We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would be amazing without smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“It would be amazing without smokers”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Vianden is a beautiful place, very small, very quiet (even too much), but it is so beautiful that seems to be a scenic city. The hotel is also very beautiful and is facing the river and the castle (I was in room 215, where there is the best view). The breakfast is good, and the room is clean and comfortable. Weaknesses: there is not an HDTV, heater does not warm the room enough, and (the worst of all for me) smoker customers smoke so much in the hotel bar that the smoke reached the second floor of the hotel and made my clothes smelled of smoke. The internet wifi signal does not get the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room in 15 column, it provides a greater view and better bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    51
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Victor Hugo. The breakfast was superb. The staff was very accommodating to our very late arrival. The room and bathroom were both very large. The town of Vianden was beautiful. This hotel was the perfect base for traveling the county of Luxembourg. The only problem was the cigarette smell but that has come to be expected in many European hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We loved Vianden and chose the Victor Hugo based on its location and view of the castle.

The room itself was quite large and very clean. Unfortunately we were located in the rear of the hotel so we didn't have a great view (overlooked a school playground and the back of another building) but we didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't really matter too much.

The hotel supposedly had free internet but when we arrived we were told that it was only in certain areas, we never did get it to work but ended up using the free wireless connections at the local cafes over lunch. As for parking, we were able to park on the street about a block away at no charge, but I'm guessing that if we'd come at a peak time we would have had to pay for parking.

The staff was helpful and courteous. We didn't have any issues during our stay.

All in all it was a decent hotel in a great location at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms with a terrace for the best views, or at least a room in the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Victor Hugo in Vianden between Christmas and New Year. The hotel's location is great - we had a lovely view of the Chateau from our room. The hotel itself was comfortable if dated, and we were disappointed to be given a twin room and told a double was not available. The bar was nice (if very smoky - not against the law in LU) and breakfast substantial. It was a shame though that there was so little to do off season - which was our fault for booking at that time! I bet this would be great in summer but felt a bit pricey when absolutely nothing else in town was open.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed for two days on the Gatronomic package. The room was super clean and very comfortable if not overlarge. The food was something else. 5 courses the first night a 6 the second all to a very high standard. The Breakfasts were well prepared with a good allround choice. Although it has no private parking facilities if you a on a motorbike there is offroad parking available and under cover.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2006

A double room with breakfast costs 69 Euros. For this price you do expect reasonably comfortable rooms. However the bed was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in. A thin mattras on a wooden plank and on top of that too small if you are over 1.80m.
We did not sleep well.
Though the bathroom was nice, the fact that there was no hot water made it almost useless. The breakfast "buffet" was a poor collection of essentials, which ran out before everyone had had their fill. Staff is unfriendly and though we mentioned the problems there was no apology or anything. Three stars is definitely overrated and we recommend you to find a place to stay in one of the many other auberges, hotels and pensions in town.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 44Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2004

This hotel was very nice. Please ask for a room with a terrace (there are 4 of them). Two of the terrace rooms have great castle views. The other two have wonderful town views. No extra charge. This hotel was incredibly inexpensive. The rooms were huge, and the bathrooms nice too. The balcony on our room overlooked the Our river and the Castle Vianden too. The breakfast and bar were nice. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Vianden.

Helpful?
2 Thank alanwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vianden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 11 in Vianden
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petry
Hotel Petry
#2 of 11 in Vianden
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Heintz
Hotel Heintz
#4 of 11 in Vianden
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Grand Hotel de Vianden
#3 of 11 in Vianden
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Auberge du Chateau
B&B Auberge du Chateau
#6 of 11 in Vianden
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de l'Our
Auberge de l'Our
#10 of 11 in Vianden
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
Address: 1 Rue Victor Hugo, Vianden 9414, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel where the family of the famous writer Victor Hugo stayed during their visits in Vianden. Charming house, completely renovated, gourmet restaurant with chimney, lounge bar, rooms with shower, bath or jacuzzi, wellness center, terrace in the garden with view to the castle, free Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victor Hugo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing