We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$463
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Coleridge(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,374)
Filter reviews
4,374 results
Traveller rating
2,042
1,468
614
169
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,042
1,468
614
169
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,055 - 3,060 of 4,374 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Lying just outside the city walls of Valletta, this new hotel has the most wonderful views across the bay from almost every room. The service was first class and the welcome very warm. Everything was spotlessly clean and the food was excellent, with a different nation's cuisine each night that we were there. The decor was not to our taste, but the friendliness and professionalism of the staff in all areas was exemplary.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have had a memorable weeks stay at the Excelsior Grand. It was our first visit to Malta and our decision to stay in a good hotel away from the beach hotels was a good one. My only complaint was the noise from the air conditioning (even when turned off) was noisy and kept me awake for the first few nights. Otherwise good location for ferry or bus services across the island.Visit The British Hotel Valletta for a glorious view across to the Three Cities and take a Luzzo boat trip around the many harbours. We haggled on the price for the boat trip and got a good deal. All other fares were also cheap buses,ferry to Gozo etc. It was very HOT and each day got hotter so the pool was great to come back to. Would recommend this hotel and the area if you are looking for culture and interesting places to visit and to feel safe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Stayed at the hotel in May this year with an archaeological group visiting Malta. The staff of the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming and professional and ensured our stay was a comfortable and memorable experience, throughout. The rooms are luxurious, roomy and well appointed. The view of Valletta harbour was stunning. Excellent buffet at breakfast and dinner (didn't eat there during the day) with a wide selection of delicious local and international specialities. Free internet was a great extra as you don't always find this in a 5* hotel.. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect as it's a 10 minute walk into Valletta old town and about 5 minutes to the main bus station from where you can access most of the island. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool area which I unfortunately didn't have a chance to experience but other members of the group did and thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely look forward to the opportunity of staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepperako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a very nice hotel, a short (but steep) walk from the entrance to Valetta. Our basic room was nicely decorated and a decent size. It was too cool to swim outside, but the big pool is in a lovely quiet spot and must be great in summer. The gym equipment is in very good shape.

The breakfast was fine -- actually, good by Malta food standards (sorry, but Malta's not the place to go for great food). And we had salads one late evening which were fine too.

The staff overall is very friendly and helpful.

So why only 3 stars? When I asked the concierge to book a dinner for us one night at a Valetta restaurant listed in a guidebook, he said no, it's closed on Sundays. I noted in disappointment that my book had said it was open on Sundays, and could he give another recommendation in Valetta. He repeated that my suggested restaurant was closed, maintained that there was no place else in Valetta for dinner on Sunday, and said that the only choice was to take a taxi to St Julian or to eat in the hotel.

His tone was arrogant and didn't seem entirely honest, so I called the restaurant on my own. They were open, took my reservation and the dinner there was the best food we had in Malta.

I suppose I should give the concierge the benefit of the doubt, but his whole attitude and body language bespoke someone who was trying to take a tourist for a ride. And it was so different from the rest of the staff, who could not have been nicer. So I have to assume that this concierge was somehow getting a kickback from a restaurant in St Julian or from the drivers. It's a pity, because it reflects poorly on the management of the hotel that they would tolerate this.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed here in March 2009 for a week. Off season so the hotlel was perhaps only 1/3 full and the pool was closed (not quite the weather anyway). It's in a great location, about 3 minutes' walk from Valetta bus terminal (gateway to the rest of Malta) and a 5 minute walk from Valetta itself.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel and that was amazing, you can stoke up so well that you have no need for lunch. We did notice that the vegetarian options for dinner were non-existent, however.
Generally the service was good, although on a couple of occasions we didn't get our room cleaned and I had to go down to reception for dry towels. If you are looking for an hotel which is central, clean and functional, this would be it. If you are looking for quirky and some character then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews