We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good overall - above expectations.”
Review of Melia Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Luxembourg
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very good overall - above expectations.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

this was a great experience. we have been in melia hotels previously and this was by far the best experience.
service was correct and fast, very convenient location (close by the modern art museum, philharmonic. With parking available right next door (not included in the hotel prices).
room service was good (the soup was too salty, but the pizza and hamburger were excellent).
breakfast was quite complete.

room was excellent, very clean, modern and very comfortable even with an extra bed for our little one.
we have booked via melia online, and there was an added 15 Euros of voucher for food and services around the hotel.

Room Tip: we have stayed on the 3rd floor (breakfast is on the 2nd) and had an outstanding night of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very good review on tripadvisor and your sharing.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are most loyal to our hotel chain. Your compliment, titling our hotel as the best for you in our chain so far makes us very proud.
Our staff is doing every day their very best in order to provide a nice service to our guests for their well-being. Nice to read, that we could achieve this with you.
Your comments on our food and the service of all our outlets are highly appreciated.
We are looking forward welcoming you back with us for another stay soon.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN& team
Melia Luxembourg is Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2014 as TOP HOTEL Luxembourg. Thanks to all our guests making this possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    515
    80
    8
    8
See reviews for
185
553
81
533
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Located in the finance district at the top of a very steep hill this is a lovely hotel. Rooms are large and well appointed, our double bed was huge!

Staff were very helpful and accomodating. Parking is available in a private car park next door.

The centre is a pleasant 15 min walk down the hill but you might want to consider getting a taxi back! We did and it cost €10 from the city centre.

Overall really enjoyed the Melia.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeHarvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your top review about our hotel on tripadvisor. Your compliments on our friendly and helpful staff are highly appreciated. We take pride in our staff and their daily work in order to provide a perfect service for you.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our services, benefits and location suitable for your needs.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Happy Easter Holidays to you and your family.
Best regards,

Mario Komann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and the service is consistently great. The rooms are very comfortable. Great bed and pillows!
The WiFi is included and works very well on all my devices (phone, iPad)
I checked in before noon and they already had the room available and was able to freshen up before going to a meeting.
The breakfast is very nice and it was included in our package.
It is a convenient location coming from the airport and easy to get back to the airport in the morning.
We ordered a cab the night before and it was ready when we checked out and the front desk manager came from behind the desk to help with the bags. That was a great touch!
The views from the hotel are magnificent. The hotel is at the top of a hill and apparently there are great trails to run in the morning although I didn't try.
The hotel is a little far from downtown but only a quick cab drive away if you want to visit some of the bars or restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear DriverDan88,


Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor and your sharing.

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed all our services and benefits like the rooms with a nice view. Your compliments on our staff and their services are highly appreciated. We love helping our guests from the very first moment on, making their stay very special.


Your perfect descriptions about the hotel's location and the fast possibility of ordering cabs standing by at our guest's services in time are perfect for other travelers finding our hotel suitable for their needs. Thank you for that.

Regarding the jogging routes you are mentioning, we would like to inform you that we are having a nice guest related program every Wednesday called "run with U" where we, the staff, are jogging with our guests and showing them nice routes along the Kirchberg or downtown.

We do wish to you and your Family Happy Easter Holidays and we are looking forward welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards,


Mario Komann

Melia Luxembourg is TripAdvisor Traveler Choice Award Winner 2014 as Top Hotel.

Thank you all for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in Melia Luxembourg. I selected Melia due to its location near by the conference center which I had an event there. It is only 30-50 meters away away from the conference center. Melia has a very easy access to the public transport. Only 2 bus stops from city largest shopping mall and 10 minutes by bus from city center.
The rooms are very spacious , perfectly equipped and clean. The shower pressure and temperature are perfect. The hotel crew are very helpful, you will never get (no) or (I can't) as an answer. They are ready to help you in anything at anytime.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your nice review on tripadvisor.
We are proud to read that our staff did everything possible in order to make your stay so special.
It is our credo to find always suitable solutions for you in order to avoid words like "no" or "we can't". Thank you for your special mentioning in your review.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here on business for the week. Easy access to the Bus since Lux is famous for it's over priced cabs (take the #16 from the Airport for 2 Euro - get off at the Philharmonic stop). The room was very clean and the staff was wonderful. Breakfast was included and was a wonderful selection to eat.

Very convient to easy walking/site seeing as well as shopping, buses and business. Highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on tripadvsior and your sharing.
we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay on business with us.
Your perfect descriptions on how to come to our hotel by bus no16 from the airport are superb.
Other travelers can easy find their way by bus for only 2eur from the airport to our hotel.
Your compliments on our staff and our services are highly appreciated.

We do wish to you and your family Happy Easter Holidays and we are looking forward welcoming you soon back with us.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in the Melia for three nights while on business and had a very pleasent stay. The room was very comfortable, the food in the resturant was top quality (a little pricey) the location is great for getting into the commercial area and the town, the staff were always on hand to offer advise on where to go and how to get there. A point to maybe consider would be offering some kind of breakfast for the early starters I had to be out at 7am which is the time that breakfast is served. I will be travelling to Luxembourg several times and will be staying here when I do. Thank you Melia staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you so very much for your nice review on tripadvisor and your sharing.
We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your three nights of business stay with us and that our staff did everything possible to provide you with the right, valid information for the city.
We are delighted to tell you that we are offering for our "early birds" (departures before 7am)
the possibility to order a kind of breakfast bag in the morning with a fresh coffee or tea.

It is up to us to thank you for your recommendations and your willingness to return.
These kind of compliments do make us very happy.
We wish to you and your family Happy Easter Holidays and we hope to welcome you soon back with us.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Thanks to all our guest contributing always very good comments and make our hotel win Tripadvisor Traveller Choice Award 2014 as TOP HOTEL Luxembourg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Got a great weekend deal as a walk in. The location was a bit troubling for our GPS, but we managed to make it there. The rooms were very clean and modern. The front desk was very helpful with making dinner reservations for us (since our French is not exactly up to speed).

The location actually worked for us. We were able to drive the 5-10 minutes to the city for dinner and park pretty close to the restaurant. We also had an easy time getting to our bike tour from the hotel. Being slightly outside of the city meant we didn't have to worry about parking (.40 an hour over night) and city driving at night. But I wouldn't think it would be super convenient if you didn't have a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario K, Rooms Division Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you kindly for your nice review on TripAdvisor about our hotel.

It is nice to read that our front desk staff was most helpful making some outside diner reservations for you. We are delighted to help and to make your stay special.

Your descriptions on the hotel's location and how to explore the city and Luxembourg itself by bike are perfect for other guests finding our hotel suitable for their needs.

Thank you for that.

Nearby bus stops may help exploring easily the city even without car,

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,


Mario Komann

 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Luxembourg

Property: Melia Luxembourg
Address: 1 Park Drai Eechelen | 10 Rue Fort Thuengen, Luxembourg City 1499, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Luxembourg City, Melia Luxembourg is a stylish and modern premium hotel located at the centre of the triangle-shaped Place de l'Europe, on the Kirchberg plateau. Directly opposite the Museum of Modern Art and the Philharmonie, the hotel is within walking distance from several EU institutions, like the European Court of Justice, the Court of First Instance, the Court of Auditors of the European Communities, the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union and a number of offices of the European Commission. Designed by renowned international architect Jim Clemens and completed in 2009, Melia Luxembourg is a gem of contemporary architecture within the Luxembourg City skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Melia Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing