We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well deserved Michelin star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sud

Le Sud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We started with cocktails on the cool rooftop bar and then made our way downstairs for the seven course taster menu. The bar area and the restaurant feel like they belong to two different establishments. The bar is cool and relaxed whereas downstairs is very elegant and full of old world charm. The staff are attentive without being overbearing. I had the veal which was excellent, and the verdict on the pigeon (Le Sud's signature dish) was 10/10. Would thoroughly recommend Le Sud for a reasonably priced special night out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    127
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the Best (ex-?) Michelin starred restaurant in lux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I've dined at Le Sud on several occasions and would highly recommend it as a special treat, to impress someone or to celebrate a special occasion. The spacious dining room certainly makes an impression with high vaulted ceilings and dimmed lighting. Food was amazing from start to finish on all occasions I've been there. Go for the tasting menu, you won't regret it but a word of warning, you will get stuffed! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelproLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have had many fine dining experiences around the world. This seven course meal was perfect. From beginning to end, the service and cuisine was exceptional. When ever in Luxembourg again, there is no substitute in my book. Strongly recommend a visit to this lovely dining spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Man1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Schweiz
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had a dinner in le sud and we both only can say: Fantastic! We had the aperitiv on their outside terrace, which is offering a great view with even better drinks. The tasting menue was excellent, the wine recommended was perfekt and offering a good value for money. A clear go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tobias18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on trip advisor and visiting the website of the restaurant I was expecting an amazing experience and I was not disappointed. As soon as we entered the restaurant the service was very attentive and they even offer a stool for your handbag so it is within easy reach :)
Our weightier was very serious and matter of fact but he obviously took his job with a lot of pride and was very happy so explain the menu with pleasure when I had some questions. The sommelier was amazingly helpful and friendly he really made our night perfect by taking his time to find the right wine for us. Even after the first three wines weren't quite right he didn't give up until he had pleased us and did it all with a smile and enjoyment, it made us feel very special and welcomed and we weren't rushed into a decision at all.
The food was also of a very high standard and delicious, I would really recommend the risotto! The kitchen was open plan and it was very interesting to watch the chefs at work. All in all it was a wonderful evening which passed by all too quickly, I would definitely return to Le Sud and encourage others to do the same.

Helpful?
5 Thank chi_chi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Sud also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Strassen, Luxembourg City
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Le Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing