We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Step back to the days when hotels were a service industry. Everything we requested was provided, excellent food, clean beautifully appointed room and the feeling that the owners really cared that you were contented.The owners would inquire when we were returning from a trip to ensure that they were on hand to greet us.
During our stay (5 days) the standard of food (and choice) was excellent, fresh, and well prepared. One day I had too much for lunch and declined the main course only to be offered several alternatives (not on the menu) such as omelets or a sandwich. The night before we were to depart we were offered a packed lunch for the journey; excellent fresh fare.Try this hotel if you stay in Luxembourg an hour away from the capital and hour from Germany (Trier) .

Room Tip: Our room was in the new block (110-129) very spacious and excellent WiFi connection (free)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Justmally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our first visit was in May 2010 and this time we decided to spend the Christmas holiday here and we are so pleased we did for 5 nights all inclusive of meals. A very warm welcome from the owner Bart and his wife, not forgetting the pleasant staff. We had a large comfortable bedroom and bathroom on the 4th floor. Splendid view of the castle on high beautifully illuminated at night.
Overall the hotel is well decorated, clean and warm. We could control the heating in our room, which was good, as sometimes it could get very hot if we forgot to adjust the thermostat! Also lots of hot water. Very comfortable beds (all are twins). White towels in bathrooms replaced on a daily basis. Limited toiletries so don`t forget to take ones own.
Breakfast is a cold Buffet with a good selection of meats, cheeses,(boiled eggs hot!), cereals, rolls & bread, various cakes, preserves etc., tea and coffee, fruit juices. A good start to the day.
Evening meals and Christmas lunch, of many courses, were excellently prepared and served (compliments to the kitchen and front of house staff-they deserve the praise). Entertainment on Christmas night was provided by a very good female (Italian) singer occasionally accompanied by Bart (also good voice/amusing) which lasted for a remarkably and thoroughly enjoyment 4 hours, followed later by Bart with guitar in the bar!
On arrival one is given a card on which is noted the drinks /beverages ordered (there are price lists readily available) and the bill is paid on departure. This method ensures speedy service but may not suit everyone! One only has to keep a check on ones consumption! Cash and cards are accepted.
A very good hotel to stay in with a friendly atmosphere and excellent service. We may even return for a 3rd visit at sometime in the future (summer or winter).

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

On the 12th of December I took a group of 46 to the Grand Hotel Vianden, WOW what a find.
We were about two hours later arriving then expected but we were met with a warm welcome from the owner, Bart, his wife and staff. Having left Birmingham at 6am and arriving at 7.30pm We all welcomed the glass of wine offered and gratefully found that Bart and his staff had all our cases taken to our rooms.

My room (120) is in the new block and is beautifully appointed including a Jacuzzi, the bed was very comfortable and the mini bar well stocked. These rooms set the stanbdard for the whole hotel.

The other rooms I visited were all of a high standard and spacious.

Bearing in mind the lateness of the hour when we sat down for dinner that evening I was truly surprised in the quality of the tree course meal they provided, each and every evening they exceeded expectation. I am diabetic and they looked after me and the vegetarians in the party.

Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast with the addition of boiled eggs, all very nice.
We had entertainment on Saturday night, a very accomplished singer who was very entertaining and the visit of Elvis (Bart) made the evening very memorable.

This hotel is well placed for a visit to Luxembourg Belgium and Germany.
It is apparent that Bart his wife and staff work very hard, the rooms and the hotel are of a high standard and spotlessly clean, the efforts are rewarded in providing an excellent hotel, lovely food and great hospitality.

The attitude of the owners and staff is very much can do and will do to make their guests enjoy their stay.

Not one of our party made any adverse comment during our five day stay.

My thanks to Bart and his wife for their patience and hard work making my job easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Grand Hotel with a coach tour.
The hotel is very pleasant, with friendly staff who were helpful and efficient.
The whole place was spotlessly clean. My single room looked a little basic but the furniture and fittings were fairly new and in good condition. My only criticism would be that the only electric point in the bedroom was nowhere near the mirror so drying my hair was a bit hit and miss.
The food was fine with a good choice for our evening meals. The vegetarians in the group were well catered for. Breakfast was standard for continental hotels but with fairly wide selection of cold meats, cheeses and breads.
The hotel is well situated in the town

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itchyfeet4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Travelled with Crusaders and their excellent driver, Bob, who dealt with unforeseeable conditions brilliantly.
Our hotel room was above expectations, large, pristine and comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent and the small staff were incredibly efficient.
To our taste the evening meals were a little disappointing but again, good value for money although the drinks were expensive.
This is a family run hotel and this lovely family know what their guests want. I loved Mr Peverlli's musical talents and enjoyed his impromptu performance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just recently returned from a trip with Edwards for what was supposed to be a turkey and tinsel break . What a bitter disappointment there was ,no Xmas spirit about it what's so ever . Yes the dining room was decorated with Xmas decorations and a Xmas tree and yes we did have a excellent singer by the name of Lisa on what was supposed to have been xmas day who was indeed a joy to listen to but as for anything else there was nothing.ie no crackers no xmas hats no entertainment on what was supposed to be Xmas eve and New Year's Eve .I know when I have been to other turkey and tinsel breaks there has been an atmosphere created by the owners for others to enjoy.WIth very little to do in the village there was no other option than to stay in the hotel. And try and entertain our selves

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nop50xcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with a group of family and friends. First and foremost was my pleasure of our hosts Bart and his wife and the staff with their 'can do' attitude.
Quick overview, incredible price, great host / staff, pristine clean and comfortable, wonderful food at all meals and breakfast, beautiful area and the home of a marvellous "Castle"
Despite a late arrival we were welcomed with a drink and all 38 of us were checked into rooms with cases brought to us with practiced ease. We ate leisurely and well. Understandably no choice on the first night but multiple choices from then on and always hot. In fact at no meal did we ever feel rushed. Also had great entertainment. Very acutely aware there are few staff and they work VERY hard.
Cleanliness throughout the entire building we saw or occupied was most impressive including the interesting 1600 + "hippo" collection. Very comfortable room and as expected with most places in Europe, no kettle but A bottle of water and two wine glasses in the room was a lovely gesture, also a mini bar. We also had a balcony and large room which was delightful. Recommend room 111.
The "drinks" card system that you settle at the end of your stay I understand is commonplace these days. With the laminated sheets of prices in the bar and on the dining tables it's not difficult to calculate what you are mounting up! With such skeleton staff, meals for the guests could have been delayed, if they had to deal with money as well as serving food and drinks. Any lost cards will be charged at 125 Euros, you are completely in charge of it and made aware, so be responsible.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the complaints and comments of fellow travellers unfounded. We wondered why the even bother to travel abroad! Our opinions on the place the food and the hosts and staff were all shot down in flames by someone or another!
We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone Do enjoy your time here and in this delightful place of "Vianden".

Room Tip: our room 111 was in the 'new part' with his n hers sinks in the large bathroom and plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suziw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vianden hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#2 of 11 in Vianden
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petry
Hotel Petry
#1 of 11 in Vianden
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heintz
Hotel Heintz
#3 of 11 in Vianden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Belvedere
0.1 mi away
Auberge de l'Our
Auberge de l'Our
#10 of 11 in Vianden
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Vianden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Vianden

Address: 6 Rue de la Gare, Vianden 9420, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Vianden 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel de Vianden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing