We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not on a warm day”
Review of Grand Hotel Cravat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cravat
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice, but not on a warm day”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A old and proud hotel, but with no modernisation it is a bit obsolete. No air conditioning made this my hottest night ever, and i have slept in the middle of africa with no ac on a sommer night. Humid and with a sworm of insects invading the room when the window is opened this was not a pleasant experience. We had two rooms and the other had a better temperature so it cold be a problem for this room only. So stay away from 662. 664 was better. Everything needs some tlc to be a good hotel again. Tha staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We took roms in the top floor. Not so smart with no ac. The whole floor was very warm. Less noice bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write a feedback of your recent stay at the Grand Hôtel Cravat.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the insects and the warm night. Be assured that your comments are taken very seriously and that we are currently looking for some solutions concerning this issues.

We are glad to hear that our staff was helpful for you .

Hope to to welcoming you once again here in Luxembourg.

Yours sincerely,


Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    197
    149
    46
    36
See reviews for
57
207
48
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a one night stay. About 0.8km from the train station, but located very close to most restaurants and night life. Situated high, with good views over the city and ravine.
Staff very helpful and curteous. Older style hotel, but all modern bathrooms and media services. Well priced, and we were well pleased.
Most travel revolves around the train station, with bus station adjacent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1943dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your kind comments on Trip Advisor following your experience at the Grand Hôtel Cravat.

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our rooms with a good view. Your satisfaction regarding our staff is most important to us, and we will be happy to share your feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved the lifts, one is a bird cage, the oldest in Luxembourg, I believe.
Staff very attentive and friendly.
Food was good, and bar area a true respite for relaxation!
Great location! You were very comfortable with exploring the area on your own, no safety issues were apparent.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglemom293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Hôtel Cravat on your recent visit to Luxembourg and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to read hat you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the location of the property and the areas as well as the service of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel was probably quite splendid 50 years ago but unfortunately it hasn't move on since. The first room I moved into smelled like an old peoples' home and after lifting up the mattress I decided I wouldn't be staying. To be fair the second room was a lot nicer, but the lack of aircon allied to the City Centre location means it is pretty noisy with the window open. It is not cheap by any means and you have to pay extra for internet. The dressing gowns and towels were very tired and overall there were so many dated aspects like the telephone in the room that looked like a receptionists work station or the 1st generation clock radio from 1980. The staff were friendly and helpful though and the bar is a relaxing place to have. Drink. After staying in the hotel I cannot wait to get home to a comfortable bed, thankfully this was a work trip otherwise I would have been a bit gutted.

Room Tip: Go to the Amelia up the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabbycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Grand Hôtel Cravat.

I have reviewed your comments and please rest assured that I take them really seriously.

Allow me to apologize personally that your stay did not reach your expectations, be assured that your experience does not reflect the levels of standard on which we have built our reputation.

I would greatly appreciate it if you would like to contact me directly, so as to discuss the different issues.

I am looking forward to hearing back from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You know, Luxembourg city is a very nice place to stay. If you need a hotel for your stay, I can really recommand the Grand Hotel Cravat. It is a little old fashioned but in very good shape. Lots of people like a hotel being this way. It is situated wright in the center of the city of Luxembourg, very close to the Cathedral, to the marketplace and of course to the Palace. Also the entrance to the interesting "Casemates" is in front of the hotel, just across the street. The symbol of Luxembourg is also right there and you can have a very nice view there to the so called "Grund", the deep valley dividing Luxembourg into the Old Part and the more Modern Part.
Talking about the Hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated with modern television and clean bathroom. The overall Service is excellent, a nice bar for your cocktails and drinks is available. I did not have lunch or dinner there, but the restaurant looks very nice. Breakfast was included in the room price. It is ample and delicious. Coffee and several kinds of tea are also available.
I wish you a nice stay there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny but a bit noisy. But the street is getting quiet at night. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Inhaber at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comment on tripadvisor about our hotel and its facilities.

We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant time here in Luxembourg and that your stay reached your expectations.

Especially your comments about our service and the hotel room touched us very much.

We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

With best wishes,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the restaurants and sites of the city and only a short walk from the airport bus stop.

The rooms are an average size, but that is not a problem for a city hotel, they are VERY comfortable and clean. The restaurant offers a great breakfast of continental and cooked items and the hotel reception staff could not be any more helpful. They answered all our questions and were most accommodating.

Would I stay again? Most definintely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Grand Hôtel Cravat. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the service we offer and that you appreciated our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another stay.

With best wishes,


Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glostrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was lucky to get a great room with balcony and perfect view. Old hotel, some rooms need update. Perfect location.
...................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillebamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

Indeed, the hotel has very nice rooms with balcony and a wonderful view all over the city.

We hope to welcoming you very soon in Luxembourg.

With best wishes,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#12 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cravat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cravat

Property: Grand Hotel Cravat
Address: 29 Boulevard F-D Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cravat 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Cravat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Luxembourg City
Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing