We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promised so much, but only average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malata Restaurant

Malata Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 227 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Malata, historic restaurant in Valletta, serves delicious Mediterranean cuisine prepared by our young chef. A classic is our "Cipollazza stew" or the scorpion fish cooked stew with capers and tomatoes. One-time atmosphere, with a youthful and gritty staff. A dynamic menu and true southern hospitality.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Promised so much, but only average”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This restaurant is in a lovely situation in the middle of Valletta, and the menu looked good. The staff were a little straight faced and whilst they were not rude, a smile at the start would have helped. As time went on they improved!
The food was o.k, nicely presented, but didn't inspire. Cost was as expected, and as a busy restaurant, maybe that was the problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank r_hgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    154
    48
    39
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Classy!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Perfectly positioned in the main square opposite the Palace. Excellent food and wine. Our Monkfish deserves special mention. The prices reflects the quality but is not unreasonable. Classy restaurant with classy food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit disappointing!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Came here with my husband, first course was nothing special but okay. Second course, steak was extremely thin for 24 euros. Vegetables consisted of only carrots and some tiny bit of spinach. We left the restaurant feeling very hungry. The food was rushed and served in a hurry.
In my opinion I would not re commend this restaurant. Was highly disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Our visit this year did not come to the same high standard as last year. Starters of scallops whilst tasty expensive, slow roast lamb and the monkfish with vegetables both good.
Problem came with the bill, we had a voucher for a free bottle of wine and had a lovely bottle of Rose, initial bill charged for the wine which was then corrected.
Setting whilst good joy of watching fountains in the square and soldiers out side palace no longer there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Ate a fantastic plate of pasta at Malata. Service was attentive and accommodating as we had the little one with us. Great views of the piazza.

Helpful?
Thank DSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malata Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing