We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wellness, gastronomic and renovated high level 4 star hotel, my preferred adress for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel International
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clervaux
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wellness, gastronomic and renovated high level 4 star hotel, my preferred adress for business travel”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

if you havent been here for a while you won t believe what here has happened, 30 rooms has been renovated and the hotel is now totally airconditioned, their swimming pool and their wellness is great and if you have time for a spa treatment book upfront as it is always full.

The new owner, has structured an old tourist trap into an attrictive mid age lady (of my age) ;-) with an interesting new concept of an Hign quality food Steak House (RHINO) and an new managed and conditioned Gastronomic french cuisine " LES arcades".

The hotel will be linked to the new 5* Le clervaux, boutique&design hotel which will open soon, so the international got a big upgrade, without having a change in their pricing strategy.

The best money for value, 25-40m2 totally new all airconditioned rooms wit high quality of beds, a free access to sauna, fitness(all lifefitness) and swimmingpool included in the price. And if you stay for dinner at the hotel you can enjoy a nice reduction on the food (by the way around the place you have no other alternative for the same price)

Meanwhile there has been an high upgrade in Staff friendly and quality and a new Piano bar will open early june to replace the old fashioned piano bar on the first floor.


Now you can also rent MTB or race bikes where you can do magnificent tours just starting around the corner and for those who prefer GOlf: a nice 18 hole just 1,5 km away, a nice course, but a heavy one .

Room Tip: if you want a nice room, ask for an upgrade to the airconditioned rooms (this are the new ones ) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    135
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
28
272
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

swimming pool and saunas, fitness & running surroundings, possibilitie of bike rental even after a long day of work, two nice restaurants with high quality and healthy food and completely new meeting rooms.(they have 7 meeting rooms from 10 to 250! people available) and with their partner hotels they can accomodate them as wel.

A staff which is all over friendly and always helpfull. experienced and delighted for meetings.

i ve been experiencing with my staff a short offside as an holiday to reset our focus for the company's future.

the rooms we ve had were all recently renovated and airconditioned and quiet. Minibar and high quelity of comfort beds has made our stay perfect. Breakfast as from an sofitel level. great!

i will recommend this to other business partners and we wil come back for other offsides or even year end celebrations. From the outisde you would never imagine such a fresh and innovative infrastructure.

Room Tip: The best business hotel including 800m2 wellness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We (my wife and I and two friends) have just stayed at the Hotel International in Clervaux. This is an excellent hotel with medium sized rooms that made us most welcome including booking our golf for us. We liked the excellent breakfasts, including crepes made on demand, the swimming pool/jacuzzi and the Rhino bar for evening meals (discount for hotel guests). Beware of the Piano bar we tried to make use of the happy hour but the rules are somewahat Machiavellian (three cocktalis for the price of two but all have to be to one person). Drinks are much cheaper in the Rhino bar. All the staff we very friendly and helpful and we would certainly return, helped by excellent weather and a lovely golf course. Another minor complaint was that we were a little short of cupboard space in the bedroom. - Wiley Coyote 88

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacrosse, Wi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Clervaux is worth the visit. Hotel is worth the stay. It looks like the hotel had a major makeover in the last couple years. All new surfaces, paint. Friendly staff, good food. Not sure how we could have done bette.r

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank OkraBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We actually got to stay there for one night as a present from family (through www.bongo.be). It's a trip we definitely don't regret. Here's a ton of practical details if you're going there:

- Spa / Wellness: great! They offer all sorts of massages, facial care, tanning, you can even get your nails done. The sauna area includes 1 actual sauna, 1 hammam (hot steam room), 1 infra-red cabin (mild heat), as well as 1 salt-water room (looks kind of like a cave), several showers (cold and lukewarm - as it should be in a sauna). The salt-water room wasn't working when we were there, so we didn't get to try that one. There's also a relaxation area with a bunch of sofas and seats where you can order drinks. As well as a small fitness area. And last but not least: there's also a swimming pool and a jacuzzi.

- Dress code:
--- bath robe must be worn when walking in and out each area. You can either bring your own or rent one at the hotel for 8€/day. Same goes with slippers (I had brought my own plastic flip flops, but you can also get a pair of soft slippers at the hotel reception).
--- bathing suit / bikini must be worn in the swimming pool area
--- bathing suit / bikini is not allowed in the sauna area (because it's so hot, it's definitely not recommended to wear any nylon). Although I must add I saw several people wearing them anyway (mainly women). I felt a bit weird at first without my bikini, but you can wear a towel, and that turned out to be just fine. Obviously, no one cares and no one's going to stare at you lol Most people wore a towel anyway.
--- you can either bring your own towels or get one for each customer at the hotel reception for free. Note though: the towel you get at the reception is just big enough to wrap around your body. So if you you want to wear something bigger or more than 1, it might be best to bring your own.
--- workout shoes must be worn in the fitness area

There are no individual cabins to change clothes. They simply have 2 small rooms; 1 for men, and 1 for women, which both include lockers to store your stuff. I think most people just change there, but I didn't feel comfortable doing that (especially since the door doesn't lock), so I went to the bathroom instead. The bathrooms are extremely clean and spacious, so that worked just as well. Then I went back to store my stuff in a locker; put the key in the pocket of my robe and walked into the sauna.


- The hotel room (we had a basic one): great! Spacious enough, nice bathroom (average hotel size), TV with about 40 channels, 2 comfy seats and a table, a safe, minibar, phone. It was comfy and we have no complaints whatsoever.

- Parking: Needs to be reserved in advance, along with your room. And it's about 10€/day if I remember well (my boyfriend took care of that, so i can't remember for sure)

- The staff: great! They were all multilingual (French, Dutch, German and I'm guessing English too). Although French seemed to be everybody's best language, you can definitely go there if you don't speak French.

- The restaurant: there were 2. When facing the hotel entry, you'll see a nice restaurant on the left, and then a restaurant/bar on the right. The one on the left seems a bit fancier, but we were told it was best to reserve a table in advance and we couldn't really be bothered, so then we ended up going to the resto/bar on the right. The food was okay. It wasn't the best, and neither was the wine, but it was alright. I don't know if the fancy one on the left would have been better perhaps. Note: the restaurant staff wasn't as multilingual as the hotel staff. French seemed like the best option, but I think one or two waiters could also speak German, and English wasn't their strongest point, but they managed.

- Breakfast was good! They had a bit of everything, and there was plenty of space, so it didn't feel crowded.

TIP FOR LUNCH, DINNER AND BREAKFAST: the reception will give you a green card when you check in. It shows your name, your room number, the dates of your stay, and the word "breakfast" on it. I figured we'd only need it to get our breakfast, but if you're gonna be eating at one of the restaurants that belong to the hotel, you'll need to show that little green card to your waiter, even if it isn't for breakfast. Our waiter was kind of tripping about that, because it gets added to your hotel bill and they're required to see the card in order to avoid fraud or whatever. We weren't told that when we checked in so we had no idea. So just keep it with you at all times.

- Clervaux itself is a great little town! It's very very small, but oh so charming and pretty. There are a few things to visit (a castle, an old church, there's also a tiny museum dedicated to WWII at the castle), and if the weather is nice you can also follow several trails and go hiking (the scenery is stunning!). The town itself feels very safe and is extremely clean. It really is the perfect place to relax.

Dogs are welcome in most places, even this hotel is dog friendly, so you can definitely bring your pet along. It's great for everyone! Families with children, retired people, couples who want a romantic getaway, etc.

Don't go there though if you're a shopaholic. There aren't a whole lot shops around.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RestoChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed here for only a few days, just enough to get away from the daily stress. Great hotel, in the centre of Clervaux. Enthousiatic team, always friendly, always willing to help.
Our compliments for the knowledge of languages in this hotel!
French, German, Dutch...great!!
Wellness centre is really top! Pure relaxation.
Also the restaurant was great, we had a gastronomic dinner (6 different plates) that was excellent.
We did some beautiful walks in the environment.
In general, we've been here before and definitely are going to go back again!

  • Liked — relax atmosphere
  • Disliked — we did like everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anakinBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I have stayed here a couple of times but always on business so no chance to try out all the facilities. Clean and comfortable with good and helpful staff. Enjoyed the food, was well cooked and tasted great.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ricgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clervaux
1.7 mi away
Chateau d'Urspelt
Chateau d'Urspelt
#1 of 1 in Urspelt
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koener
Hotel Koener
#1 of 8 in Clervaux
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Clervaux Boutique & Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 11 in Vianden
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#6 of 8 in Clervaux
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Nations
Hotel des Nations
#5 of 8 in Clervaux
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International

Property: Hotel International
Address: 10 Grand-Rue | Grand Rue, 10, Clervaux 9710, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clervaux
#4 Spa Hotel in Clervaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel International 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel International offers high quality accommodation for nature lovers and health and beauty cares' enthusiasts. Located in the centre of the small town of Clervaux, at the heart of the Luxembourg Ardennes, the Hotel International offers a range of comfort and deluxe non-smoking-rooms and luxury non-smoking-suites. It also offers an excellent service as well as a wide range of facilities such as a pleasant terrace and an underground parking. But the main attraction of our 4-star hotel is its relaxation and beauty center for him and for her. Covering over 800 m2, it boasts the Sauna World, a real oasis of well-being, an indoor swimming pool with waterfall and hydro-jets, a fitness centre and a relaxation room. We also have two restaurants, the steakhouse & pizzeria Rhino and our italian restaurant da lonati where you can enjoy our special sundays' 3 courses lunch or dinner with optional wine package. Our banqueting hall which seats up to 300 is suitable for all types of events including business meetings, group dinners, dinner dances, parties and shows. Furthermore, it is modular, air-conditioned and fitted with top-of-the-range communications equipment. We look forward to see you at the Hotel International very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Clervaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing