We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel, accommodating and good value for money considering location”
Review of Bladypi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bladypi Hostel
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here with my friend 15-25 August 2011. Paid 400kr each per night equating to 8000kr by the end of our stay (around £900-1000 GBP depending on exchange rate swings). Arrived around 6pm on the Monday and no one was in Reception but easily contacted through the free phone number in the nearby phone box just by the Kitchen area. Found our keys in the safe and went up to the room. Very nice room although basic with 2 clean beds and a television (only 3 channels but the Danish sport channel was great showing premiership football!). We had a shower/bathroom which was also clean and the shower was quite powerful. Breakfast spot on and guest kitchen facilities were more than adequate. No clean towels/linen throughout stay but that wasn't a major issue. Over all I'd say very good price for the Faroe Islands as it is an expensive place (approx 2.5 times more expensive than UK) at approx £45-55 each per night with the breakfast. Staff very friendly/helpful. Definately reccommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

It was hard to find anyone at the reception even though it was open. Clean and tidy rooms, nice breakfast, but a bit late (from 0800). Good kitchenfasilities. Quiet and very cloce to everything in Torshavn. A bit expencive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninnicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Bladypi Hostel located in a apartment house in the middle of Torshavn. The building is very conveniently located, close to all of the small capital’s attractions. The rooms are equipped with basic furniture only, but they are clean and tidy. The breakfast included in the price is more than satisfactory. To summarize, the hostel is a very good proposition for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajteks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Firstly, can I say I had a similar experience with the keys as another review and what they say is accurate to a point - The keys are for EMPTY rooms. My key was clearly labled as mine and the others showed that they were not ready for collection. Whereas a previous reviewer condemned this, I felt this was an extremely good system in a city where the crime level is all but zilch. I felt this was positive about the level of trust and faith the Faroese people have in themselves and others and I think this spirit can only be commended.

Can I just comment that the Hostel only makes up a third of the accommodation - there are 3 different types supplied.

In general this is an okay place in a very good location. It's also a good place to meet other tourists doing the same kind of thing as you and getting to socialise and know the lay of the land.

My only comment would be that regardless of accommodation type opted for everyone is treated to the minimum of service. Things that you would expect in a hotel or guesthouse do not happen. It's simple things like making the beds and changing the towels that we expect when we stay in a b&b, hotel or guesthouse didn't happen. This is fine for hosteling, which I think the company has got down to a fine art.

You have to put this into context - yes, we paid the equivalent of £100 sterling per night, but prices in the faroes are 2 1/2 times what they are in the UK for everything. So what would I expect in the UK for £40 per night. The answer is not much more than I got really.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

very good and simple hotel, It was close to city center (shopping street) busstation and ferry habour , We could also walk to swimming pool 10 minutes up hill

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgNL_Alkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

On arrival we found that the reception was closed, (half and hour earlier than advised on the notice on the door), so we had to go into the phone booth near the breakfast room, call a phone number and get a code to open the small safe situated under the phone, which not only contained our room key, but many others. It was like something out of a spy novel.
After struggling up a very steep set of stairs with our luggage, and having booked a double room with private facilities, we were surprised to find we had a room with 3 single beds and a hand wash basin in it. As well, there was also a small table, two chairs and a small cupboard. The toilet and bathroom (also with toilet) were down the hall. On a couple of occasions the bathrooms were both engaged, so I don't think the proportion of bathrooms to rooms was that good. Only other problem was that the walls are thin and we could hear the guy talking loudly on his mobile phone from the room next door and the banging of room doors when people were leaving their rooms.
Breakfast was plentiful with a classic Faroese feel to it, with the added bonus of a bars of chocolate!! Staff seemed a bit indifferent to their clients. We had a hire car and were able to park it easily in the same street, from early evening until 9am. Look out for the NO STANDING signs though. The hostel is reasonably central, so it is easy to walk to the attractions, tourist info, free waterfront parking and to get something to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank BartVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
158 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Giljanes Hostel & Campsite
#1 of 2 in Sandavagur
2 reviews
0 mi away
Guesthouse Hugo
Guesthouse Hugo
#1 of 2 in Sorvagur
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bladypi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bladypi Hostel

Address: Dr. Jakobsensgota, 14-16, Torshavn, Streymoy, Faroe Islands
Region: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Torshavn
Price Range: £84 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bladypi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bladypi Hostel Faroe Islands/Torshavn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing