We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but ...”
Review of Grand Hotel Cravat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cravat
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night, travelling for business. The location of the hotel is great, it's right in the old town and one can get to loads of restaurants and bars within minutes. The room however was really small and in need of serious renovation (maybe there are some other renovated rooms already in the hotel??). Although 4 star, the hotel didn't provide any slippers so brushing your teeth in the bathroom standing on the cold marble floor was a bit unpleasant :-) Breakfast was ok. Overall, for a short stay and for business people (who don't spent much time in the hotel room anyway) it will do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorana273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

There is just something appealing in this hotel which I really can't explain. It is old and worn, rooms are not big and polished. Still, I think the reason I love this hotel is that it has aged in style - no clumsy attempts of modernizing parts of the hotel but you can clearly see that everything is more or less as in several decades ago. It is easy to imagine the life in this hotel in the beginning of it's history because they let the age show and they do it with style.
I'd say there is no better located hotel if you want to explore city center and attractions of Luxembourg. Staff and service is not truculent but rather discreet and minimalistic which I really like as being from northern Europe. The breakfast is marvelous and the bar is really cozy.
If you can like the fact that the hotel has some patine and honestly shows it's age I can recommend this hotel as it wears it's history with such pride that I have seldom seen.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms from upper levels in order to minimize the noise from the streets. Some rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The location is excellent, just few steps from old town.

Hotel is little old, but the room is clean, not so big. Bathroom is clean and refurbished.

The staff were helpful, friendly and very curteous. Breakfast is hotel is fine, and bar prices are ok,

Wi fi is available in hotel, but very expansive.

But you have nice pub nearby, maybe 100 m from hotel, Independent bar, with free wi fi and very reasonable prices, excellent food and great service.

The location is the best moment of this hotel, and there is no parking place if you come with car.

Also, there are rooms in hotel with windows on an internal well sized air shaft, without natural daily light.... check if your room is one of those before you confirm your booking for this hotel if you want natural light.

Room Tip: Some rooms dont have windows with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is located in the old city, in a fabulous location. The hotel has a certain charm if you love old Europe and certain details. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is very good. The only inconvenience is that if you get a low rate for a room, it is most likely because you will be given a bedroom with a window on an internal well sized air shaft, this means no natural light.
If you care for an excellent location, a mint bedroom/bathroom and don't care for light, then you will get a very good deal. If light is important for you, look for other competitive rates and decide accordingly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Our room had been refurbished, bathroom was lovely, room size as expected for older style hotel and the price reflected this. Very good value for money and the breakfast was surprisingly extensive. Staff were very helpful. Internet access although free was time restricted. Just one thing ladies take your own hair dryer if you are not keen on the integrated Hoover style ones in the bathroom. Selected terrible by mistake for fitness facilities there were none

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the city centre, just next to the catedral. But as the city is small, it's not far to the old city or to go the old, renewed industrial part of town just under the bridges.
Small rooms, but ok standard with a very nice bathroom. Service is very good, with a nice and helpful frotndesk. Breakfast is included and standard continetal, but good served in at room overlooking the park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful. We ate in the hotel on our last night and the meal was excellent. Also the bar prices are very reasonable. The location is excellent being in the old town. As other reviewers have noted the hotel is in need of modernisation and refurbishment especially bathroom fittings. We assume it is still privately owned and costs for this are probably prohibitive.
We drove there from England and some points to note if coming by car. There is nowhere to stop outside the hotel to unload your car. There is a pay and display opposite (very crowded) which we used. There is a covered garage behind the hotel which is good but is very popular.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,717 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
2,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Vi...
#14 of 50 in Luxembourg City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 50 in Luxembourg City
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cravat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cravat

Address: 29 Boulevard F-D Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £70 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cravat 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Cravat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Luxembourg City
Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing