We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay...”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent three days in this hotel and it was a comfortable stay. I think that the best there quality to be mentioned are outstanding quality of breakfast, the good quality of the food (especially the hamburgers) and the room service efficiency.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your very nice words regarding our Food & Beverage’s facilities. We shared your comment with pleasure with my Ambassadors, they were glad to make your stay very good.

We hope to see you again in our hotel Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your next stay.

Kind regards.

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    282
    77
    20
    5
See reviews for
122
377
48
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night as Luxembourg is handily located about half way between Calais and the Alps.

Whilst the hotel is not particularly impressive from the outside, the view in their atrium is fabulous (see my attached photos). There's plenty of parking, although you do have to pay for it (about EUR12-a-day I think). The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Dinner in the bar (Thai green curry) was excellent.

The hotel is in the business district, which was completely deserted when we turned up on Friday evening, but I can imagine that it probably gets quite busy during the week. But you can walk into the centre of Luxembourg City in 20-25 minutes (through a park - quite a nice walk).

Although we were only there for a night, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying there again.

A tip for getting to the hotel - if you're approaching from the south and it looks like your sat-nav is taking you throught the middle of the City, go up the A1/E44 to the east of the City instead and approach the hotel from the north-east along route 51 (Avenue John F Kennedy). Driving through the middle of town was a pain even at 8pm on a Friday evening.

Room Tip: Due to the way the hotel is laid out, as far as I can tell the rooms are all pretty much as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your last stay in Luxembourg.

Also, thank’s a lot for your very nice comment concerning our Atrium and our facilities. It is the best reward for us. We shared your kind words with all my Ambassadors of our hotel and they were very touched.

We are very glad to know that you liked a lot our bedding. The concept “My Bed” is a unique concept available in every Sofitel all around the world… With “My Bed” you feel to be like softness’ cocoon in order to offer you a wonderful and relax sleep.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your wonderful description of our hotel. We hope and we will very glad to welcome you in Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your next trip in this city.

Best regards

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Couldn't comment anymore on the amenities, as it is pretty standard as a 5 star Hotel.

But the friendly staffs are the one who make my stay wonderful and unforgettable. Helpful, friendly and informative front desk and concierge always made my trip easy.

Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemanthaChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your last visit and for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I shared your very nice compliments with all my team and everyone was very touched by your very kind words...Your satisfaction is the best award for all my “Ambassadors”.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got confused about the signs guiding us as it said "Novotel/Sofitel". They seem to share the same parking lot, or they might be the same hotel as I did not recognize the Sofitel quality. First, be aware this hotel is not in the city but in the business neighborhood. Therefore, it may lack charm to say the least, and be mostly functional. The lobby looks like one of these Double Tree in the US, with a open huge atrium. The rooms are equally without character, orange being the dominant color and not a fancy one for a luxury hotel. During breakfast, five (!) staff members were talking loudly in the room where we were eating. Now, it is ok for people to communicate, one has to be social, no doubt about it. Yet if you are a staff member and you really have nothing to do during your working hours, you may want to take the discussion in a quiet place, not in front of the guests. Breakfast itself was ok, with good pastries and little smoothies but nothing to remember forever in a Sofitel. Prices can be astounding if you look at the rates in the room, a superior one can be up to 400 euros! This is definitely overpriced and I do not consider this hotel to be of Sofitel quality. I assume most of the guests are business people who don't really care about charm as long as there is free Wifi. As for me, I was disappointed and will avoid in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are very sad to hear that you didn’t like our big Atrium.
In addition, we are also very sad to hear that you didn’t like the orange color in your room. For your information, we have also blue and yellow rooms. It is unfortunate that you did not mention your preference at the reception ... We would have changed the room for you immediately and with pleasure.

Regarding your experience at the breakfast area, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I can promise you that this situation doesn’t reflect our quality of service. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I remain at your entire disposal should you require further information and look forward to meeting you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

With sincere and devoted regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I arrived to the hotel yesterday late night after spending a long day in flights all over the place. Jeanna was smiling, funny and welcoming and all she said about the great room, the large bed and the room service was all true. Well done.
I even thought to find her and send her a personal email as it is so rare to find these people like her.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUAN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very generous comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

Thank you very much also for your very kind words regarding Jeanne Zampa, our Guest Relation Manger. She was very touch by your nice compliments and we are very happy to hear that your received a wonderful welcome !

All the Ambassadors are waiting for your future stay and if you would like to contact Jeanne, his email address is h1314-gr@sofitel.com .

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

In Luxembourg for the weekend we checked in on Saturday afternoon..

Staff really friendly and helpful - our room wasn't ready so we were given an upgrade to one that was - nice touch..

Typical Sofitel quality everywhere - the inside looks a little like a prison block however with all rooms backing onto a common open space - nice idea but still looks like Alcatraz...

Rooms are large and fittings and furnishings, as expected, high quality. TV only has one channel in English - the BBC news...

It was a bit like being in a post apocalypse movie - everything works and the staff are great, but there are NO guests around - so little atmosphere or energy anywhere, which was a shame; but that is Luxembourg...

Breakfast - 1/2 excellent and 1/2 not so good. The fruits and cold buffest are really good, teh "english" breakfast with chicken sausages, non Heinz baked beans and streaky bacon with American pancakes was not up to exp[ectations..

Great hotel, lovely staff - low energy at the weekend and chicken sausages only let down...

Room Tip: Take friends with you and the bar will be all yours at weekends - the barman - from Wrexham, no less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your last visit.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are very happy to hear that you found our staff really friendly and helpful. Your satisfaction regarding the service is certainly the best award for all my “Ambassadors”.
In addition, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the hotel in general.

Nevertheless, we are very sad to read that you didn’t like our big Atrium and the quiet atmosphere during the week-end.
I am also sincerely sorry that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#8 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,882 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing