We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Hotel Le Chatelet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Chatelet
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the money”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed with 6 guys on bikes, we parked on the pavement, the car park is extr E7.5, but they were ok. Rooms are ok, bit dated, be aware if you book a room for 3 its a single bed and a double bed! Cosy! that aside, no issues. The breakfast was good and plenmty of it. Staff were friendly. My friends had the romm accessed via spiral staircase, which is a difficult access if allocated this. Its about 10 mins walk to the central eating/bar area.

Room Tip: Its a good ten minutes to the centre, but there are taxis about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    98
    79
    22
    11
See reviews for
29
104
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is by far not as centrally located as some booking sites explain. What's more, the area appears unsafe at night.

The rooms need some modernizing, the breakfast is standard.

Staff professionnal and friendly. I guess who can find better for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterPan911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Things look expensive in Luxembourg, so we were very happy when we got a promotional price at this hotel at otel.com. staff was nice, room was very clean, location was good, shower was nice, but the bed was not comfortable. It is fine that it is a basic hotel, but it would have been much nicer if the mattress were better. If not for this, my rating could have been very good out excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Breakfast was fine, good selection and plenty of it - you are warned to refill your plate rather than over-fill and waste food (may incur a'fine'), not a bad idea. Tables and chairs are fine for an evening drink but rather low for dining furniture.
Room was adequate, clean linen, bed rather rickety, a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.
Parking seems to be per vehicle not per bay, so, spread out and don't bother trying to save space by tucking a couple of 'bikes in together.
Costwise, it isn't a plush hotel and you get what you pay for, however, it is conveniently situated. A pleasant walk and you are surrounded by restaurants, shops or market stalls. The train station is just up the road too. Because it is conveniently located it can be a little noisy but it felt safe enough and the reception was manned 24hrs/day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoubyKittiwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice place at a relatively affordable price. We had a room in the dependance. Lots of space but no door in the toilet (what the heck! seriously!). cracked tiles on the bathroom floor. No elevator and no one offered to help carrying our luggage. Room are spacious and clean. Altogether nice. The receptionist was often absent (I had to chase him in the staff room) but kind.
Very conveniently located, especially if you have a car and you want to take the highway. One of the best buffet breakfast I ever had.
Does not seem too expensive for Luxembourg standard, but I think I got some kind of discount as I made a telephone reservation 3 hors before knocking at the door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiorellaeFrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel was about a 15 min walk from the train station and about a 10 min walk to the city centre. It felt like a safe area, and was quiet at night.

We were travelling as a group of 4 adults and wanted to spend one night in Luxembourg, so we weren't looking for luxury, so I would say overall that Le Chatelet served our needs for the one night we stayed there.

However, I would likely not recommend this place to a larger group given the atrocious staircase they have leading to room #10 (the four (single) bed room). It felt like entering Cinderella's attic, and if you are a larger person, have back problems, vertigo, or any type of suitcase (other than a backpack!), you will find this suitcase extremely difficult to navigate. The stairs up to the landing are to be expected, but getting our suitcases up and down to our room was a team effort! Just because you can put a room somewhere, doesn't mean you should! I would also note that if you prefer a stand up shower, this room comes with a sit down tub due to the slanted roof. Overall, the staff is friendly, the place was clean, but take note if you are travelling in a larger group.

Room Tip: Request a room other than room #10. If booking through a third party, be sure to contact the hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parc Belle-Vue
Parc Belle-Vue
#25 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#30 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chatelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chatelet

Property: Hotel Le Chatelet
Address: 2 Boulevard de la Petrusse, Luxembourg City 2320, Luxembourg (Formerly Hôtel Le Châtelet)
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Chatelet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the vicinity of the Pétrusse valley park, the city centre and the train station, the hotel Le Châtelet is well suited for both business and private stays. Le Châtelet offers 40 rooms and 8 studios. A private parking area allows for hassle free parking. A sumptuous breakfast buffet with many homemade products will ensure the best possible start to your day. Le Châtelet has been a family-run business for more than 40 years and our team is at your disposal, doing its best to make your stay a most agreeable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Chatelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chatelet Hotel
Hotel Le Chatelet Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing