We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay near European quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute when my meeting at the European quarter got extended since I was able to get a very good rate and only needed the room for a quick night's sleep. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and I adored the spacious room and the very comfortable bed! There is a separate working desk apart from the TV desk, strong reliable wifi, and tea making facilities, important for those of us who need to get work done in the room! The inside atrium is also very cosy. It's a bit difficult to get to by car though, since while there are signs for Sofitel/Novotel everywhere, it's not really clear exactly where the walking entrance is and where one should park! You need to find the Novotel entrance near the main street and the Sofitel entrance is just behind it. They do have guest parking at €15 per stay, I was told, but didn't use it, since I already had my car outside Novotel (which is right next door) at a metered spot after hours. (Meters are fed only during working hours weekdays 8-6pm.) It was a very enjoyable work and sleep stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay amongst us.

We were truly delighted to read such a positive review. That you consider it “lovely stay” means a lot to us ! Your description of our hotel is definitely wonderfull and we are very grateful to you.

In addition, we would like to thank you very much for your nice compliments regarding the quality of service. Our Ambassadors were very touched by your very kind words.

Once again, thank you for sharing your findings, and allow me to take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This big slab of concrete is for business people in Kirchberg and not handy for Lux City. It could do with a refurb, but has a good breakfast and the first floor bars and restuarants are fine. No mini bar for some reason. Overpriced, but that is Luxembourg.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twothieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Of course, we are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, our bars and our restaurants !

Nevertheless, it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the decoration and the renovation of the rooms. In addition, we are very sad to read that you think our property is only for business people in Kirchberg.


I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and to show you that our hotel is not just a “big slab of concrete” but has also a lot of charm.
We look forward to your next visit with pleasure,

Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Ulrich E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Sofitel L' Europe is a modern hotel. It is very conveniently located within Kirchberg Plateau' next to Luxembourg's organisations and attractions including the Kirchberg Conference Centre Mudam Art Museum and the Philharmonic.
Although its quite spacious and airy, it lacks of character (usual with many Sofitel's; I really do not know how they "achieve" that or I have been unlucky and have stayed throughout Europe in the characterless ones!)
At least it is being compensated with the excellent service, truly professional, customised and caring to the last detail! They all work as a clocked tuned team and the gust relations doing quality assurance all the time!
The only thing that could be improved is their competence of English language, but i na very efficient way when there was an issue the reception team presented immediately an English speaking colleague who co-ordinated accordingly!

special credits to Lorelei (if I spell it correctly) at the front desk team!

If you are visiting for tourism, not the best choice since its a 12-15 EUR to the centre and old town. Good access to the international Airport by taxi (20EUR max)

stars / category: 5 (actually it should be 4)
Lobby: small modern quite convenient, no outside gardens or facilities, yet nice and huge 1st floor atrium, where dinner is served as well as relaxing area and an excellent cigar room

elevators: 2 for customers, despite hotel being fully booked, no major delays or congestion experienced!
room entry system: electronic key, very efficient and always operating

room type: LUXURY top floor room with king size bed / 5th floor (early checkin, late checkout option)
room size: 37sqm, really spacious
room decoration design: "modern" but a bit 80-90s style, yet warm and attractive with lots of customised wooden furnishings

smoking / non smoking rooms option: non smoking
pets allowed: yes

view from the room:3/5 , despite wall to wall windows and that 2 side windows open enough to get fresh air, they view is not fascinating (2nd floor up / below you may get "trapped" by surrounding buildings)

opening windows: yes (2 small ones)
balcony: no

Feeling of safety: very high
check in: a bit slow, although an Accor member and with a reservation, asked too many beaurocratical paperwork (aprox 7min)

floor quality (parket / marble/ carpet / other): lively carpets, very well maintained
heating / airconditioning / ventilation: AC climate control, excellent one and very silent!
noise levels: insulation internal / external: very low, absolute sound proof
shading (electrical shades, curtains, etc): curtains (2 folds, offering total darkness) / usual Accor "cheap" approach to have only one inside curtail for mall to wall! totally unacceptable, for a 5 star hotel!

feeling clean: 5/5
room lighting: 3/5 / despite many lights, final result not good)
dimmer option: no
electricity sockets: ok, very few, not convenient, none by the bed and none by the working desk!

bed: extremely comfortable extra king-size bed (My Bed by Sofitel)
mattress: extremely heavenly!!!!!!
pillows: 4,
covers (duvet, blankets,etc): duvet, just excellent!
linens quality: 5/5

wardrobe closet: yes, efficient
efficient clothes hangers: heavy wood structure, more than you can wish for and free hanging
shoe shine sponge / cloth: yes,cloth
sleepers:yes, very good quality
Iron & Ironing Board: No, but you simply ask and they offer you the service asap

writing desk / workspace: yes, extra large!
dustbin: yes

# of television devices in the room: 1 / HD LCD 32” TV (Philips, very good with back ambilight!)
# of tel devices in the room: 1 / voice mailbox: Excellent but only 1 which is standard in 5star hotels
wake up call: on time
cable / satellite TV: yes
Digital TV Channels: yes
Pay TV: No
tv channels: 41, no movies or documentaries channels and only 2 international English (BBC, CNBC)

tv set remote control was out of battery; when reported, in 0 time send someone form tech department and simply provided me with a replacement!

i phone / pod / pad dock: No
internet connection: free
high sped internet: yes, when connected; in the evening experienced some challenges!
cable / wifi: wifi

Digital Safe: yes
notebook size: yes
Refrigerator: yes
Mini-Bar: yes, not so well stocked (no sweet selects, etc), but free of charge at this room category and re stocked daily!
Microwave: no
Coffee Maker: Yes
Water-boiler: yes
Toaster: no

daily newspaper: yes
complimentary snacks/facilities: at this room level (LUXURY ROOM) courtesy full minibar, Nespresso coffee machine

NESPRESSO coffee maker with small variety of coffee capsules (only car / decaf)
unfortunately with the usual nightmare in hotels around the world with this type of coffee maker! (you need at least 3-4 cups of water first to flush the system clean from previous coffee debris inside!)

bathroom size: large (aprox 7 sam) / well appointed, white / grey coloured marble tiles with dark granite sink
additional features: N/A
water quality / pressure: could have been higher!
water temperature: hot enough!
ventilation: yes, 5/5
shower cabin: bath with shower in the tub
rain forest shower: No
heater / radiator in bathroom: no
mirrors: very adequate
wall face mirror: yes very good , without light option
vatity set: yes, a good one

toiletry brand: LANVIN hotel collection
clothes hanging / drying cord: No
towels: 6, quality / softness: 4/5
bathrobe: yes, excellent ones

weight scale: yes, No
toilet paper quality / quantity: could have been softer / / 2
dustbin: yes
toilet brush: yes
tissues, boxed / wall mounted dispenser: yes / wall mounted, good quality
tel device in bathroom: no
Personal Hygiene Pack: yes
hair dryer: yes, good quality, high speed

Business centre: yes, small but highly efficient
room service: excellent quality and delivery time simply "flying" waiters!

breakfast: full buffet service, really fresh and tasty options
quality: 5/5
variety: 4/5

gym facilities: a fitness centre with good variety of cardiovascular equipment
SPA: no

concierge service: yes, excellent and very knowledgeable!
parking: yes, onsite free, including indoor spaces
airport shuttle service: no
check out speed: very fast, less that 2 min with invoicing printing!

Room Tip: Hi floor, if ou have the budget go for the 5th floor with extra free services and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg16672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

You left a very complete description of your hotel and I am sure that your review will help many customers in their choice.

Your comments on our staff ( in particular for guest relation, Lorelei and the concierge) were so appreciated, and needless to say passed on to the entire team who love to receive our guests’ comments.
We also were pleased that you found the hotel "modern" and the localization very conveniently.
Delighted that you found the bed extremely comfortable with the king size bed (My Bed concept).

Thank you for being such wonderful Ambassadors, and I can assure you that we will continue to raise the bar even higher!

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and stayed here for our anniversary last weekend. I wasn't sure if it was the right move as I knew it's usually a business hotel, a little way from the tourist centre. But it was a great decision, the hotel is lovely great staff and nicely appointed. The trip to the centre is only a twenty minute walk or 5 minutes on the bus for 2 euros each, free on Sundays. The staff are really good, so friendly , nothing is too much trouble, getting from the,airport is 15 minutes by bus, the number 16, and is very good. We had a lovely room on the second floor, a great size, and one of the quietest rooms I have every stayed in, which is a huge plus. There is a secondary door too, after the bathroom, but we didn't need it. We had bed and breakfast, champagne and chocolates on arrival, and late check out for £122, a bargain I think, and worth every penny. We can't praise the hotel enough. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnboycrawleydown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for this very special occasion and for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor.

Needless to say, “lovely anniversary” was the nicest word we could ever want to read ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, all the “Ambassadors" of the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe would like to congratulate you !
Hopefully you can make it a tradition to visit Sofitel Luxembourg Europe every November for your anniversary...

Thank you again very much for your wonderfull description and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I spent 2 nights here in november; hotel was fully booked, but service was great. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Very good bed with enough pillows. I had dinner in the restaurant Le Stübli, very tastefull local specialities and a great venisson menu. Service was excellent and personal.
Menu was not expensive and great wine selection available. I would definitely stay her again.

Room Tip: Alle kamers liggen rondom het atrium, uitzicht is nagenoeg overal gelijk; je kijkt op andere gebouwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for shared your experience on Tripadvisor and for the kindness of your words.

First of all, we are very happy to know that you found a nice service while our hotel was fully booked. At Sofitel, our goal is indeed to make every guest feel special and important and I am thrilled that your experience far exceeded your expectations; I will certainly not fail to share them with all our staff members.

Moreover, we are very happy to read that you found your room “nice, clean and spacious” and that you enjoyed our “My Bed” concept.

Finally, our "Ambassadors" at the restaurant “le Stubli“were very touched also by your very nice compliments; your satisfaction is definitely our best reward!


We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £88 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing