We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Molitor
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edgewater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We got a good rate at this hotel and were surprised at how nice our room was. We had a room (205) on the main street, but when we closed the windows, we could not hear any street noise. The furnishings were basic and the king bed very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and well appointed. Beautiful tile walls and new fixtures. Free Wifi worked well. The staff was very helpful. The reception area and elevator could use some work. The restaurant was not open at dinner time, however there are many restaurants close by. The breakfast selection was enormous. Any thing you could want was available. Hot and cold. Wonderful breads.
It was an easy walk to the old part of town and we enjoyed the experience. We would stay here againl

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patca558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    116
    91
    36
    6
See reviews for
38
74
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here in May. The hotel has basic accommodations. No air con. We were given a room facing the street. With the windows open the room was very noisy. The bed was comfortable. The shower wasnt great and the towels were thin. We did get free wi-fi. That was nice. The hotel is within walking distance to the rail station and central to everything else. There is plenty of public transportation if you dont feel like walking. The Dexia bank is caddy corner to the hotel where you can exchange your currency.
Breakfast at the hotel is very basic but it's better than nothing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2347m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel is close to RR station and a short walk to Lux City attractions. However, our room was facing a major street and it was very noisy even with the window closed. Free wifi but you have to log on each time. Staff speaks enough English to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schellter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This hotel is rather run down and deeply in need of refurbishment. Allthough, we had a nice stay in beautiful Luxembourg. The location is ok, only a 15 min. walk to the old town. Ok breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The room was really basic, quite run down looking but with a nice big window overlooking the side street. Two single beds and certainly nothing special. The free internet was good and the location was good for getting to and from the station. Really wouldn't rush back, it wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DA_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed here for one night with my husband after travelling for 3 weeks camping around Europe. The bed was very welcoming!! The hotel was nice and clean and we got a good deal online. It could use some refurbishment in the deco. Breakfast was nice and lots to choose from. It was centrally located and we walked everywhere. Just get yourself a city map at the reception. I liked that there was a reading area with books you can exchange so got myself a new book to read!

Luxembourg is a small city and can be toured in a day. The gorge is a delight to walk through and we got some nice photos. We were never sure if the city's language was French or German as one part of town had notices in German and other parts were in French!

If we ever came back to Lux, I would stay at this hotel again. It was nice enough for a city break but not a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

A clean comfortable hotel with a central location, the hotel is typical of other golden tulip hotels providing comfortable rooms, basic toiletries, basic continental breakfast, friendly and polite staff.

The hotel was clean and comfortable but is beginning to show wear and tear and could do with redecorating, for one or two nights this hotel is good value for money. There are no non smoking rooms and disabled access was limited.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The86Robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 49 in Luxembourg City
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christophe Colomb
Hotel Christophe Colomb
#32 of 49 in Luxembourg City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#22 of 49 in Luxembourg City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Molitor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Molitor

Property: Hotel Central Molitor
Address: 28 Avenue de la Liberte, Luxembourg City 1930, Luxembourg (Formerly Golden Tulip Central Molitor)
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Molitor 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central Molitor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Central Molitor Hotel Luxembourg City
Central Molitor Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Golden Tulip
Hotel Central Molitor Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing