We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is a splendid hotel close to Echternach. It was very quiet and nicely located yet not far from everything.
The rooms are big and very nicely decorated, the bathroom is very nice and has a big window. Staff is amazing, super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is homemade and super tasty!
The only tiny minus is the weak internet connection. However I really can’t wait to go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is the perfect venue, as they say these days, for an intimate weekday lunch - for the first hour we were the only lunchers, except for a quantity of house flies naturally ready for lunch & ours in particular. All right, this hotel/restaurant is en pleine verdure but there must be some way of dealing with this hazard. Probably best to import your own aerosol artfully shrouded in oyster satin to match the curtains.
So we settled down to examine the 3-course prix fixe at EUR 39 ( why not at this price a choice of two for each course ? ) While awaiting our amuse-mouches ( sorry ) we chose as an apéritif a vin moucheux ( I do apologise ), & very dry & tasty it was. The cuillère de scampi we felt was just a little too spicy but otherwise fish fresh & good. The main dish was pavé de saumon au lait de coco parfumé au yuzu ( no, I hadn't either, but the solitary waiter fortunately had ), complemented with rather too many broad beans, which made a somewhat heavy mix, effortfully presented ( a boat-shaped portion of rice run aground on the rim of the plate garnished with tendrils of sweet pea ? ), also petals of same carelessly scattered across the plate. The Luxembourgish house wine of offer by the glass was palatable.
We had nothing but praise for the pudding, gratin de fruits rouges ; it tested delicious & the gratin was not a thick crumble but a fine film of crème à l'anglaise.
An order of mint tea ( one run-of the-Mill teabag ) appeared on the bill at EUR 5. Some of those sweet peas should be turned over to mint & served fresh in a teapot - then we might talk about EUR 5 ...
Middling to good, in toto - rather expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulliat, Propriétaire at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

Your note has been carefully studied as we take all feedback as an opportunity to improve.

At Vieux Moulin we pride ourselves in providing high quality food based on fresh produce and I am pleased you found that this was the case in your visit. I would also like to address the items that may mislead other guests:

Our restaurant as well as our hotel gets monthly specialised anti-insect treatment. For obvious health reasons, we will not use anti-insects' sprays in areas where our guests will dine. The anti-insect treatment is efficient and we usually don’t get the visit of “mouche-guests” despite our countryside setting. One or two uninvited guests can always happen in the height of summer and we are sorry this impacted your lunch.

Our À la carte Menu and tasting menus are designed to allow guests to decide upon their own dining experience to choose the number of plates accordingly. The serving of Coffee and Tea includes the serving of homemade pastries.

We will continue to work with high quality standards while also taking into account feedback received from our customers. So thank you for having come to experience our food and for sharing your experience.

Isabel and Philippe Boulliat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Denijs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just outside Echternach, in a green surrounding, although caught between two roads, Isabel welcomed us with a warm smile into her nice and very well kept hotel.
The room we rented was large, well furnished, with a very comfortable bath room. Internet access was easy and fast.
Breakfast was outstanding, with a wide variety of top quality breads and danish pastries, in a nice, modern, well lit breakfast room.
Some minor points should be worked on:
1. We could not understand what the point is of having a large French sheepdog bark away in the early hours of the morning (every morning) or after 10 pm (one night). This is supposed to be a quiet location.
2. The breakfast room had a fly issue, what with all the food on the buffet, something that could very easily be remedied with a mosquito screen fixed to any open window or door.
3. Only the last day of our three day stay did we get extra coffee. The days before, nobody was in sight to help us to some more.
4. Our room was, due to exceptionally hot weather, extremely hot. A fan would have brought relief.
5. When I called the hotel to make a reservation,the owner told us he had only a room left, with a "terrace". When I pointed out that he had two normal rooms, at lower prices, left according to some booking site, he then proposed these as well. We took a normal room, and could see no benefit of paying more for a terrace with absolutely no view beyond a few trees.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Off the beaten track in a corner of Luxembourg. Appears to be newly refurbished. Very comfortable room although the cheaper room we booked, and it was exceptional value, had a view over the kitchen. Perfect for a one night stop but you would probably need to spend more if you like a view and planned to stay a few nights. This comment cannot detract from the friendly welcome, the comfortable nights rest and the most excellent food. The restaurant was exceptional, ambience and food combined to make a superb evening. Expect to pay around £100 + wine for two - worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWi186416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

From the minute we arrived at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin until the minute we left we were overawed by the whole experince. Talk about "hands on"-we had a most warm welcome from Isabel, who with her chef husband are the most amazing owners. But more was yet to come, perhaps the first hint came when a group staying at another hotel arrived for dinner, that in itself was something of an indication of the quality of the food. The dining experience was truly awesome, the quality and presentation of the dishes was out of this world, Isobel and her waiter so attentive and so pleased to be so.Our best hotel experince ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidPwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I've travelled a lot around Europe and North America and during my travels I always have a hard time finding a good restaurant for good value. When somebody suggested "Au Vieux Moulin", I have to admit that i was a little worried but when I got there, all my concerns vanished !

The owner was very welcoming and was genuinely friendly to us which is hard to find nowadays especially in the gastronomy sector. We were quickly intrigued by their menu even thought it seemed a little expensive for some university students, but again "seemed".....
As a started I ordered a Foie Gras that was simply to die for and when I thought it couldn't get any better I got my main dish which had an amazing flavour to it. From there on I didn't really care about the price anymore and decided to treat myself with a dessert, "une gourmandise", as it was called. It was a sort of chocolate cake with hot liquid chocolate inside. Chocolate lovers will be asking for more !
The food was simply amazing ! It's definitely in my Top 5 of restaurants that I've been to.

Furthermore, the place was pretty clean and surrounded by nature, that's probably why we had some issues finding the place.

If you enjoy good food for good value, that s the place to check out, especially when you want to impress a person or your partner !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dbenhsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel while visiting Luxembourg City and Trier. It was close enough to both cities to be very convenient. We were traveling with our adult son and happy to have such spacious accommodations. Our son even had his own room in the loft. The decor is very modern and tasteful. The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. We had a problem with our credit card upon checking out and the staff was very helpful and persisted in helping us until the problem was solved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Echternach
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Air Sport & Wellness
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostellerie de la Basilique
Hostellerie de la Basilique
#2 of 8 in Echternach
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kinnen
Hotel Kinnen
#5 of 5 in Berdorf
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trail-Inn Natur & Sporthotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Scharff
Hotel Scharff
#2 of 5 in Berdorf
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Vieux Moulin

Property: Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Address: Echternach L-6562, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Echternach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Echternach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Au Vieux Moulin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing