We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinsel and turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tinsel and turkey”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just recently returned from a trip with Edwards for what was supposed to be a turkey and tinsel break . What a bitter disappointment there was ,no Xmas spirit about it what's so ever . Yes the dining room was decorated with Xmas decorations and a Xmas tree and yes we did have a excellent singer by the name of Lisa on what was supposed to have been xmas day who was indeed a joy to listen to but as for anything else there was nothing.ie no crackers no xmas hats no entertainment on what was supposed to be Xmas eve and New Year's Eve .I know when I have been to other turkey and tinsel breaks there has been an atmosphere created by the owners for others to enjoy.WIth very little to do in the village there was no other option than to stay in the hotel. And try and entertain our selves

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nop50xcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    87
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
81
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with a group of family and friends. First and foremost was my pleasure of our hosts Bart and his wife and the staff with their 'can do' attitude.
Quick overview, incredible price, great host / staff, pristine clean and comfortable, wonderful food at all meals and breakfast, beautiful area and the home of a marvellous "Castle"
Despite a late arrival we were welcomed with a drink and all 38 of us were checked into rooms with cases brought to us with practiced ease. We ate leisurely and well. Understandably no choice on the first night but multiple choices from then on and always hot. In fact at no meal did we ever feel rushed. Also had great entertainment. Very acutely aware there are few staff and they work VERY hard.
Cleanliness throughout the entire building we saw or occupied was most impressive including the interesting 1600 + "hippo" collection. Very comfortable room and as expected with most places in Europe, no kettle but A bottle of water and two wine glasses in the room was a lovely gesture, also a mini bar. We also had a balcony and large room which was delightful. Recommend room 111.
The "drinks" card system that you settle at the end of your stay I understand is commonplace these days. With the laminated sheets of prices in the bar and on the dining tables it's not difficult to calculate what you are mounting up! With such skeleton staff, meals for the guests could have been delayed, if they had to deal with money as well as serving food and drinks. Any lost cards will be charged at 125 Euros, you are completely in charge of it and made aware, so be responsible.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the complaints and comments of fellow travellers unfounded. We wondered why the even bother to travel abroad! Our opinions on the place the food and the hosts and staff were all shot down in flames by someone or another!
We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone Do enjoy your time here and in this delightful place of "Vianden".

Room Tip: our room 111 was in the 'new part' with his n hers sinks in the large bathroom and plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suziw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penygraig
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here on a 5 day coach trip. Travelling as a single person, had a lovely room with dual aspect - view over the street below and could see the chateau from the side window. Double bed, minibar, easy chair and table and bathroom, which wasn't huge but large enough for ones needs. Hotel clean and welcoming. Food was really good with a choice of 3 courses plus soup each evening. Most hotel staff were extremely pleasant - only one staff member seemed to have difficulty in smiling! Surrounding area very interesting and pretty. I didn't pay a five star price, so didn't expect a five star hotel. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. All in all a very enjoyable, interesting trip.

Room Tip: Room 103 has dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 23Suzanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was part of a Crusader coach trip to Luxembourg and we arrived at the hotel quite late; the hotel team were not fazed, they greeted us and gave us a late dinner.
Throughout the stay there was nothing too much for the team.
The room was OK and the bathroom was a little small for people of more than average stature, but overall was acceptable for a short visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexBrianpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 11 August until the 16 August 2013. The area around the hotel is excellent but we were really disappointed with the hotel. We were on the 2nd floor and the ensuite was a small poky cupboard where you had to search for the light switch. The bed linen was clean but the room really needed a bit of paint. Our stay included breakfast and evening meal but we were put off our meals by the amount of flies in the restaurant. All the coach party were having to sweep flies from the table as we eat. The weather wasnt exceptionally hot and I queried why so many flies with a waitress who laughed and said it was a bad year for them!!!! Would love to try another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were all travelling as single people. Some fared better than others for the room. Mine on the third floor had been recently refurbished. It had a double bed, wardrobe,coffee table and 2 easy chairs. The shower room was small but clean. The shower tray was so shiny clean that it was dangerous. I asked the owner for a mat for in the shower and one to step out on. She gave me these but said"do not tell the others or they will all want one". There was no telephone in the room - not in any of the rooms. What if you fell or were ill?The food satisfied me, but others did not enjoy it. Service was very slow, allowing you no evening time. I did see other diners had a far superior meal.I could not turn the key in the door, so they oiled the lock. I then had to keep the key wrapped in toilet paper,as it was oily and black.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nonymousEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on an Edwards coach trip. Although we were late arriving check in was quick and easy. We had requested a non smoking, corner room on a low floor. We had room 104 which was lovely. The room wasn't huge but spotlessly clean, flat screen TV, mini bar and shower. The room really needed air conditioning or even a fan. Breakfast is very basic continental, fruit juice, meat, cheese, rolls, jam and croissants, and a choice of 3 cereals. We were disappointed there was no fruit. We had a set meal time and apart from the first evening we were given a choice of starters, main and dessert, all were delicious and hot. All in all a lovely little hotel which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a low floor they are not as warm as higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vianden hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#2 of 11 in Vianden
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petry
Hotel Petry
#1 of 11 in Vianden
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heintz
Hotel Heintz
#4 of 11 in Vianden
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Belvedere
0.1 mi away
Auberge de l'Our
Auberge de l'Our
#10 of 11 in Vianden
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Vianden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Vianden

Property: Grand Hotel de Vianden
Address: 6 Rue de la Gare, Vianden 9420, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Vianden 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel de Vianden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing