We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view from balcony” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have had a memorable weeks stay at the Excelsior Grand. It was our first visit to Malta and our decision to stay in a good hotel away from the beach hotels was a good one. My only complaint was the noise from the air conditioning (even when turned off) was noisy and kept me awake for the first few nights. Otherwise good location for ferry or bus services across the island.Visit The British Hotel Valletta for a glorious view across to the Three Cities and take a Luzzo boat trip around the many harbours. We haggled on the price for the boat trip and got a good deal. All other fares were also cheap buses,ferry to Gozo etc. It was very HOT and each day got hotter so the pool was great to come back to. Would recommend this hotel and the area if you are looking for culture and interesting places to visit and to feel safe.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    1,198
    492
    140
    63
See reviews for
636
1,756
178
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Stayed at the hotel in May this year with an archaeological group visiting Malta. The staff of the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming and professional and ensured our stay was a comfortable and memorable experience, throughout. The rooms are luxurious, roomy and well appointed. The view of Valletta harbour was stunning. Excellent buffet at breakfast and dinner (didn't eat there during the day) with a wide selection of delicious local and international specialities. Free internet was a great extra as you don't always find this in a 5* hotel.. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect as it's a 10 minute walk into Valletta old town and about 5 minutes to the main bus station from where you can access most of the island. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool area which I unfortunately didn't have a chance to experience but other members of the group did and thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely look forward to the opportunity of staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepperako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a very nice hotel, a short (but steep) walk from the entrance to Valetta. Our basic room was nicely decorated and a decent size. It was too cool to swim outside, but the big pool is in a lovely quiet spot and must be great in summer. The gym equipment is in very good shape.

The breakfast was fine -- actually, good by Malta food standards (sorry, but Malta's not the place to go for great food). And we had salads one late evening which were fine too.

The staff overall is very friendly and helpful.

So why only 3 stars? When I asked the concierge to book a dinner for us one night at a Valetta restaurant listed in a guidebook, he said no, it's closed on Sundays. I noted in disappointment that my book had said it was open on Sundays, and could he give another recommendation in Valetta. He repeated that my suggested restaurant was closed, maintained that there was no place else in Valetta for dinner on Sunday, and said that the only choice was to take a taxi to St Julian or to eat in the hotel.

His tone was arrogant and didn't seem entirely honest, so I called the restaurant on my own. They were open, took my reservation and the dinner there was the best food we had in Malta.

I suppose I should give the concierge the benefit of the doubt, but his whole attitude and body language bespoke someone who was trying to take a tourist for a ride. And it was so different from the rest of the staff, who could not have been nicer. So I have to assume that this concierge was somehow getting a kickback from a restaurant in St Julian or from the drivers. It's a pity, because it reflects poorly on the management of the hotel that they would tolerate this.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed here in March 2009 for a week. Off season so the hotlel was perhaps only 1/3 full and the pool was closed (not quite the weather anyway). It's in a great location, about 3 minutes' walk from Valetta bus terminal (gateway to the rest of Malta) and a 5 minute walk from Valetta itself.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel and that was amazing, you can stoke up so well that you have no need for lunch. We did notice that the vegetarian options for dinner were non-existent, however.
Generally the service was good, although on a couple of occasions we didn't get our room cleaned and I had to go down to reception for dry towels. If you are looking for an hotel which is central, clean and functional, this would be it. If you are looking for quirky and some character then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent UK
Level Contributor
277 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

On arrival we were offered a refreshing drink and a cold towel which was very welcome. We changed rooms because the first one overlooked concrete by the harbour. The second room on the fifth floor was great. We had a full sea view and it's certainly worth the extra cost. You need to be as high up as possible as the views get better and better. The room was very quiet, clean and beautifully furnished and the maid service was excellent. Clean towels twice a day and a chocolate on the pillow in the evening.
The hotel is in a good position only 10 mins walk UP to the main Valletta gate and bus station. You can book a courtesy car on the hour to take you up the hill if you require it.
The breakfast was amazing. Anything, hot or cold you could wish for including a glass of bubbly to start the day!! Our only disappointment was the evening dining. There was only one restaurant open all the time we were there (the brochure said there were five). It's a huge buffet - themed on most nights - and we don't like buffets! There was a limited a la carte menu but we didn't fancy that and as we were so near Valletta we found some good restaurants outside the hotel. Don't miss 'Al Mare' down by the Sleima/Valletta ferry. It's a little gem and only 10 mins walk away.
All the staff at the hotel were very attentive and couldn't do enough to help. We would certainly return.
Watch out for the pavements - they are very uneven!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This hotel has a lot of things going for it: excellent location (beautiful Valletta is literally around the corner); comfortable, airy and spotless rooms with balcony and seaview; swimming pool and even a tiny beach. Intimate or cosy it ain't: this is a big hotel, always busy with conferences/conventions.....Since we've never dined in, we cannot judge the cuisne, but breakfast was, although varied, rather bland and uninspired. The only real 5star thing was the Chinese massage, given by a Chinese woman who used to work at the Radisson S tJulians; she's excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

We have had a wonderful vacation with our children. The hotel is very nice, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is very good!!
A place to go back Astrid Schalk - van Schayik

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Prestigia so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing