We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are just great - other hotels should send their trainees here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff are just great - other hotels should send their trainees here!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed from the reception staff through to the breakfasts (huge choice) and restaurants and bars. The staff just couldn't be more helpful. A testament to their management team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnysailorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your guest experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you found our staff extremely professional! I shared your compliments with all my team and everyone was very touched by your very kind words. Your satisfaction is the best reward for our staff who works every day to give you a perfect service and a wonderful experience.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments, and looking forward to welcoming you on a return Luxembourgish visit.

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    276
    72
    19
    5
See reviews for
117
355
46
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This feels like a 4-star hotel even though it is advertized as 5-star. The hotel is located in the business area of Luxemburg City. As we were on our way to the Alps, this was a definite advantage since there are wide avenues to the motorway surrounding the city. For visiting Luxemburg city I would recommend staying in a different quarter of the city.

The hotel probably caters to business people during the week with the odd guest during the weekend. Occupancy appeared low during our stay on a Friday night. One would not choose it for its atmosphere but for the convenience of its location and the facilities offered. The inside atrium looks nice but the disadvantage is noise. When we arrived there was a small party going on and I'm sure there was no room in the hotel that did not suffer from the noise. Fortunately though, the party broke up early, so we did enjoy a good night's sleep.

All-in-all, a good bed to sleep in, good quality breakfast, not exactly cheap but a decent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Of course, we are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed our “My Bed” concept, our breakfast and our nice Atrium.
We are also very pleased that you mentioned the convenience of our location and the facilities offered.


Nevertheless, it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations, to the point that you think our hotel feels like a 4 stars.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We were very concerned regarding your comments about the noise in the Atrium, due to holiday season. Fortunately, and as you mentioned, this party ended early in order to preserve sleep for our guests. However, I would like to express my sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.



I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and to show you that our hotel provide a real 5 stars service.
It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute when my meeting at the European quarter got extended since I was able to get a very good rate and only needed the room for a quick night's sleep. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and I adored the spacious room and the very comfortable bed! There is a separate working desk apart from the TV desk, strong reliable wifi, and tea making facilities, important for those of us who need to get work done in the room! The inside atrium is also very cosy. It's a bit difficult to get to by car though, since while there are signs for Sofitel/Novotel everywhere, it's not really clear exactly where the walking entrance is and where one should park! You need to find the Novotel entrance near the main street and the Sofitel entrance is just behind it. They do have guest parking at €15 per stay, I was told, but didn't use it, since I already had my car outside Novotel (which is right next door) at a metered spot after hours. (Meters are fed only during working hours weekdays 8-6pm.) It was a very enjoyable work and sleep stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay amongst us.

We were truly delighted to read such a positive review. That you consider it “lovely stay” means a lot to us ! Your description of our hotel is definitely wonderfull and we are very grateful to you.

In addition, we would like to thank you very much for your nice compliments regarding the quality of service. Our Ambassadors were very touched by your very kind words.

Once again, thank you for sharing your findings, and allow me to take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This big slab of concrete is for business people in Kirchberg and not handy for Lux City. It could do with a refurb, but has a good breakfast and the first floor bars and restuarants are fine. No mini bar for some reason. Overpriced, but that is Luxembourg.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twothieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Of course, we are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, our bars and our restaurants !

Nevertheless, it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the decoration and the renovation of the rooms. In addition, we are very sad to read that you think our property is only for business people in Kirchberg.


I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and to show you that our hotel is not just a “big slab of concrete” but has also a lot of charm.
We look forward to your next visit with pleasure,

Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing