We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be ware of Room Nº 10”
Review of Hotel Le Chatelet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Chatelet
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be ware of Room Nº 10”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed just for one night, driving from Brugge to Reims.
I booked it through the hotel and my reservation stated it would be a BUDGET room ,small with 2 twin beds in the basement.It was prepaid 4 months in advance.
We arrived an hour before check in, and the cool recepcionist told us "to go to get lunch and returnat 3pm."
We left the car in the hotel parking (15 euro a day) and went to the city center for lunch.
As the rain had stopped, we decided to visit instead of returning to the hotel at 3 pm, as our room was already paid.
Big mistake. When we returned ,there was a man at the front desk who checked us in and took us to a door opposite to the parking lot.
He gave us 2 keys, front door, room door, said 3rd floor and quickly left,leaving us wondering.
We had the answer the moment we saw the last part of the staircase that led to the 3rd floor where Room 10 is the one and only room.
I´m still wondering if it is approved to lend a room with that access.
If you are a big person, forget it.You won´t be able to take the turn.
And don´t even think of taking any piece of luggage there.It´s impossible.
We picked from our car what we would need for the night and left the rest in the car.
So forget to leave the car in the street too.
The room: big room with 4 single beds,2 desks and tiled floors.
As it was really cold and rainy, it was nice to find they switched on the heating, as the room was really huge for 2 people.
I would have asked for a change of room if we were staying fo more than a night.
The breakfast was excellent and full of choices.
In 15 minutes walking you can get to the old town across the river.
So, it´s not a bad choice, even with no very friendly staff, but beware of room 10 !

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alix1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_21349, Gérant at Hotel Le Chatelet, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
Further your coment for the one we thank you, we give you some information about it : the room reserved was an economic located in a basement and we had decided to give you a room not in a basement but that trough on the third and last floor. We specify that an economic room is room with some disadvantage due to the price.
But we would like to inform you is during you stax we ask another room we change this one !
We hope to welcom you a next time in Luxembourg.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    98
    80
    23
    12
See reviews for
29
105
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Hotel was immaculately clean, Good location...a very easy walk from train station, If you are reasonably fit, it is also an easy walk to city center/old town area. Good breakfast...eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee, tea, assorted breads & rolls. Insufficient hot water. No room darkening shades. Bottom line...I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Certiorari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_21349, Gérant at Hotel Le Chatelet, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
We would like to thak you for your stay in the hotel Le Châtelet and for this coment.
We hope to welcom you a next time in Luxembourg.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

When we arrived the receptionist had a very cold manner. It is a pity because this is potentially a good hotel. I would warn people to watch the step at the entrance to the reception. My wife, who doesn't drink and has excellent eyesight, had a nasty fall on it. There was no one on reception at the time but the receptionist actually smiled once the next morning. Maybe she saw the fall on CCTV. The breakfast was more than adequate and the breakfast room pleasant. There was an excellent signal on the wi-fi. Like most hotels in Luxembourg it was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,445 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel has on site parking behind a barrier. The reception area is nice with an interesting curved staircase up to the next floor and beyond. There is a homely lounge with books and games and large comfy sofas and a small outside area near the car park. The hotel is clean and there is a lift available. We were in room 25 at the front of the hotel in the main building on the second floor. A view across the road to a few trees and some buildings. At night we had the windows open but were disturbed by traffic noise, with the windows shut it was too hot but quiet. Unfortunately there is no air con so for me a couple of disturbed nights sleep exascerbated by a double bed with an uncomfortable dipping mattress and a creaky bed frame. Very good buffet breakfast, continental with a few extra hot bits and pieces. The hotel is situated about a 15minute walk from the old town and free maps are available at reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Not a luxurious place but with all you need. 10' walk from city centre and at a reasonable price. I am really discusted at the prices of hotels in Luxembourg and Brussels where they take advantage of those cities being the seat of EU bureocracy so I think places like this one need support. I will be happy to come back...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcATni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

When we arrived in Luxembourg we had a little trouble finding this hotel and walked through a shady portion of the city to get there. The hotel is not well advertised but we found it. It seemed quite nice but we were told we were in an apartment unit about a half block away. It was okay and very roomy. It filled our need. We went to the main hotel for breakfast which was good. The person that first greeted us, a lady was most unfriendly. Instead of showing us to the apartment she just pointed out the direction and was not nice at all. When we left Luxembourg they accommodated us by allowing us to have breakfast about an hour early as we were catching an early flight. The man at the desk was a polar opposite to the unfriendly one. Luxembourg is an expensive city for accommodation so we were happy to have found something in this range. When we became accustomed to where we were, we found a better more scenic way to get to our apartment.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripPlanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

For a 3-star hotel Le Chatelet was quite satisfying. No extravaganza in the room, but it was very clean and the maid made a good job cleaning the room every day. The bed could have been better.
Wifi Connection was good and free. We thought the breakfast was really good which was a very nice surprise.
For 15 Euro per night you can use the hotel´s parking lot at the back.
A walk to the Central Station took about 10 min and a walk to the old Town took about 15-20 min.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 49 in Luxembourg City
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#25 of 49 in Luxembourg City
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 49 in Luxembourg City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chatelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chatelet

Property: Hotel Le Chatelet
Address: 2 Boulevard de la Petrusse, Luxembourg City 2320, Luxembourg (Formerly Hôtel Le Châtelet)
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Chatelet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the vicinity of the Pétrusse valley park, the city centre and the train station, the hotel Le Châtelet is well suited for both business and private stays. Le Châtelet offers 40 rooms and 8 studios. A private parking area allows for hassle free parking. A sumptuous breakfast buffet with many homemade products will ensure the best possible start to your day. Le Châtelet has been a family-run business for more than 40 years and our team is at your disposal, doing its best to make your stay a most agreeable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Chatelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chatelet Hotel
Hotel Le Chatelet Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing