We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why this hotel belongs to “Leading Hotels of the World”?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Not sure why this hotel belongs to “Leading Hotels of the World”? Service and facilities are definitely not at that standard.
We ordered the pick-up from the airport. 25min after arrival and 10min after we had our luggage I phoned the concierge and was told that the car is in traffic and should arrive within 5 min. When I called again 10min later I was told the same story. Another 10min later I was told about major traffic jam in Luxembourg. The car finally arrived 50min after our arrival. Not a good start for a Surprise weekend to which I had invited my partner. The way back to the hotel took 15min and no traffic jam insight. After arrival I spoke to the manager on duty and she told me that traffic jams come and go very quickly. She even didn’t bother to say sorry.
The rooms are furnished in 80’s style. We were disgusted when we realised that the toilet still had brown stains from our predecessors. We booked the Executive room. Even a coffee maker is missing (many 3 Star hotels have one). Hairdryer is an early 80s style weak device. Sauna and Steam room are also in 80s style. The sauna was only at 70 degree C so not really useful. I booked a massage for my partner and she rated it as 5 out of 10 points not knowing that one hour costs 160€. She said it was not really a massage but more a stroking. You can get a great massage for half the price. If you pay extra-ordinary prices than you should not accept below ordinary performance.
On Saturday we left the hotel at 9:00 for the city and put the “make-up room” sign outside. When we returned at 16:00 we wanted to relax but at that time the room was not even made. I had to call housekeeping and we spend the waiting time in the bar. At departure the trip back to the airport took just 15 min.
The stay in this hotel was really disappointing. The only thing which is 5 Star and higher are the prices. Service and facilities struggle to reach even 4 stars. I would not recommend Le Royal to any of my friends. It is easy to find better value for money.

Room Tip: Don't choose an Executive room - not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honeybambel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was in Luxembourg for a business trip and had recommendation from my colleage as not to think of any other hotel than Le Royal and true to my expectations Le Royal lived up to its reputation.

Fantastic service, great rooms, decent gym and health club and to top it all a great bar (if solitude is your objective) and excellent breakfast.

Check in was a breeze, I was alloted a room on 2nd floor, with a view of the park behind the hotel. The rooms were very tastefully done and adequately spaced and nice furniture. The bathrooms are also cosyly done with spot free tiles and accessories befitting a luxury hotel

The breakfast has good spread, though not included in my booking, I did not want to miss out and ate heartily for all the seven days I stayed at Le Royal. I did try the restaurant once for Lunch and the Piano bar . Luxembour being a quiet city, I did not expect a great atmosphere at the Bar of a Hotel so was not disappointed.

The only issue I faced during my stay was with the Gym, which is poorly equipped with just one treadmill a single cross trainer and a single pair of dumbells, no push up bar etc. Many a times guests continue to use the treadmill for close to an hour, with no regard to fellow gym users. So had to shift my running to the park behind the hotel in very cold climate for Indian standards. I did use the steam and sauna a couple of times and very happy with the service

Check out was super quick as well..though there was a double charge on my card ,this was reversed the very next day of my check out, so happy ending.

I will surely return to Le Royal for my next trip in Luxembourg

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the Park shoudl be good than the street facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

superb hotel. Great location.great rooms.Beautiful pool sauna and steam room. Rooms are large airy and tastefully furnished Lobby and hotel itself are classically beautiful. Rooms have every convenience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Set your expectations for a 4 star hotel last decorated around the late 80s and you will be fine.

If you want a five star in lux go to the Sofitel (grand ducal not the other one).

Upside: central- I stagger out of bed and I'm in the office. V
They have kit-kats in the minibar good for midnight craving (though at 6.5 Euros a pop only indulge if only the corporate credit card).

Downside: if you have a room which is facing the road, it is a main road and it is NOISY!
Room could benefit from more plugs. Honestly one socket at the other side of the room. Come on.

Room Tip: Non-smoking, good wifi access (no really, some have rubbish signal) and NOT FACING THE STREET
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruarih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very good hotel, well located, very kind staff. Breakfast has many varieties of bread, jams, pastries, fruits, cereals... Parking ok too.
The rooms are somewhat old fashioned (might be the carpets, the curtains, bathroom, the furniture, all of the above) but cleanliness is ok - to the exception of the refurbished loungers in the room where I was. I sadly sat on it with some black trousers and discovered when standing up that my legs were covered of white particles. Not sure what I was (dead skin cells ?), did not want to look at it closer, and managed to remove this excess of dirt.
A pity, but except this the stay was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine_F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very good and welcoming staff and very comfortable rooms, we have only eaten at the cheaper restaurant which is very good and particularly good value if you choose from the seasonal menu. The hotel is well situated and has a pleasant park next door.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are particularly pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGPtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Some say hotels are a reflection of the places they are in. If that is true Luxembourg is not only self-satisfied, but is deluded about what constitutes good quality standards and service. To illustrate . . .

Check-in at this hotel is from 1pm. We arrived at 4pm to be told our room wasn't quite ready and asked to wait five minutes. A great deal more than five minutes later when we enquired whether the room was now ready, we were met by the blank look of a receptionist who had clearly forgotten we existed - to the degree she kept calling my wife by the wrong name.

I won't bore you with the details of things such as the non-smoking area that reeked of cigarette smoke (which odour half-an-hour later changed to one of overpowering air freshener), the wrongly taken order at breakfast or the drunks in the overpriced bar, but will just say that having waited nearly two months for a reply to my observations to the general manager on the parlous state of his establishment I was unsurprised to read a half-heartedly apology which, like his hotel, was liberally strewn with disinterest.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Walktolunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,674 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £139 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing