We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here whilst on a business trip and really can't fault the hotel in any way... Room, staff and service were all excellent!! Very pleasant stay.
The hotel staff couldn't not have been anymore attentive and alway friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Actimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I had two rooms at this hotel - 1 standard room and one small suite. Both rooms were just average and in definite need of a remodel. They were definitely not worth the price.

The service was actually spectacular, which was redeeming. Also, the restaurant - although very expensive - was very good. The breakfast was fairly nice as well. None of this made up for the fact that this hotel is I tired and dated and charging too much for their rooms. A little facelift though, and this hotel would have the makings of a luxury weekend getaway spot.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ArianeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Le Royal Hotel Luxembourg is located on Boulevard Royal; other than that, it's nothing royal really. Some locals seem to think this is a 5 star, leading hotel, but I am not so sure after staying 2 nights. I like the rooms which are bright and cheerful, and the toiletries. Breakfast: the scrambled eggs were too wet for me. What turned me off about this hotel was the fact that when I registered for the check in, there was a selection of newspapers, and I ticked the International New York Times. When I checked out, I was charged 3 Euros per day for the papers. I did not mind paying; I only objected to the fact that it wasn't transparent in the registration form. Many five stars hotel offer a selection of newspaper in your room, especially if you're on a business trip. But this hotel does not warn you it's chargeable. The room also lacks a kettle for tea/coffee -- something I consider very very basic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Le Royal for two nights. We had an upgraded room and found it to be far more than what we expected. Service was definitely first rate. A rush dry cleaning order was handled flawlessly and when my wife needed to buy some chocolates for a relative before the gift shop had opened, the most gracious concierge opened the store and patiently helped her make a decision. Emphasis on "patiently." The only meals we ate at the hotel were breakfasts; they were great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleJoeFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent, friendly, clean and great position. Worthwhile staying if money is not an object.
Concierge set us perfectly right on where to go and the best restaurants will come back again.
Highly recommended

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one Saturday night on our city break. The hotel facilities were good and I would say probably 5 star but the experience was not. The location is excellent, very central without being too close to the night life. Staff were friendly enough (some more then others) but there seemed to be something missing that did not make you feel like you were a valued customer. We had arrived the day of the Luxembourg Marathon and so the hotel was very busy and we could not check in before the allocated time. The concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a courtesy bus from the airport so make sure you book this in advance. The food in the restaurant was excellent though again they were inflexible as our child wanted the buffet but we wanted a la carte and we could not combine the two. Overall we had a fabulous time in Luxembourg and the location of the hotel made it perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Le Royal is a nice hotel in a good location. It is quite expensive though. Unfortunately the rooms have always been very warm. Seems like there is no proper air conditioning. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nicholas-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,716 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alvisse Parc Hotel
Alvisse Parc Hotel
#17 of 50 in Luxembourg City
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £141 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing