the restaurant and breakfast restaurant is excellent. The staff at the Hotel are outstanding in their quest to make your stay a memorable one and nothing is too much bother for them, they really do take customer relations very seriously, and they are very accomplished at it. It is worth mentioning that I found the food and drink prices in this five star Hotel to be extremely good value for money. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel to anyone who wants to experience true five star service and quality.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrian-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The hotel is quite new, and beautifully decorated and furnished. We had a bad night the first night as the reps were having their Christmas party in the function room opposite our room so when we complained they very apologetic and upgraded us.

Our original room was very nice and to a high standard but while it was supposed to be a sea view (the hotel is in a harbor so its actually a harbor view) it was opposite a function room and the sea was way off to our left.

The upgraded room was lovely, furnished to the same standard as our original room but very big with two comfortable arm chairs and the balcony was huge. This room was overlooking the town on the other side of the harbor and it was such a shame it was too cold to sit on the balcony long.

Valletta is built on a hill and the hotel is down the hill on the harbor wall. There are 80 or 90 steps up to the road from the hotel and a further hill or more steps up to the town so you need to be fit but the hotel has sashuttle which runs (I think) every hour for the faint hearted.

The hotel really is only 10 minute walk from the town and as you arrive you walk through the bus station. Malta has a really good bus service which covers the whole island very cheaply, although most of the buses look like they belong in a museum of transport. However, they are brightly painted and look well maintained so while the hotel is at one end of Malta you should be able to see the whole island really cheaply. We hired a car for 3 days which again was really cheap, but we could have seen the island without it.

Our holiday was really good value but it was out of season and I've no idea how much this hotel costs in season.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This hotel is so outstanding that i'm not sure my review will do it enough justice!
From the second we arrived we were welcomed with a drink and towel and the staff were all so friendly!
its so clean and well run it puts some hotels to shame!

Room was stunning! what a view
could have looked out all day and spent alot of time on the balcony!

the walk along the ramparts to valletta is beautiful!

food in hotel was amazing!
the buffets were incredible!

i LOVED this hotel and am already recommending it to all my friends!

Go and stay there! i urge you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The hotel works at all levels. It is clear that a considerable amount of time and effort is spent on recruitment, training and on-going management. The results are there for all to see.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I stayed in Grand Hotel Excelsior for one week. We enjoyed it from the first minute we walked in. Porter offered fresh drink, hot refreshing towel, took care about our luggage. Room was spacious, clean and had very comfortable furniture. We were very pleased with complimentary things we found there. We travel alot and have an expirence of staying in fine hotels, but this one is 5* and more .Location,service, food, ongoing activities, events (like life music every night, singers), everything is superb. I'd like to mention Guest Relations Agent Antoinette, she is very professional and lovely, lovely woman, she made us feel so welcome,gave us alot individual attention, it was above our expectations, she is highlight of our staying in the hotel. Thank you Antoinette it was pleasure to meet you, hope when you in New York, you'll call us. Tanya.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

As our trip to Malta was only going to be for 4 nights, we decided that Valletta was probably the best location for us. Having checked various websites the Excelsior Grand seemed the ideal hotel for us. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a drink and refreshing towel. The receptionists were very helpful and we were escorted to our large twin room which was amazing. We couldn't fault anything about our stay at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast with wonderful views overlooking the Harbour - we could have stayed there all day having a leisurely breakfast with an amazing choice of food. Again, the staff were efficient and helpful. As my friend and I have minor health problems, we took the courtesy car each morning to the centre of Valletta. Certainly, if we were a few years younger, we would have walked!! We were assisted in visits we wished to make to other parts of the island and the daily news sheet was great, particularly in giving us details of the weather. We would certainly return to this amazing hotel - we just need to save some Pounds!! It was a lovely experience to stay in such a warm, welcoming and efficiently run hotel where nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff who were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyAnnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing