We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here , you will not be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay here , you will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

One night is not enough to judge a hotel but i will try not to provide the pros and cons for first time travelers like me.

Pros:

Excellent staff, very helpful. There was missing body lotion in our room but she took care of it before we are back.

I know people would like to live in and around the city center but this hotel is away from the main attractions of the city. But as plenty of people pointed out, there is a good bus service .So reaching this place from the railway station should not be a problem. Please please don't listen to anyone saying its walkable , its not at all walkable from the station . Take the bus.

I can't comment on the breakfast as it was not included in my rate.

There are really not many cons.

a) Please upgrade Coffee making system. Pullman in Paris provides a nespresso single cup brewer. Shame on you Sofitel lux

b) This hotel is gorgeous as you enter but need an interior design uplift specially the carpet of the room

So if you are getting a deal on this Sofitel, take it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anindyachakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for shared your experience on Tripadvisor and for the kindness of your words.

We are very happy to read that you found our staff “excellent and very helpfull”. Our "Ambassadors" were very touched by your very nice compliments; your satisfaction is our best reward !

We are also so thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the localisation.

Regarding your comments about the nespresso machine, we would like to advise you that we have coffee machines in some kinds of rooms (Premium Luxury rooms and Suites). For your future stay, please, do not hesitate to precise your preferences at the time of booking. We will be very happy to give you a room with a nespresso machine.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    282
    77
    20
    5
See reviews for
121
376
48
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I wish we would have had more time here -- just on our way to France from the states -- but our flight was delayed and we weren't able to make our dinner reservation we had made at the hotel's
Le Stubli. We got there just as it was closing but were able to have a nice glass of wine and some after hours food at another of the hotel's restaurant.

The staff were excellent though and upgraded us to a nicer room, trying to make us feel better after the delay and rerouting of the airline (British Airways).

The next morning we walked into the city (about half an hour's walk from the hotel) and had a brunch. The weather was clear though there had been snow. It was a good walk but there was some construction going around the hotel. I think this would be one of the better hotels for business travelers because of location, but it is close enough to city center to do touristy things as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post this nice review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

We are truly delighted that you appreciated the Hotel’s style and atmosphere.

At Sofitel, our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so it is such a pleasure to read how much you liked our staff and your accommodation.

We are thrilled to read that you would recommend to stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and that you "wish you had more time with us."

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, we remain,

Very truly yours,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Here for about 5 days for business. Room was nice and big but could use an upgrade in terms of design. Nice bed and large washroom. Soft drinks in the room fridge were free. Wifi was a little slow. Tip: Gym has bottles of water available, so I got water from there instead of having to go out and buying some everyday.

The breakfast buffet was decent but pricey. Believe me when I say that there is absolutely nothing around this hotel. It was a 20 - 30 minute walk one way to the office, which had a mall across from it, and a 20 - 30 minute walk the other way towards the town centre.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that I used to get to the office, but it can also take you into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Luxurious and comfortable.
Comfortable and big bed, clean room, nice service. I would come back for sure. Is a littble far from down town, but there are tons of buses pasing by infront of the hote. Secure location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dra_Gabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback !

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed Easter 2013 and never got around to writing a review.

Very good hotel overall with large, clean, modern rooms. Very friendly reception staff.

Book this with lastminute.com 'top secret hotels' and got a very reasonable rate too.

As other reviewers have said, it is about a 20 minute (very easy) walk outside the city centre (appears to be in the financial district), but there is a bus stop right outside and the buses are very frequent and very cheap. Really easy to get to from the airport too - just get off the bus at the philharmonie and you are right there. Alternatively, there is a Veloh bike station right across the road and cycling around the city is very easy and good fun.

I think it is a hotel for business travellers really, so it was very quite during the Easter holidays in terms of other travellers so they had scheduled some renovation work to the main lobby. This started at 8am every day and was quite noisy. Complained to lastminute.com and got a £40 voucher.

Also, ate in the bar late one night and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read your satisfaction about our front desk staff; we always aim at creating a nice atmosphere for our clients as they walk into our hotel. Besides, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms and we would like to thank you for your very nice description of our hotel.

Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry for the problem you encountered with the food at the bar late on night. We assure you that this situation is exceptional and we sincerely apologize for this bad experience.

In addition, we would like to advise you that the renovation of our property is fortunately finished. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to show you the result of the renovation works !

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a few issues with lost bags (caused by BA), however the staff could not do enough for us and even managed to provide an alternative room on our second day. Very easy to get into town by bus. Will be back

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,

We warmly thank you for writing this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our hotel for the quality of the service. All the staff members were extremely touched by your kind words and thrilled that you were sensitive to the values we believe in : availability, courtesy and professionalism.

Hoping your next stay to be entirely perfect,

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

perfect location for anyone having some business with the European Court of Justice. rather high prices but excellent quality. very kind staff. would be perfect if they had free wi-fi connection. recommendable anty way

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argiris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant time at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and that you felt welcome in our Luxembourgish city. Besides, our “very kind staffs” were very touched by the kindness of your writings. Nevertheless, we were very surprised to read that for you the wifi was not free. It was probably a misunderstanding because in fact we offer a free wifi access at all our guests in the hotel. We are really sorry for this misunderstanding.

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,878 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing