We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This looks like a hotel but is more like a guest house. Rooms are made up upon request as well as asking for clean towels. But it is clean, very lose to downtown, free parking in front of the hotel, great breakfast, friendly helpful staff and a good value in a very expensive town. When we return we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    61
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
50
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved this hotel. It is a no-frills hotel, as others note, but it has not skimped on any of the essentials for a comfortable stay. It had a great shower and the washrooms have heated floors. The morning buffet breakfast was excellent and full of variety. The staff were really awesome - friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty. We also took advantage of the car rental and it was so easy and convenient. The walls are thin - that's the only issue - and if you are a sensitive sleeper, you can hear cars passing on the street side rooms (especially if it is wet outside). We could hear a child running around above us on our first night, but fortunately that family left. Other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uist
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We live in the Outer Hebrides and decided to visit another beautiful island group for our recent holiday. We are so glad that we chose to visit Hotel Streym as it was perfect for our purpose. It is a no-frills hotel, but the service we received there would put many posh hotels to shame. We received a warm welcome on arrival and all staff were most helpful throughout our stay. The bedrooms were warm and were spotlessly clean. A good buffet breakfast was provided each morning and tea/coffee-making facilities were available throughout the day. We hired a car from the hotel and were glad we did as it saved hassling about with car-hire companies. God willing, we hope to return to the Faroes one day - and if we do we know where we'll be staying: Hotel Streym!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeigiTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Afer our flight back to Inverness was cancelled 2 days in a row, we were put up here by the airline.The room was very clean,beds were very comfy(room was a little small)but ideal for what we needed, and the staff were SO helpful and nice, looking up airport info for us and keeping us informed and as our flight wasnt going out til that night and checkout was 11am, there was a big room with computer,couches, tea,coffe,fruit etc that we all had access to as they understood the problem. They were great ! The location is also very central for the town of Torshavn and an ideal base.

Room Tip: no bar facilities in the hotel so if you like a drink at night you'll have to BYO (bring your ow...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LynnB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Nice hotel on the main road into Torshavn so very easy to find. Within easy walking distance of centre of town. Good buffet breakfast. Kettle available so you were able to fill up a flask & tea & coffee feely available in reception all day. Free wifi throughout the hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a nice time at the Hotel Streym. A modest hotel with comfortable, very clean but basically equipped rooms. It is well located within easy walking distance of Torshavn town centre. The hotel had a slight frontier feel about it like much of the Faroe Islands! Easy parking at the front of the Hotel. The staff were friendly and there was a good Scandinavian style breakfast. Hotel Streym was good value for money and we hope we can stay there again some day soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed one week at the Hotel Streym in Tórshavn, the capitol of the Faroe Islands.

First, if you're from the Eurozone, everything is expensive at the Faroe Islands (even Denmark is expansive), but if you starting to compare the prices from Streym to other hotels, they're pretty affordable. You get a spotless clean room with separate en-suite bath, shower and toiletries. I've booked an single room and got an twin room with sea view, which was really stunning.
Everything is simple in the rooms but better than in most European budget hotels.
There is complimentary and fast WiFi in the rooms and at the breakfast riinand a free car park infront. Breakfast is included, not haute cuisine, but everything is there for you.

Hotel Streym offers a cheap guest car service from their own car rental, I had a Skoda Fabia a few days, everything was fine.

In 5mins walk you're at Torshavn Skansen und the Ferry and bus terminal, in 10mins you're in the city centre, where you find everything you need.

The staff is freindly, kind and very uncomplicated and straightforward like everybody and -thing on the Faroe Island. When I arrived at the hotel (I didn't tell my exact time of arriving) I found the keys with my name at the vacant check in desk. If I needed help, I could call a local number, but I didn't need anything further.

There everyday houskeeping service, I had nothing to complain.

If you like to explore one of the hidden and most interesting places in Europe, go the Faroe Island, choose Hotel Streym and also a car from them! It was a very fascinating holiday there and I will definitly come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m83fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.3 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#1 of 6 in Torshavn
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Streym Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Streym Torshavn

Property: Hotel Streym Torshavn
Address: Yvirir vio Strond 19, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Region: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Streym Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Streym Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Streym Torshavn Faroe Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing