We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps not as good as you'd expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Perhaps not as good as you'd expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place is part of the Mercure chain, and so sets itself a certain standard. Rooms are a decent size, with the fittings etc you'd expect. But there are lapses - a blocked sink and ripped curtains in my first room, no vacuuming of my second room over 4 days, variable wifi speed in the room, and carpets that look tired and worn. The rooms are in need of a decent makeover to maintain Mercure standards. The price (excluding breakfast) is not bad for Luxembourg, and the location immediately opposite the station, is excellent. A pleasant 10 minutes walk gets you to the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in shape, size and fittings, so ask to view a couple before deciding instead of just taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare as your accommodation choice during your recent visit and for taking the time to give us your impression.

I regret that your stay did not give you entire satisfaction, but the future will give you more than you would expect.
We are finalizing our renovation project and all our rooms will be renovated. In fact, you will discover a new Alfa Mercure with a new design, extremely comfortable and with new equipments.

We hope to welcome you soon,

Sincerely,
Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    313
    257
    101
    47
See reviews for
108
278
76
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect and saved on two cab rides for me. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were a good size, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The carpets and furniture were rather dated and worn. The walk to the old town was about 25 minutes.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

It is with a nice pleasure that we discovered your review on Tripadvisor.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send it, and also for all your feedback.

Your satisfaction is our goal, and every day all staff strives to give the best of them for this.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, our friendly staff, our rooms but also, our shuttle service.

We hope to welcome you again soon,
Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on the way home from a Rail Holiday. Impressive frontage & good reception. However, room was vey basic, carpets stained by bleach, and bathroom so small, it was not easy to get in and use the facilities.
Why have outward opening shower doors that soak the floor that you are about to stand on? Separate toilet has it's advantages!
The buffet breakfast was difficult to work out. There was nothing on the tables except knives & Forks. The food and crockery were nowhere near each other and we had to use machines to dispense coffee & tea which is rather a pain.
Ok for one night, but can only give 3 star at best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare, on Tripadvisor, and also for giving us your feddback.
It is with regret, we note that your stay did not give you entire satisfaction. Also, we offer you our sincere apologies concerning the experience at the breakfast.

Furthermore, I am pleased to inform you about our future. We are finalizing our renovation project for all our rooms, to bring a new design, more comfort and new equipments.

We hope to welcome you again in this new Alfa Mercure,
Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on our way home from a Great Rail Journeys Rhine cruise. Our room and our bed were huge! But the bathroom looked a bit tired, and the carpets in the corridors had seen better days - were very stained. The breakfast was adequate, but it is difficult to make a comment about the food in the dining room as we had a set meal which wasn't very exciting. It is a short walk to the railways station, so is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marionsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

May I begin by thanking you for your review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare on TripAdvisor. As we are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests, your feedback is of great value to us.

It is with regret, we note that your stay did not give you entire satisfaction.
Regarding the room, I just want to inform you that we are working hard to finalize our renovation project to bring a new design, more comfort and new equipments in our rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in this new Alfa Mercure,
Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchinleck, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was on an organised trip by the Iron Maiden Fan Club. Brilliant hotel in the centre of Luxembourg.

All the staff were brilliant and very friendly (especially as due to a Belgian train strike I was very late checking in).

My room was large and spotlessly clean and had a large shower room. The bed was extremely comfy and as my room was at the rear of the hotel it was very quiet.

Breakfast was amazing with a huge choice of hot and cold items.

Would certainly like to return here for another holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lem01uk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare, on Tripadvisor.
We discovered your kind words with pleasure and your feedback has been shared with the entire team.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our large room and our amazing breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again soon,
Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 1 night as a stopover travelling by train. Ideally situated opposite the Railway Station. And a 10 minute walk over the viaduct into the old town. Nice restaurant, good breakfast choices, and very comfortable rooms. Will stay again when passing through.

Room Tip: Front has views (go higher). Rear is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylan3spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare, on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with our french style brasserie, our all you can eat breakfast and our comfortable rooms.

We hope to welcome you again soon,
Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Gare
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Ga...
#37 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#30 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Address: 16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the railway station, in the heart of the business and shopping district and close to the historic town centre, with the European institutions nearby. 141 airconditioned rooms with bathtub and shower, telephone, modem, televison and minibar.The hotel also features a restaurant and meeting rooms. Pay WiFi Internet is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing