We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Pwllheli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

From the minute we arrived at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin until the minute we left we were overawed by the whole experince. Talk about "hands on"-we had a most warm welcome from Isabel, who with her chef husband are the most amazing owners. But more was yet to come, perhaps the first hint came when a group staying at another hotel arrived for dinner, that in itself was something of an indication of the quality of the food. The dining experience was truly awesome, the quality and presentation of the dishes was out of this world, Isobel and her waiter so attentive and so pleased to be so.Our best hotel experince ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidPwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I've travelled a lot around Europe and North America and during my travels I always have a hard time finding a good restaurant for good value. When somebody suggested "Au Vieux Moulin", I have to admit that i was a little worried but when I got there, all my concerns vanished !

The owner was very welcoming and was genuinely friendly to us which is hard to find nowadays especially in the gastronomy sector. We were quickly intrigued by their menu even thought it seemed a little expensive for some university students, but again "seemed".....
As a started I ordered a Foie Gras that was simply to die for and when I thought it couldn't get any better I got my main dish which had an amazing flavour to it. From there on I didn't really care about the price anymore and decided to treat myself with a dessert, "une gourmandise", as it was called. It was a sort of chocolate cake with hot liquid chocolate inside. Chocolate lovers will be asking for more !
The food was simply amazing ! It's definitely in my Top 5 of restaurants that I've been to.

Furthermore, the place was pretty clean and surrounded by nature, that's probably why we had some issues finding the place.

If you enjoy good food for good value, that s the place to check out, especially when you want to impress a person or your partner !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dbenhsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel while visiting Luxembourg City and Trier. It was close enough to both cities to be very convenient. We were traveling with our adult son and happy to have such spacious accommodations. Our son even had his own room in the loft. The decor is very modern and tasteful. The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. We had a problem with our credit card upon checking out and the staff was very helpful and persisted in helping us until the problem was solved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

If the 'Vieux Moulin' of the name suggests antiquity, you're in for a surprise, as the interior of this place is ultra-modern, with heavy use of glass, stainless steel, and leather (or something resembling it). It's all stylish, and the bathroom was spectacular, but the bedroom itself was just a touch soulless and not very spacious. In the public areas too, the emphasis was on style, sometimes slightly at the expense of comfort.

Breakfast was served in an ultra-modern building in the courtyard. It was a generous, good-quality breakfast with extensive choice. However, there were many flies in the breakfast room; some of the food was uncovered and the flies were constantly settling on it. To us this was startlingly unhygienic, though other guests seemed unconcerned. We drew it to the proprietor's attention, who made a token gesture of covering one tray of bread while offering the view that the flies were 'natural'. Later we heard her telling her staff in a loud voice about the guests who has been absurd enough to complain about flies. A comically inept and unprofessional response, then, and next morning at breakfast some food was still uncovered and still plagued by flies.

On the good side, this is a smart-looking place in a very rural location. Nearby in Echternach are some wonderful places for walkers, including a splendid circuit of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nybor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Echternach
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Air Sport & Wellness
1.4 mi away
Hostellerie de la Basilique
Hostellerie de la Basilique
#2 of 8 in Echternach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Petit Poete
Le Petit Poete
#5 of 8 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Pavillon
Hotel le Pavillon
#3 of 8 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kinnen
Hotel Kinnen
#4 of 5 in Berdorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Vieux Moulin

Property: Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Address: Echternach L-6562, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Echternach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Echternach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Au Vieux Moulin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing