We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alex Under Water
Castle Forbes Bay, Australia

Not up to 'Small Luxery Hotels of the World' standards

Review of Casa Ellul
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2022
I decided to wait a while before writing this review to ensure it was NOT an emotional reaction. We stayed 10 - days at this hotel and found out afterwards that guest usually don't stay that long. We can see why that might mean some of the services simply were not up to standard expected from an SLH hotel. We have stayed at hotels from this group around the world and have never been disappointed with the offerings however this one should not be in this league. Our visit started off on the wrong footing probably as the sewage line had been broken and the smell (you can imagine in a 30+ degrees environment) not great for the first couple of days. We tried for 10 days to get the internet and TV to work in our room without success. many of the little things are just not dealt with (see picture of the wall behind the check in counter) which lets this facility down. The last night of our stay the two other rooms on our level decided to have a hot tub party. The four young guest made sleeping the last night not possible and since we had a very early flight back to Amsterdam, we also left unhappy. On the bright side, the staff were delightful, room service great BUT.. just not in the league we expected.
Date of stay: August 2022
Room Tip: Not near the hot tub on the top floor; prone to parties
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £166
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £142
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
£170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £577
  • Expedia.com
    £762
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £228
  • Expedia.com
    £255
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
£189
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £169
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Expedia.com
    £177
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Spa
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £171
  • Expedia.com
    £200
0.1 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Valletta
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
731
92
22
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
731
92
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel recommend casa hot tub alfredo eggs benedict bottle of prosecco manoel theatre capital city private terrace breakfast was delicious a lovely stay spacious room top floor weekend break the location is perfect four nights old building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2022

We enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at Casa Ellul last week when we came to Malta for a wedding which coincided with our own anniversary. Our first visit to the island and we were so happy with our choice of hotel. We stayed in room 7, with a luxurious roof terrace and hot tub. The staff were excellent - friendly and efficient. Delicious breakfast served in the dining room where we also enjoyed with friends a dinner worthy of a Michelin star in the newly opened restaurant Risette. Highly recommended and we would love to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank I1543BUsarahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear,
First of all many thanks for coming and staying with us at Casa Ellul, during such an important event for you and your partner.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really look forward to having you there as our guest.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

Fantastic boutique hotel. We had a very comfortable four night stay in a light and spacious room. Staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and enthusiastic - we felt very well looked after! Breakfast was prepared with care and very tasty, from a limited but sufficient menu, and it was very nice to come back each evening to home made chocolate treats!

Room tip: The hotel is in the old part of Valletta, I wouldn’t recommend trying to park. Bus station 10 mins walk & staff arranged taxi to airport.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lesleyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2022

Dear,
Thank you for your good review!
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and liked our Suite
You have perfectly described many aspects of the hotel so what we can do is thank you again and hope to welcome you again as soon as possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

First time to Malta, an unscheduled stop over however turned out to be a highlight of our trip thanks to the amazing, kind and friendly staff. When we were shown our room… Oh boy it did not disappoint!! Both staff, hotel and location brilliant and I would highly highly recommend to anyone looking for a gorgeous well located hotel with the added bonus of fabulous staff.

Room tip: Suite 2, the biggest bathroom I have ever seen. The bed was so comfortable as well.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karencU4429RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Karen,
Many thanks for your kind review.
Is thanks to guests like you and your message, that we are so proud of our Hotel.
We really look forward to having you again as our guest at Casa Ellul.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2022

Great location, very nice room and excellent service. We stayed in suit number 7 overlooking the harbour and the dome oposite, trully amazing experience!The hot tub was great.
I will definitely be visting again as everything was top notch.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Iliyan9iliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2022

Dear,
Many thanks for spending your own time and writing this kind review.
We are glad that everything was ok during your stay at Casa Ellul.
We look forward to welcome you again,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

We spent a week at this fantastic property in the heart of Valletta and we could not ask for more
The staff is lovely and always ready to help, we stayed in the suite with jacuzzi on the top floor and the view is spectacular
In the evening you can enjoy a beautiful sunset and when it gets dark, the church comes to life and is simply stunning
An outstanding breakfast served in a lovely atmosphere
Well done Casa Elul

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mattia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2022

Dear,
We are glad to read your kind review, regarding the Hotel, your Suite and specially the staff.
Once again, many thanks for coming to stay at Casa Ellul.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews