We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* hotel at 5* prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My husband and I booked to stay at the Excelsior Grand Hotel recently, admittedly with some reservations having read a number of unfavourable reviews on Trip Advisor.

We arrived at the hotel on Thursday around mid-day and were advised that our room was being cleaned and would be ready by 3pm at the latest. We left our bags with the concierge, and went off to lunch. On our return to the hotel around 3 pm we were surprised to find our bags lying unattended on a trolley beside the front door. We were advised that although our room had been cleaned it had not been inspected and we would have to wait until that was completed before we could enter our room. Finally around 3.30pm we were checked in and given our key.

What we had booked was a sea view room, what we were allocated was a room that looked directly onto the hotel , only once you were out on the balcony could you actually see the harbour. I asked at reception if we could change room and was advised that the only free room was a twin overlooking the service entry.

We decided to go down to the indoor pool for a swim but found that the water was freezing, certainly too cold to have an enjoyable swim. We spoke to the pool attendant who suggested it might be better the next day.

That night we turned on the air conditioning as the room was rather stuffy, however no cold air came out and we ended up sleeping with the door to the balcony open all night. We told reception about the air conditioning and were assured it would be fixed that day. On the Friday night again we turned on the air conditioning as the room was too hot and once again no cold air came out. We slept with the doors open for the remainder of our stay.

By this point we had noticed other issues with the room; broken furniture, dust everywhere (under the desk, on the waste basket in the bathroom) the toilet seat not being cleaned properly, mildew and lime scale in the shower, peeling paintwork on the balcony, used glasses being left in the room. The towels had seen better days and the toiletries were cheap. Elsewhere in the hotel there is evidence of this lack of proper cleaning/maintenance, for example the wall paper in the ladies toilets next to reception is stuck down with tape.

On Saturday we decided to use the hotel spa facilities and I booked a massage and a manicure for myself and my husband opted for a spa package. We were both very disappointed in the quality of our massages, and my manicure was so poor I had to return to the spa the following morning to have it redone. The “relaxation area” of the spa is certainly not of 5* standard. The furniture is no more than garden furniture and the sound of the water feature was drowned out by the noise of the water pump.

What was meant to be a relaxing holiday turned into one in which we were complaining on a daily basis about basic aspects of the hotel, which ruined our holiday completely. We paid 5* prices for our stay and expected 5* service, what we received was more akin to a 3* hotel with highly inflated prices.

When I contacted the General Manager to complain he did offer us a complimentary stay at the hotel which we will not be taking up

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,751 - 2,757 of 4,230 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

We had a couple of nights here during a longer stay in Malta. We have been to Malta many times and stayed in quite a few hotels - but this one is certainly the best. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready so we were taken to the bar area and offered a complementary soft drink while we waited. A lovely pool area with sea access from a small beach area. The large indoor pool and gym area are excellent. The short walk to town is up a fairly steep hill - but I understand that a car is available to take visitors up to town if required.

Breakfast - excellent!! We intended walking into town for food but decided instead to eat in the hotel both evenings, buffet style food with lots of choice. There is a different themed menu each night with something for all tastes. Prices reasonable.

Will certainly go back next September as part of our annual trip to this lovely island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexTeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The location is really convenient as it's just outside Valletta's walls. The Hotel itself is nice. The style is a bit old fashioned and quite dark but tasty and elegant although a prefer modern decor. The pool area was fine but the beach area is tiny and the sunbeds are all taken. The sea is warm but beware the jellyfish. I was there part of a group for a 5 day event and all the customers (I was the organiser) were satisfied. The food was nice, too although a bit repetitive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

If you want to stay in Valletta rather than the standard holiday resort hotels, this is a good choice BUT:
- (going in November admittedly) no service by the pool
- air con not working (baking hot room overnight)
- haphazard service (will we get the complementary water or not?; what selection of towels will we get?)
- as noted by a previous reviewer breakfast is poor value (19 Euros each - in our view just not worth it)
- be aware that the hotel is on a hillside - it is a stiff upward walk to the city (but only 6-7 minutes if you are reasonably fit)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertUK044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Initially excellent welcome from portering staff. Disliked abrupt attitude of reception staff when booking in to the hotel, Made to feel that we were under suspicion of running up a bill and not paying it by demanding a credit card number before we had even been shown to our room. There is a way of speaking to people without being officious.

I have a diet probelm and after it was explained to the restaurant staff, they were extremely understanding and helpful. In particular the restaurant manager Michael and the chefs who were always happy to cook a meal which met my specific requirements.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion123416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel for ten days after I was in Spain for a week and I was impressed. This hotel was close to the city walls and even closer when we discovered a shortcut. It had a little man made beach with ocean access so you could swim. It also had 2 nice pools: 1 indoor and 1 outdoor. The buffets were simply awesome. We went to the Maltese traditional food one and the Asian one and the Medditeranian one. These beffets were pretty expensive though. You could also go into town for a good meal. The gym was very nice and despite all of the buffets I actually lost weight on their nice machines. Another little thing that was very nice was that they had converters for plugs.
There were some neatives however. First, it was expensive. Second, the wifi internet access wasn't good enough to be used in many of the rooms. You had to use it in the lobby which is not convienient if you want to use skype. Third , and this was my biggest issue, was that they had our room ready at 4:30 when it was supposed to be ready at noon. We came in on an early flight and were told our room would be ready at noon. We waited in the lobby til noon and our room wasn't ready. They told us that it would be ready at one and then at two and then at three and so on. That was pretty annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Great location, public areas, pool etc excellent, staff try very hard to please but some detail makes it fall short of 5 star standard. While carpeting bedrooms can give a luxury feel, it is spoiled if the carpets are stained !! Spoke to staff and was offered two other rooms all of which had rather grubby carpets. Give hotel its due two days later we were offered upgrade to Sea front room which was very nice and had a cleaner carpet.. One othe r small issue was that on a couple of occasions the Spice restuarent used for breakfast still smelled of the previous nights curry, I like curry but not for breakfast. Didnt eat in apart from breakfast which was excellent.
Short cut up steps to bus station is good but either the hotel or local council should pay some unemployed people to clean it up.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing