We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Melia Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Luxembourg
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel was perfect. We stayed for the weekend at a great rate. The hotel is very nice, modern. Rooms are clean and not too small. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was nice.

Breakfast at Goya was excellent. A great selection of fruits, cheeses, breads, yogurt/etc and made to order omelets. The staff at Goya was top notch, very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor about our hotel,its service and staff.
We are delighted to read that you "just loved" our hotel.
Your pointing out the friendliness and efficiency of our staff is just great and means a lot to us as we are taking pride in our staff and their daily work delivering the best service for our distinguished guests. Your comments about our nice breakfast buffet are highly appreciated. We will share them among our kitchen and service team.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Please accept our best regards,

Mario Komann
The Meliã Hotel Luxembourg is tripadvisor traveller's choice Award winner 2014 as Top Hotel Luxembourg! Thank you to all our guests making this possible !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    549
    84
    9
    8
See reviews for
193
590
86
557
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Messelbroek, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very nice hotel. Modern, clean & very comfortable. Location perfect. Lovely breakfast. I would most certainly return to this hotel.
One disappointing incident: Coffee & tea facilities nice on the room. However you just get two milk cups, just enough for two coffees while you do have 4 sugars and 4 sachets of coffee. When I asked if they could leave a few more the next morning (because I like more milk in my coffee), the receptionist asked me how many I wanted, I said six will be fine to which he replied, we have to charge you 1.50euro per cup if you want more than four!? Strangest thing I have ever come across. I went out & bought a litre of milk for 1.50euro.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptrusken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Amaroulla,

Thank you kindly for your nice review on tripadvisor about our hotel, its service and staff.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As it comes to your comment about the "milk cup" incident, I think there is a minor misunderstanding.
I found your invoice and the posting of the 1,50eur per cup. I did an intense research and spoke to the receptionist. We gave you Nespresso capsules more, which is the coffee in the Level rooms and this was charged and not the milk.
We apologize for the misunderstanding and the inconveniences but we want to clarify that we are not charging for milk cups. Thank you for taking note.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
The Meliá Hotel Luxembourg is Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Award Winner 2014 as TOP HOTEL Luxembourg. Thank you to all our guests making this possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed there for one night in an executive room (7th floor) for an excellent price. The room was very comfortable; good bed and bathroom - all very nicely set out. Fast wi-fi and decent bits and pieces (coffee machine etc). But no really comfortable public areas and the area to have a drink was not really welcoming and quite dark, although all the staff were very friendly and very accommodating; so not their fault. Did not have breakfast as had to leave early.

Would I use again? Quite certainly as the price was good and it has a very good location if you do business on the Kirchberg; otherwise the town is a 30 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor and your sharing. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay on our nice, spacious rooms on the 7th floor.
Your compliments on our friendly staff are highly appreciated.
As it comes to your comment about our bar on the ground floor and its atmosphere, we are taking those into consideration and just know thinking about how we can improve our bar area for our guests.
We are looking forward to your next visit with us.
Best regards,

Mario Komann
The Melia Hotel Luxembourg is the 2014 Winner of the TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award as Top Hotel in Luxembourg. Thanks to all our guests making this possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My favourite hotel in Luxembourg so far: new, modern, clean and comfortable. “The Level” rooms on floors 7 and 8 are excellent value – e.g. giving a selection of free bar drinks (including cava) and an amazing breakfast. The breakfast is definitely the best I have experienced in Luxembourg – quality cereals, nice bread for toasting, Actimel, hot chocolate, fruit, eggs and fried selection. Friendly staff. The food selection for room-service was also good. I never got the chance to use the steam room sadly, but it looked lovely. Go for a room on the top (eighth) or seventh floor. A great location too for the airport and the centre. Bathroom spacious and lots of storage. My only niggles: there is only ONE English tv channel (the news – please give us more English channels!); the pillows didn’t feel like feather/down; I could not get heating to warm the room very much in January; and – my biggest gripe – for a new, modern, hotel I found the sound-proofing a little poor (I could hear people walking about at times at night / flushing the toilet and the TV next door on occasion). It is disappointing that I could hear people walking about above in a hotel which has solid concrete floors. Apart from that (and I am fussy), I had a lovely stay (and my room had a great view over the centre) and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 7th or 8th floor. Worth paying for the "Level" extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svphighstandards12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Assistant Front Office Manager and Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor giving an insight onto your personal impressions; we are glad to receive your excellent rating and feel very much honoured with it.

It is a great pleasure to read your recommendation about our Level rooms on the top floors as well as your comments about our staff. We also appreciate your detailed statement about the quality of the breakfast buffet and the offered services in the Level lounge, which will be, for sure, very helpful to other travellers coming to our hotel.

On the other side, we feel sorry about the lack of more English TV channels and the disturbing noise of the neighbouring rooms, and of course we are taking your constructive criticism into account.

We would be looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Melia Luxembourg and wish you a nice weekend.

Best regards,

Charlotte P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here for one night to attend a concert at the Philharmonie which is very close by.

Multilingual staff meet you and check you in. The hotel is modern in style without being ostentatious. The room itself has everything you could need. Fast WIFI, beyond excellent bed - nice and firm, I slept like a log! The wall mounted radiator plus heating underneath the wash basin is a nice touch in the morning that keeps your towels nice and warm. The shower is powerful and one I could almost not remove myself! Very soothing. Hasten to add, I did not try the restaurant or petit dejeuner, but I did order a small room service of a club sandwich late in the evening, which was delicious!!

II will stay here again if I need to go to the Philharmonie, again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musical_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your great review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted by your compliments on our staff and about our room facilities offering you a very nice sleep.
It is a pity you did not try our delicious breakfast, but thank you for the nice comments on our room service. We are looking forward to your next stay with us for another visit of the nearby Philharmonie.
Best regards,


Mario Komann
The Melia Luxembourg is winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award Top Hotel In Luxembourg. A big thank you from the whole team to all our guests making this possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

the hotel is very nice. the rooms, breakfast, public areas - all is high-quality.
it is not in the center, so if you want to walk to the center - it will take half an hour or more. Meanwhile, from this hotel (especially higher floors) you have a magnificent view over the whole Luxembourg.
No private parking - public parking for around 25 euros overnight

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your good review about our hotel on TripAdvisor and your sharing.
Your compliments on our rooms having a magnificient view over Luxembourg are highly appreciated. Please be informed that a nearby bus stop is situated alongside the JFK road with several buses driving every 5 minutes downtown for only 2eur per ride. By this, you will reach the city centre within minutes. Especially on the weekend our front office team can help you finding parking spots for lower prices or even without charges rather than using the nearby expensive parking garage.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Best regards,

Mario Komann
Melia Luxembourg is the winner 2014 of the TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award
Top Hotel in Luxembourg. Thank you to all our guests having made this possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is very well located in Kirchberg in a new building. The room was nicely decorated and everything was pretty new and very clean. The breakfast was good with many options. I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiscanetecere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about our hotel and its service on tripadvisor.
Your compliments on our pretty and clean rooms and our breakfast are highly appreciated.
Thank you as well for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#8 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.9 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Luxembourg

Property: Melia Luxembourg
Address: 1 Park Drai Eechelen | 10 Rue Fort Thuengen, Luxembourg City 1499, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Luxembourg City, Melia Luxembourg is a stylish and modern premium hotel located at the centre of the triangle-shaped Place de l'Europe, on the Kirchberg plateau. Directly opposite the Museum of Modern Art and the Philharmonie, the hotel is within walking distance from several EU institutions, like the European Court of Justice, the Court of First Instance, the Court of Auditors of the European Communities, the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union and a number of offices of the European Commission. Designed by renowned international architect Jim Clemens and completed in 2009, Melia Luxembourg is a gem of contemporary architecture within the Luxembourg City skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Melia Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing