We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair trade”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair trade”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has nothing special - it's just what a hotel should be: clean, warm, friendly. We really enjoyed the stay. We can recomend this place to anyone who doesn't need to spend a huge amount of money to be happy.
It is worth to add that the owner is particulary helpfull and nice. He gave us precious advice about eating in Luxembourg. We followed his suggestion and were not mistaken.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JBevagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    174
    56
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
103
36
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed there as part of a business trip in (one of) the double-bed rooms on the first floor. The hotel is closely located to the station and can also easily reached by bus from the airport. The shape of the room was somewhat special (like a tube) but the room was large and the bathroom was clean and nicely renovated. Free WiFi was provided. In particular, I have a good memory about the pre-booked price (Luxembourg is known to be rather expensive) and the familiar atmosphere at the breakfast (newspaper and eggs were brought to the desk, group seating on request - the owner(?) aims at communicating in your native language and even more than just "Hello"). Also the interior of the breakfast room (and the come-together room on the other side of the entrance) was rather familiar.

Room Tip: no problems with noise although you might experience flight noise during the day at most locations i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank he-H767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at Carlton and we quite enjoyed the experience.
Thje location is just a couple of minutes from the railway station, there's a nice hall and even a cozy living room (for playing cards, chess etc.). The breakfast was quite tasty. The manager is a very friendly, helpful and professional gentleman, who definitely makes this hotel an eben better place. Rooms are in need of some renovation but that is the only area for improvement.
Good value for money, recommended.
Regards,
Anton and Mila

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked this hotel for a football trip to Luxembourg. We wanted to stay here because its beside the train station and we needed to get away early the morning after the game.

The man on reception, Giovanni or Jonny the Italian as he called himself, was very friendly and helpful, but it doesn't mask how dated the hotel is. The bedrooms are bizarre and the bathrooms were strange! The furniture is 1970s at best, but it was clean. The bed wan't very comfortable, so I didn't get a good sleep

Before we went to the game we were advised not to stay by the train station as its a dodgy area. We didn't find it that bad.

The walk into town is about 20 minutes and a taxi cost €7, which wasn't bad. If you want a cheap, clean hotel in Luxembourg, this place is ok and will fit the bill, otherwise stay nearer town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very nice hotel at a good location next to the train station. The hotel is located next to the nightlife district but the hotel itself is very good and secured. The reception was very friendly, helpful and extremely professional. I booked the cheapest room on the internet and i was surpeised that the breakfast was included at this price. Breakfast was very good !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Luxemburg is a city that offers many attractions and the Hotel Carlton is one of them. The gentleman who runs the reception desk is an absolute star, he gets you into the car park opposite the hotel you get a glass of fresh orang juice on arrival and he sorts out the breakfast room in the morning and lets you back into the car park on departure. The hotel its self is a lovely old building immaculately maintained and very comfortable and just out of the city centre. If you turn left out of the Hotel doors you end up in the less desirable side of Luxemburg so best not go that way unless you are in a group. I would defiantly book this hotel again on returning to Luxemburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had one night in Luxembourg on our way to Zurich, and just needed somewhere neat and clean to stay. We chose the Carlton because it was close to the station, and booked two single budget rooms, all that was left by the time we had our dates finalised. We were very happy with the hotel and the unfailingly polite and helpful staff, fluent in English, German, Italian and French.

When we arrived from the nearby station, saturated by an unexpected downpour, we were met with courtesy and friendliness by the maitre d'. He had a glass of juice ready for each of us, a simple and efficient check in and a wealth of information, including maps without being asked etc. on top of that, we found we'd been upgraded to spacious double rooms when another booking had been cancelled. Free wifi worked well.

We needed to do laundry and the maitre d' pointed us to the nearby QuickWash service, which was fast and good value, €10 each to wash and dry full loads. The surrounding area is not as wealthy as much of the rest of Luxembourg city, but ok during daylight hours. The hotel is also walking distance from the old city.

Breakfast was plentiful - wide range of breads, pastries and crackers, jams, butter etc, yoghurt etc. Staff brought around perfectly soft boiled eggs, and plates of cheese and salami on each table. Floral arrangements were in all the main reception rooms, and the breakfast room was bright.

A pleasant place to stay, and the staff really made this place. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonstar1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 50 in Luxembourg City
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing