We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great views”
Review of Giannini

Giannini
Ranked #38 of 236 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$81
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Giannini a family run business since 1988 is an excellent place to have lunch or dinner when visiting Valletta. The restaurant is situated above St. Michael's bastions with vast views of Manoel Island and the pretty Marsamxetto Harbour. The third floor of a typical Malta townhouse, reached by lift from the ground floor lounge bar, has been converted into a delightful restaurant. Giannini tends to be popular with locals for business lunches and romantic dinners giving it a casual but discreet atmosphere.The cuisine is a delicious blend of Mediterranean food. Fresh fish is available daily (ask the host) and you should also consider the daily specials such as the pastas scribbled on the board. The a la carte menu changes according to season with the current options for starters including carpaccio of octopus, risottos and fresh seashells amongst others. Mains include roasted lamb, local rabbit, pan seared duck breast and daily fresh fish and fresh angus beef. The a-la-carte menu is attached next to Giannini's contact details above. A rather comprehensive wine list is also available to complement the meal.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food great views”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Malta so we wanted something special - this was a good choice. A table on the balcony , great views and a cool breeze to cool you down. The food is a bit more expensive than other places we had been to but it was worthwhile. Mains around mid 20 euro and entrees about 12 euro - but the food is very good. The service was attentive and professional. These was a mix up in our order but it was rectified quickly and without fuss

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    74
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food selection, nice ambiance, excellent service”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Being in the capital city of Valletta, one would think that it will be difficult to get to, but in reality parking was quite easy. Right in from of the restaurant.
Being mid-week lunch, we got all the attention we could possibly get.
Food was good, served in good time. Excellent fish that was cooked to perfection.
Nice wine selection that matched perfectly with the food.

The only negative comments we have are that the roast potato was overcooked and the asparagus were not fresh, (probably frozen).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illetrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views - Poor Value For Money”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited a few restaurants in Valletta before we booked a table Saturday night, We read booking was essential especially if you wanted a table on the terrace, the restaurant views were beautiful across the harbo and we looked forward to the evening. However the restaurant was far from full and lacked atmosphere. We were told the fresh fish menu consisted of various fish one being
Lobster, shared would be 45 euros so we decided to go for that option. We ordered soup and Scallops for starters which were both tasteless. The Lobster was tasteless tough and chewy, 1/2 Lobster per person served on a white plate no garnish, A small bowl of vegetables and potatoes were placed on the table again in need of seasoning but edible.We ordered a desert only because we were still hungry ( Average). When the bill came we were shocked to see the Lobster was 45 euros per half portion so cost 90 euros, overall the meal cost us 156 euros. We were very disappointed with the meal and told the waiter we were not paying any tips because of this. The waiter did not respond at all only looked through us, no further member of staff approached us or apologized only stood looking at us and assisted us to the lift and out of the building without another word. We found Valletta to have other lovely restaurants with friendly service, excellent food- good value under 100 euros. Shop around and check menu prices before ordering your food. Deflated diners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Smart Restaurant in a quirky location”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very smart place on the top floor of a traditional Maltese house. You will be welcomed and transported in a little lift up to your table (booking advised). The food is top quality and well executed. There is a pride in the staff that is well justified. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOnlyMrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and we really enjoyed our meal there, The views from the restaurant are really good, although they didn't give us a window table because they said the table for 4 in the window was booked. However, nobody sat at it the whole time we were in there. That aside, the quality of the food was very high and there was plenty of it. I couldn't eat all mine and would suggest that you really don't need a starter and main course. It was pretty expensive but we enjoyed it and the view is spectacular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whynotgoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giannini also viewed

 
Pieta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Giannini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing