We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Thorshavn”
Review of Hotel Hafnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hafnia
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is located not too far from the bus station, where we have to drag our luggages uphill (yes it is, but nearby to catch an early bus to the airport).

The room is ok, spacious, clean but the bathroom could be improved since the size is small and having a shower could be a challenge.
Other than that, we enjoy staying in this hotel, the people are nice.
The bed is big and cozy, we sleep well for a few nights here.
Breakfast is ok nothing much.

We have a room just oppositve Etika sushi place and it is recommended to try it!

The location is great for Torshavn since it is downtown and very near to major locations.
All in all, this is the best hotel to stay after we look around town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les_canadiens_jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our prime location in the heart of Tórshavn. Our comprehensive breakfast buffet caters for every morning taste, from fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and muesli to a selection of cheese and cold meats, freshly baked bread, home made, jams, pancakes and syrup, bacon and scrambled or boiled eggs, coffee and a selection of teas for all tastes, however we will always listen if there are special requirements outside of the above. We look forward to being your Hotel of choice during your next visit to the Faroe Islands,,,Takk Fyri! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Do eat here if you have a chance. The food was wonderful, though my husband was not impressed by all the flavored foams. I thought it was well presented, creative and delicious. Recommended. The local friends we shared a meal with here were sort of lukewarm about eating here. Aarstova was their first choice, but we could not get a reservation there.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here. This review is for the restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review of Restaurant Hafnia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the quality and presentation of our food. I do hope that your friends were impressed also and that possibly they have moved from luke warm to heart warming and will make Restaurant Hafnia their first choice in future. We look forward to welcoming you back to eat during your next visit to the Faroe Islands,,,Takk Fyri! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights from the end of April through early May. Honestly - I was wondering which to choose for Torshavn accommodation: a great view from Hotel Foroyar or the convenience of city central location and I decided to choose the convenience. Which worked very nice for me. From Hotel Hafnia you can access a lot of services by short walk - bus/ferry terminal, tourist information, nearest city bus stop, and Etika the sushi restaurant located right in front of the hotel!
Hotel staff are kind and helpful. Breakfast is in a typical Scandinavian style and I enjoyed it very much as always. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meguzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you decided to take full advantage of our location right in the heart of Tórshavn. We are also pleased to note that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that our staff were helpful. We work hard to try and recreate a "home from home" experience. We sincerely hope that you will choose Hotel Hafnia as your base during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Was here for business, and it did a very good job at hosting.

Very friendly and reliable service. Staff were chatty and friendly.

Room was very small, bed not the most comfy and the toilet bowl gurgled and ran all night (which was annoying).

Large breakfast selection and evening meal was very good.
Free wifi was very strong and completely open.

I never like hotels were keys have to be left when popping out, may be for security, but feel like I'm being monitored.

Views were beautiful of all around

Not luxurious, but did the job. A functional, working hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleeet_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you found the staff and service provided to be friendly and reliable, we go out of our way to create a "home from home" feeling for all of our guests.We are also pleased to note that you were able to take advantage of our extensive breakfast buffet and dinner in our in house restaurant. Our wi-fi has been updated and improved recently and it is good to see that this is a benefit. We have a wide range of room choice and our 24/7 reception staff are always happy to facilitate a move if your room is not sufficient for your needs. They can also arrange for our in house maintenance staff to tackle any equipment failures quickly, once notified. Finally we are glad that you were able to soak in the beautiful sights all around us and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the Faroe Islands - Takk Fyri :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on business. I got a single room which was extremely small, especially the bathroom. The bed was very soft sort of 'sinky'. Returned 3 days ago and still suffering from backache.
The bathroom is even worse. The shower, tap and toilet just separate with a small curtain. It's impossible to have a shower without making a flood in the bathroom and every time you have to clean up afterwards. Stayed on the 2nd floor where there was no underground heating in the bathroom although others reported it from higher floors.
The location of the hotel is perfect, just few steps away from the old town of Tórshavn.
The breakfast offers a wide range of food and drinks of good quality.
Comparing to Faroese prices the hotel offers buffet lunch for 138,- which is also very very good and reasonable.
From the panorama terrace you have a great view of the city centre.
Wifi is excellent, even viber calls are clear and good.
Basically would be a great hotel but the room size and the sleeping quality destroys it all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisztina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of the location of the hotel in the heart of Tórshavn and enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, including the buffet in Restaurant Hafnia. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the room. Had you made us aware of your dissatisfaction, we would have tried to rectify any problem, but I have no record of any complaint. The hotel has standard single occupancy rooms, double rooms, double twin rooms, queen size rooms, de-luxe rooms and a fully furnished suite so we can cater for all requirements. We are always available and approachable to attend to any problems with sleeping requirements 24/7 and always ready to be flexible and accommodating to any problems. We very much look forward to being given the opportunity welcome you back to Hafnia during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Only stayed one night but the service was great, they had under-floor heating in the bathroom and good quality wifi in the room itself. The people on reception were very friendly. Also there is a fantastic restaurant located very close by called Arastova – two minutes walk. Overall I was very pleased.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that, even though you were only able to stay for one night, you had a pleasant experience with us. It is pleasing also that you were able to take advantage of our location in the heart of Tórshavn and discover some of the local delights. Most importantly however, no cold feet in the bathroom :-) We very much look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands..Takk Fyri! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We loved our 7 nights at the Hotel Hafnia. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and not all put out that 2 Australians could speak English only. The room was comfortable and very clean, although the curtain arrangement in the shower took a bit of time to get used to. The hotel's position is excellent, easy walking distance to everywhere in Torshavn. The food in both the restaurant and the cafe was delicious and beautifully presented. This hotel is a wonderful introduction to the fascinating Faroe Islands. Even though we arrived out of season in October, moving around was easy and the scenery is majestic. I think the tourist season could easily be extended. Above all, the Faroese people are charming, friendly and enjoy a joke. More Australians should visit the Faroes. I would go back to Hotel Hafnia in a hearbeat

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us during your time in the Faroe Islands and that you have chosen to share your thoughts on this site.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to our islands..Takk Fyri! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
124 reviews
1 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
28 reviews
13 mi away
Hotel Skalavik
Hotel Skalavik
#1 of 1 in Sandoy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnia

Address: Aarvegur 4-10 | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Region: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range: £127 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tórshavn, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hafnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafnia Hotel tórshavn
Hotel Hafnia Faroe Islands/Torshavn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing