We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An expression of the finest cuisine!”
Review of Aziamendi 100 - CLOSED

Aziamendi 100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An expression of the finest cuisine!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I read about this unique event that was coming to Malta and wouldn't miss this opportunity!
Aziamendi's Michelin Star chef Eneko Atxa brings a culinary journey to Malta! And this at reasonable prices compared to other Michelin star venues. This restaurant is located in the heart of Valletta in the Civil Service Sports Club an old traditional charming building, overlooking the Grandmasters Palace and St George's Square. We first had our aperitif on the top floor terrace which is definitely worth going for just before sunset. It opens your appetite when you what you can expect one floor below! We went for the gastronomic experience with the pairing wines and this was for us the start of a Culinary RollerCoaster. The food, we don't know what to say but this was as close as perfection can come if you're talking about food. An explosion of tastes, silkeness and a presentation of each course where there are no words to describe what you see and what you get! We loved everything from the beginning till the last part. The final touch was of course the dessert with a touch of frost with roses, a unique experience!
The staff comes from the Aziamendi in Phuket and they are all very attentive. One sommelier was originally from France and it was such a pleasure to listen to him while he was explaining the pairing wines with each course.
We like to thank the whole team for preparing such amazing dishes as they appear to be almost paintings when they are served at your table, almost to nice to start to eat but finally with such an array of tastes that it is hard not to ask for more!
Finally we would like to thank the General Manager Mr. Davarkia who ordered a taxi for us as of course there were no busses anymore after 11PM to bring us back to our hotel!
We hope that Aziamendi will come back to Malta next year as we want to come back to this heavenly retreat of culinary expressions. Hope to be one day in Aziamendi Phuket to explore new culinary destinations. Kop Khun Krub!
Regards from Belgium - Peter -

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SlabbyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“For Malta this is As Good as Food Gets”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Granted that this is to my knowledge the first time a Michelin starred chef brought his skills to Malta, but there was no disappointment in this outing. My wife and I went for our anniversary and had some slight trepidation about it when the waiters initially got our aperitif order wrong, and the air-conditioning on the high-vaulted ceiling was foiled by a net below. It lasted until the first bite of the amuse-bouches...the combinations are delightful. We had the extended menu, and would probably have been satisfied with the 6 course gastronomic alone, paired with the world wines. The tuna two ways and the foie gras ashes paired with a moscato d'asti topped my preference. The dessert was perhaps the least special part, but a creative touch with (fake) roses topped with an essence that produced billowing white smoke made up for that in dramatic flourish. It's worth the price-tag and the visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service. Pity about the grumpy people on the next table.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant twice already and will be going back. The food was of a very high quality and different to any other restaurant in Malta. There is a decent wine list as well and the second time we tried the matching wines under the 'Ultimate Experience' which was worth it.

The staff are very professional, friendly and attentive. Being a pop-up restaurant it means that the decor is a bit limited but the building itself is great. The atmosphere was a bit stilted but the restaurant wasn't full and I'm sure things will flow more as time goes on.

On our first experience we had a table of six and were having a great night. Unfortunately there was a table next to us who would have preferred everyone ate in silence and were outraged that we dared laugh. We were first asked to "shut up" by a very rude lady but then her husband asked nicely as he'd noticed how rude his wife had been and we were happy to lower the tone. If you don't get any killjoys like them then you should have a great night.

Overall a great experience and I highly recommend trying it while you still can. Hopefully they decided to open a restaurant in Malta permanently.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Austese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something different in Malta!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

So happy to visit Aziamendi100 in Valletta. Have eaten the wonderful Gastronomic menu as well as sampled the Oysters and other delightful fish creations downstairs. Wonderful food experience. The roof top cocktails are a must - well done Albert!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening out”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to Aziamendi 100 for dinner last night. Wow! The food was amazing, the service was second to none. We've eaten at many top restaurants around the world but this is up there with the very vey best. We went for the 9 courses and every one was amazing. One of the waitresses asked if we were there for a special occasion. My husband explained he'd brought me for my birthday. The waitress said 'i'll see what the chef can do'. 15 minutes later I was presented with an amazing chocolate fondant pudding and sorbet which was off menu. Special end to a fantastic meal! We followed the meal with a drink up on the roof. A perfect finish to a perfect evening. We will definitely be back if they do manage to get a permanent restaurant in Malta. Highly highly recommend. Be prepared to pay. The meal was expensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aziamendi 100 also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing