We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£225
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
World traveler
Hartford, Connecticut

Charming gem in Valletta

Review of Casa Ellul
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2022via mobile
This is a 300 year old building with a lot of character which has been renovated.
We had 3 rooms and each of them was tastefully remodeled with a lot of character reminiscent of maltese architecture.
Our room had a view and it was a delight to have a morning coffee on the balcony.
This boutique hotel is centrally located and we were able to go on foot everywhere.
We always managed to park our rental car in the street for free.
Everyone was very friendly and I specially want to thank Alfredo for his unlimited kindness and positive attitude.
I was impressed by the service as they came twice to the room and brought a chocolate every night which is something that you can only find in a 5 star hotel.
We had dinner in their restaurant (see other review) and it was fantastic.
Breakfast was reasonable and would have liked a local taste but definitely not a big issue.
We will definitely come back if back in Valletta.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this review
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Dear,
Thank you for your good review and your amazing 10!
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and liked your suite, the staff, and the restaurant.
You have perfectly described all aspects of the hotel so what we can do is thank you again and hope to welcome you again as soon as possible!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£236
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £236
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£215
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £215
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£171
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£158
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £158
0.2 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Spa
Tripadvisor
£724
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £771
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £173
  • Expedia.com
    £188
0.1 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £187
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £128
  • Expedia.com
    £142
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £154
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £163
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Casa Ellul
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Valletta
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
731
92
21
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
731
92
21
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel recommend casa hot tub alfredo eggs benedict bottle of prosecco manoel theatre capital city private terrace breakfast was delicious a lovely stay spacious room top floor weekend break the location is perfect four nights old building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

This boutique hotel is a master piece of how heritage building should be restored with modern amenities.

The location is excellent in the old Valletta city in a quite street overlooking a wonderful church.

The staff is very friendly and service is excellent , the breakfast is made of fresh products including home made bread and pastries.

Room tip: Book the suite with the balcony overlooking the church.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank paolab109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2022

Dear Iva,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
We are so pleased to hear of your satisfying stay with us and of your appreciation for our superb location, the facility, above-and-beyond staff and delectable breakfast spread.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

Lovely historic hotel in an excellent location. Very walkable. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend to friends. Delicious chocolate left each evening with turndown service

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marykatem987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2022

Dear,
Reading your kind email make us so much happy, and proud of our job, and motivate us to keep working as we do.
We really look forward to having you as our guest at Casa Ellul.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2022

Had a lovely stay at Casa Ellul, we stayed for a couple of day at this hotel and we really enjoyed it. The room was really comfortable especially the bed and the soft linin. Service was great and always with a smile.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rodrickv714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear,
We appreciate your kind email, and we are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again at Casa Ellul soon,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2022

I decided to wait a while before writing this review to ensure it was NOT an emotional reaction. We stayed 10 - days at this hotel and found out afterwards that guest usually don't stay that long. We can see why that might mean some of the services simply were not up to standard expected from an SLH hotel. We have stayed at hotels from this group around the world and have never been disappointed with the offerings however this one should not be in this league. Our visit started off on the wrong footing probably as the sewage line had been broken and the smell (you can imagine in a 30+ degrees environment) not great for the first couple of days. We tried for 10 days to get the internet and TV to work in our room without success. many of the little things are just not dealt with (see picture of the wall behind the check in counter) which lets this facility down. The last night of our stay the two other rooms on our level decided to have a hot tub party. The four young guest made sleeping the last night not possible and since we had a very early flight back to Amsterdam, we also left unhappy. On the bright side, the staff were delightful, room service great BUT.. just not in the league we expected.

Room tip: Not near the hot tub on the top floor; prone to parties
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Alex024978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

We enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at Casa Ellul last week when we came to Malta for a wedding which coincided with our own anniversary. Our first visit to the island and we were so happy with our choice of hotel. We stayed in room 7, with a luxurious roof terrace and hot tub. The staff were excellent - friendly and efficient. Delicious breakfast served in the dining room where we also enjoyed with friends a dinner worthy of a Michelin star in the newly opened restaurant Risette. Highly recommended and we would love to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank I1543BUsarahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casa Ellul, Owner at Casa Ellul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear,
First of all many thanks for coming and staying with us at Casa Ellul, during such an important event for you and your partner.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really look forward to having you there as our guest.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews