We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Castle and Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Vianden

Chateau de Vianden
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle and Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This stunning castle is perched on top of an outcropping in a somewhat remote corner of tiny Luxembourg. The village below is nearly as charming though highly tourist-oriented. There are numerous restaurants including some along the river that runs through the village. The castle itself has been restored but there are still some original portions of the structure, as well as plaques describing the different historical eras of the fortress from the Roman times until present. During our visit, there was a also an exhibition of Chagall and Otto Dix sketches on biblical themes, which was excellent. There was also a Renaissance fair at the time of our visit, replete with kitsch items for sale and cheesy knight-impersonators. The experience was akin to a visit to "Medieval Times." This festival is probably great for families with younger children, but a pretty uninteresting experience for couples. Overall, Vianden is very touristy but beautiful and definitely worth a visit if you are in Luxembourg or its vicinity.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fallout50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    408
    62
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you or your kids are Harry Potter fans, this will be a great experience. The Vianden Castle has nothing to do with Harry Potter however, it looks similar to Hogwarts and during the medieval festival had owls and all sorts of shows and vendor booths that gave it that feel. I'm not certain how interesting it would be without the festival activities. There were cannons being shot, flag throwing and drums, bird show, just to name a few. We went up the chair lift and walked through the forest path up to the castle. Walked down the road back into Vianden. The castle has been restored beautifully. Our family of four enjoyed ourselves and spent a few hours at this location. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must see in Vianden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice castle, lots of activity. But we were there when there was a festival. Might be more sober in other months.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History being restored!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful chateau/castle that was in almost in total ruins and is now being lovingly restored. The audio tour was probably the best we have experienced, giving just enough historic info and interesting trivia to keep us fascinated. We appreciated all the research that has been done to make the restoration as accurate as possible. It is a gorgeous place that deserves to be the pride of the town it once was! Definitely worth the uphill walk from the parking lot! Allow about 2 hours, especially if you like to take photos!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeepMom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogya
Level Contributor
504 reviews
360 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Stunning in the top of Vianden hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I went to Vianden using train from Luxembourg city to Ettelbruck, and continue with Bus 570 from Ettelbruck Gare to Vianden.
Once I went down the bus, the first thing that caught my eyes is this chateau in the top of the hill.
I went up there using the Vianden Chairlift.
From Vianden Chairlift station to chateau, you will need to walk around 10-15 mins downward (so it is easy).
Chateau itself is just a relatively empty chateau, but the view from the top is quite amazing.
In end of July, there is some kind of medieval shows in the chateau and this made it much more interesting to see.
There are many medieval shops, tavern, shows, etc that will make you stay for 2-3 hrs just to enjoy the medieval feelings.
From the chateau then I go down to Vianden small town in around 30 mins (very slow walk, taking pictures here and there).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LinoYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Vianden also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Mullerthal, Grevenmacher District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Chateau de Vianden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing