We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a 5 Star Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
St. Alabans,England
Level Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Truly a 5 Star Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The decor and statutes made this a really beautiful Hotel. Our room was very comfortable and had everything you would expect from a 5 star Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.
The food at the restaurant was excellent both in choice and quality and the staff were very friendly. I must say that the breakfasts were out of this world with all you could wish and with sparkling wine. In fact on first morning I was a Hobbit, having a deliful breakfast with my wife and a 2nd breakfast with my son. The view from the dining room was great with views over the harbour. Sunbathing by the pool was really enjoyable watching all the various types of boats going up and down the harbour. Huge Yaughts were moored accross the harbour. The only downside was I felt that the pool could have been a bit warmer. The Hotel was a short uphill walk to Valletta town centre the the Castle of the Knights of St. John and the Cathedral. The Taxi company at the Hotel were excellent with good drivers who were also excellent tour guides. As we like to try local Restaurants to gain the local flavour of food we were very disspointed with 2 Restaurants that had been recommended and at one was the worst meal we had ever been served in many years of travelling and on various continents. The food was so bad we could not eat it. We wondered why we bothered as the Excelsior offered great choice and served delicious food. I would highly recommend the Excelsior which made our stay in Malta a delightful experience despite 2 duff Local Restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,822
    1,272
    518
    149
    66
See reviews for
666
1,864
182
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This was our second stay at the Excelsior. The room was beautifully appointed. Last year we could not find the hair dryer, but we did this year! Again we ate in the restaurant in the evenings. I love the themed buffet evenings. It means you are not stuck with repetitive evening meals and there is a fantastic range of choice to suit all tastes. I am not sure if it is such a good idea to have a set of bathroom scales in the room! Both my husband and I weighed more at the end of the stay than at the beginning! The General Manager, Mr Grixti, has found himself a really good team of staff. it was nice to see a lot of key personnel still in place twelve months on - a sign of a happy environment. The staff are so helpful and their ready smiles and greetings add to the existing warm atmosphere. If you are looking for a top class hotel in which to recharge your battereries, maybe put on a few pounds and yet a stones' throw from the beautiful capital of Malta this hotel comes highly recommended. I have already suggested to my husband that we go again next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfordyplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I'm glad there's been a few more positive reviews of this hotel as I found it
excellent. The room was clean and quiet, the staff friendly and helpful, everything
worked, and the location was superb, with the city gate and bus stop 5 min walk
away.

There's all the facilities you'd expect as well. My only complaint would be high
prices in the bar, but that's pretty standard for hotels of this level.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We arrived after midnight and was given a cold towel and drink and a very quick check in by friendly staff which saw is in our room within about 15 mins.

The room was large, clean and comfortable with a nice view over the pool. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was plently of supplies in the bathroom.

The choice at breakfast was extensive and I think I managed to have something different every day including sparkiling wine! We only waited for a table once during our stay (about 5 mins).

Drinks at the hotel seemed a little expensive at 6.5 euro for a pint and half of local lager (cisk) but the pound was very weak when we travelled.

The location is excellent being just a short walk from the bus station and the centre of Valletta. It was ideal for looking around the island. There are the steps up to the bus stop but you will soon discover lots of steps if you are looking around Valletta anyway!

The pool area was large we always managed to get sun loungers and a table with parasol with no problems. We ate at the pool bar once which was fine. The view over the harbour from the pool is lovely. We had added entertainment on one day as they staged a couple of events from the worlds strongest man at the pool. They are big men, we got in the lift with three of them and only just fittted!!

We will return as there are still parts of Malta we want to see. We couldn't do all we wanted in a week. i would return to this hotel as I found it Clean Comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marycache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, Berkshire, England
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff and amenities. During our stay with our son we were made to feel very special indeed. The location was perfect for sightseeing and the view from our seaview room was really something. The room was cleaned everyday and we received fresh towels twice a day, which is a rare thing, I believe the cleaning staff are a credit to this hotel.

I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2009

From the minute I checked in this hotel, I received friendly and helpful service. The room was spacious spotless and had a grand view of the harbour. Nothing was too much trouble. The Dining Room was good with, again, friendly and efficient service. The messaging service was also highly efficient

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gridSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

When you see the hotel, you're like WOW! It looks amazing. But it really isn't.

If you want sickness and diarrhoea, eat in their restaurant. Great pink chicken.

If you want to be seen naked, just be in your room. The maids come into your room about 6 times a day. Whether you're there or not. And move your stuff. And throw your dirty clothes on top of your clean clothes.

Could barely get into the shower as the door opened into the sink. So had to squeeze into it - I weigh less than 8 stone. The shower was blocked on arrival so it flooded the whole bathroom - thus proving they hadn't cleaned it since the last guest left or they would have noticed the rising water levels.

On the plus side - fantastic pool area, great reception staff, free gym.

Do not eat or drink at the hotel. It is €4 for a small water. They cost 50cents everywhere else.

Total rip off. Oh, and if you have booked a room for yourself, you will have to pay a supplement for someone else in your room. Even though you already have the room. It makes no sense.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,177 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing