We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing royal about Le Royal Luxembourg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nothing royal about Le Royal Luxembourg”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Le Royal Hotel Luxembourg is located on Boulevard Royal; other than that, it's nothing royal really. Some locals seem to think this is a 5 star, leading hotel, but I am not so sure after staying 2 nights. I like the rooms which are bright and cheerful, and the toiletries. Breakfast: the scrambled eggs were too wet for me. What turned me off about this hotel was the fact that when I registered for the check in, there was a selection of newspapers, and I ticked the International New York Times. When I checked out, I was charged 3 Euros per day for the papers. I did not mind paying; I only objected to the fact that it wasn't transparent in the registration form. Many five stars hotel offer a selection of newspaper in your room, especially if you're on a business trip. But this hotel does not warn you it's chargeable. The room also lacks a kettle for tea/coffee -- something I consider very very basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    240
    87
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
230
50
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Le Royal for two nights. We had an upgraded room and found it to be far more than what we expected. Service was definitely first rate. A rush dry cleaning order was handled flawlessly and when my wife needed to buy some chocolates for a relative before the gift shop had opened, the most gracious concierge opened the store and patiently helped her make a decision. Emphasis on "patiently." The only meals we ate at the hotel were breakfasts; they were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleJoeFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent, friendly, clean and great position. Worthwhile staying if money is not an object.
Concierge set us perfectly right on where to go and the best restaurants will come back again.
Highly recommended

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one Saturday night on our city break. The hotel facilities were good and I would say probably 5 star but the experience was not. The location is excellent, very central without being too close to the night life. Staff were friendly enough (some more then others) but there seemed to be something missing that did not make you feel like you were a valued customer. We had arrived the day of the Luxembourg Marathon and so the hotel was very busy and we could not check in before the allocated time. The concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a courtesy bus from the airport so make sure you book this in advance. The food in the restaurant was excellent though again they were inflexible as our child wanted the buffet but we wanted a la carte and we could not combine the two. Overall we had a fabulous time in Luxembourg and the location of the hotel made it perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Le Royal is a nice hotel in a good location. It is quite expensive though. Unfortunately the rooms have always been very warm. Seems like there is no proper air conditioning. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I always used to stay here then i started staying in the Sofitel Le grand ducal. The Royal is a classic Lux Hotel and if my other favourites are full always happy to stay here. When they decide to do it up / up grade it ..... it will no doubt become my number one again.
Waiting with great expectations ......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGRLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a perfect hotel, centrally located and with an excellent staff. Everybody is extremely friendly, and any requests are met asap. The concierge was very efficient and helpful.
The gym is the only place that could be improved, it is small and too hot and humid to work out decently. Overall a great stay, as all the other times we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysonthemove001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,478 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Property: Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing