We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vianden is a stunning town!”
Review of Hotel Petry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Petry
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vianden is a stunning town!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Vianden on a whim; my mother had read about the castle and wished to visit. We are all so glad we did. The town itself possesses magical charm, and the hotel was lovely. Our rooms had large windows that provided wonderful views on the terrace and the small river that runs behind the hotel. While we didn't eat the breakfast provided, it appeared to be quite extravagant and varied. The staff, while less than openly friendly, was polite, helpful, and multilingual (if you speak French and German you will have no trouble communicating, and most do speak English, although not necessarily fluently. The same can be said for the rest of Luxembourg). We are definitely thinking of returning to this beautiful little town, and quite possibly staying in the same hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyusha_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    92
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Refused to pay €3.30 for small water, waitresses got very cold and moody with us. There were 4 of us, they only brought two friends their food. After 40 minutes my friend and I still had not gotten food. Waitresses giving dirty looks and whispering about us. We did not get our food while our friends had finished their lunch so we left.. And they tried to make strangers sitting nearby pay for our food that we did not receive.. Awful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eefbeefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pol62, Inhaber at Hotel Petry, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Madam, Sir,
I am very sorry to read your message. First of all excuse for this lond waiting time, normally our guest are happy, If you have been with us, you saw it is very busy, and this is my only explain why it took that long to get your dishes. Nobody has to pay food what he did not get,€3.30 is for 1/2 L still or sparkling water, these are regular rates in Luxembourg and Europe, there is a very clear pricelist on every table informing about the rates. Can you tell me the name of your waiteress? Did you stay in our Hotel? What was room number? Was it really that bad and also dirty? Thank you for your reply and best regards,
Paul Petry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Let me share all the positives first...clean, tidy room for our family of four. Good space and large bathroom. Hotel location is great. Parking is free. Food is very good. However, you need to know the following, the welcome is not a warm one and info you would expect be provided isn't. I did go back to ask about Wifi codes, pool hours, etc and was given the info without a problem. Just seemed odd not to tell guests upon arrival. Also the pool is lovely but located in a hotel a block away. Really not a huge deal if the weather is great but would have been nice to know in advance. Beds have vinyl mattress covers so be prepared you maybe warmer than normal. Rules state "Hotel is quiet and noise and crying will not be tolerated." No joke it states "no crying". Again, not a big deal but we were kept up till midnight by screaming children in the hotel playground below. My husband called the front desk. Dinner was very good but we waited over an hour for our meals. It was very busy and seemingly not enough staff as the girls were running to meet everyone's needs. We weren't in a rush so just order a drink or two and enjoy the wait. The food really is excellent. Breakfast was also very good. We did enjoy our stay in Vianden. I wouldn't tell people not to go, just be aware of these things prior. It is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look over playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We drove from Luxembourg City where we had spent one night. Having arrived on a Sunday, the hotel was quite busy and the parking lot immediately behind the hotel was full and it was rather difficult to park our relatively large car in a space that wasn't really a parking slot but nevertheless did not block the other parked cars. The car has another parking lot further down the road, but the place where we had parked allowed us to easily unload our things, with only a short distance to cover to the lift. Despite having indicated that we would be arriving at 11 a.m., and having checked in at 12 noon, we still had to wait for an hour for our room to be cleaned as the previous occupant had just checked out.

Our regular room on the 3rd floor was quite small, and only had twin beds. It appears that only the deluxe rooms have double beds. The bathroom was very cramped, with the toilet strangely being right next to the bathroom door, followed by the sink with the shower at the end. If someone is sitting on the toilet, there simply isn't enough space to squeeze past to go to the shower. It was also a hot day (around 26 C), and it was very hot in the room as there was no air-conditioning. Even with the window open at night, with the temperature outside going down to around 18 C, it was still very hot in the room. A fan should be provided in the rooms in the summer. Moreover, the window overlooked a portion of the restaurant terrace and the back entrance of the hotel, so with the window open, it was noisy whenever there were people eating at the restaurant. Light sleepers should be prepared with ear plugs. The room had a large flatscreen TV with a sufficient array of channels in English, German and French. The pillows provided were quite poor, having hardly any body such that you were just effectively lying on the mattress.

We had requested for a fridge when we saw the room did not come with one, and were told that the staff would try to place one in the room. We had brought some food with us that would spoil if not placed in a fridge. When we returned to the room in the late afternoon, we saw that the fridge had still not been brought over. I followed it up with the manager, who was busy in the restaurant, and he apologized for forgetting to bring one and said that he would attend to it after the restaurant kitchen closed at 9:30 p.m. When we got home past 9:30 p.m., a small minibar-type fridge had been installed in the room.

The hotel is well-located, with a great view of the chateau (although the chateau is visible from most parts of the town). The chairlift station is just 10 minutes away by foot. We took the chairlift going up, then hiked down to the chateau and afterwards, hiked back down to the town.

We enjoyed the breakfast which was reasonably priced at EUR 9.50 per person (the advance rate). There was plenty of meat, including bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs, along with cold cuts. There was also the usual cereal, bread, butter, jam, etc.

We also had lunch at the pizzeria owned by the hotel while waiting for our room to be cleaned. As other reviews have pointed out, the pizza is very good. We also found the carbonara very tasty. The older waitress is not very friendly, and when another waitress mistakenly placed an extra basket of bread on our table, the older waitress quickly took it away from our table with nary an explanation or apology.

There was free WIFI, but we often had to re-input the password on our iOS and Android devices. The speed of the network was pretty good though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invictus5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel,located just in the centre of Vianden, with a magnificent view of the castle in the morning. The rooms are well done, and the beds are comfortables, but i would have preferred an extra pillow (there was only a spare pillows in the room). The breakfast is excellent, but it is not included in the price, it costs 9.50 euros.

We arrived late, at around 8 pm at this hotel, nobody was at reception. Then someone arrived and with a broken french asked if we wanted breakfast next morning. Then she said to come back later for check in, we thought it was a joke.....we would have not stayed otherwise....we understood later what she meant 'come back later for check in' ie fill in the check in cards and passports.....we were really surprised as she was really not welcoming, and she could not speak neither French neither English.....she gave at the end the key and rushed off....she did not even bother to tell us where was the hotel parking or the wifi password.

The sleep was okeish, we had to close the window because of the noise from the terrace and there was no aircon, while the room was very warm. In addition no extra pillow for me (and seen the unwelcoming reception and the fact finding someone at reception was a real challenge) I did not bother to ask an additional one.
The unwelcoming part is recurrent in Hotels in Luxembourg, not peculiar to this hotel, but I had wished a nice smile anyway.
the next day on departure the owner was nicer, asked where we enjoyed the stay, which we did, and gave us a nice present also, a bottle of liquor.

we did not have dinner at the restaurant as in their menu was everything we do not eat when we go abroad, ie pizza and pasta! we wished they had a nice luxembourgish menu to choose from.
Definitely in Luxembourg they need to improve their costumer services.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked to stay in Vianden having seen the area on the hairy bikers. The hotel Petry was an excellent choice. Our 3rd floor room had a great view of the castle. The staff were all friendly and spoke enough English for us non linguists. We enjoyed our breakfasts which had a very wide choice of cereals, breads, meat, cheese and fruit.
Evening meals were also really good. The pizzas were popular and the restaurant terrace was always busy.
Well worth visiting the pool in the partner hotel the Belle Vue just 50 metres up the road. Great view of the castle as you swim to the end.
nicectouch was receiving a bottle of the local nut liqueur when we checked out.

Room Tip: Some front rooms have castle view but have a little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a very nice family hotel with a top price-quality ratio! Everything was spotless clean, not only the rooms were spacious, but also the bathrooms. The hotel is nicely renovated where the character of the old house is cleverly preserved, featuring wooden beams and colorful terracotta tiles. There is a private parking adjacent to the hotel which is free for hotel guests - an absolute plus in a tiny place like Vianden, where parking can be an adventure. There's also a long list of spa and massage procedures offered by the hotel, if you are in a search of a relaxing holiday. The hotel guests can use also free of charge the swimming pool of the Belle-Vue Hotel (owned by the same family), which is just across the corner. There's also a nice sun terrace with chaise-lounges. The hotel has also an Italian pizzeria with stone oven and a restaurant serving local dishes - both share an enormous terrace, where you can enjoy your meal on a sunny day. We tried a few dishes there and we enjoyed every single bite.
There is only one downside - it was pretty noisy. We had 2 rooms - one above the restaurant's terrace and the other one overlooking the river. If you have your windows open, in the afternoon you would here the kids playing on the playground, in the morning - trucks delivering goods or picking up the garbage containers. I was amazed how noisy it can be in this small village - you would think it's a quiet, laid-back place, but no - it hustles and bustles with life. So, my advice - just close the windows, if you need a little bit of peace.
I would definitely and absolutely recommend this hotel - and I would definitely and absolutely stay again there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vianden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 11 in Vianden
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heintz
Hotel Heintz
#4 of 11 in Vianden
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Chateau d'Urspelt
Chateau d'Urspelt
#1 of 1 in Urspelt
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Grand Hotel de Vianden
#2 of 11 in Vianden
194 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dimmer Hotel
Dimmer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wallendorf Pont
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petry

Property: Hotel Petry
Address: 15 Rue de la Gare, Vianden 9420, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Petry 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family run hotel in the center of the medieval town of Vianden. Gastronomic restaurant and pizzeria with wood fired oven, large terras, comfort- and luxury 4**** rooms, private parking, lift. Fitness center, sauna, solarium. Our guest may use for free the indoor pool 14x6m. + whirlpool and spa in hotel belle-vue (100 meters from the petry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Petry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petry Hotel Vianden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing